Skip to content

Let's Talk About The Help by Kathryn Stockett

The Main Library's Urban Readers Book Group is meeting on Tuesday, February
5th, from 6pm to 7pm to talk about The Help by Kathryn Stockett. If you've seen the movie, then you know The Help is a remarkable story about life in Mississippi during the civil rights era. Join us for an enjoyable discussion and light refreshments! Contact Crystal at 929-3400 for more information on the Urban Readers Book Group.

If you enjoyed reading The Help but you’re not able to join us, then you might also enjoy reading:


The Air Between Us: A Novel by Deborah Johnson
Crystal J. Says: The Air Between Us by Deborah Johnson
Amazon Says: Revere, Mississippi, with its population of "20,000 and sinking" is not unlike most Southern towns in the sixties. Black people live on one side of town and whites live on the more...
Amazon Says: Revere, Mississippi, with its population of "20,000 and sinking" is not unlike most Southern towns in the sixties. Black people live on one side of town and whites live on the other. The two rarely mix, or so everyone believes. But the truth is brought to the forefront when Billy Ray Puckett, a white man wounded while hunting, shows up at the segregated Doctors Hospital. No one thinks much of his death—just a typical hunting accident—until the sheriff orders an investigation. Suddenly the connections between whites and blacks are revealed to be deeper than anyone expected, which makes the town's struggle with integration that much more complicated. Dr. Cooper Connelly, who hails from a prominent white family, takes an unexpectedly progressive view toward school integration; while the esteemed Dr. Reese Jackson, so prominent he has garnered an Ebony profile, tries to stay above the fray. With fully realized characters and a mystery that will keep readers turning pages until the end, The Air Between Us is a heart-filled, endearing tale. less...
Amazon

Bone by Bone by Bone by Tony Johnston
Amazon Says: FRIENDSHIP BETWEEN WHITE AND BLACK in 1950s Tennessee.  Tony Johnston draws on her own childhood memories to limn a portrait of a sensitive and compassionate boy fighting for more...
Amazon Says: FRIENDSHIP BETWEEN WHITE AND BLACK in 1950s Tennessee.  Tony Johnston draws on her own childhood memories to limn a portrait of a sensitive and compassionate boy fighting for a friendship his father forbids. David's daddy is determined that his son will grow up to be a doctor like himself.  David studies the human bones, and secretly teaches them in turn to his black friend, Malcolm.  In a rage, Dr. Church forbids Malcolm to ever enter their home--and threatens to kill him if he does.  David tries to change his daddy's mind.  but when Malcolm crosses the line, Dr. Church grabs his shotgun. less...
Amazon

The Dry Grass of August by Anna Jean Mayhew
Amazon Says: [This is the Audiobook CD Library Edition in vinyl case.] In this beautifully written debut, Anna Jean Mayhew offers a riveting depiction of Southern life in the thro more...
Amazon Says: [This is the Audiobook CD Library Edition in vinyl case.] In this beautifully written debut, Anna Jean Mayhew offers a riveting depiction of Southern life in the throes of segregation and what it will mean for a young girl on her way to adulthood and for the woman who means the world to her. On a scorching day in August 1954, thirteen-year-old Jubie Watts leaves Charlotte, North Carolina, with her family for a Florida vacation. Crammed into the Packard along with Jubie are her three siblings, her mother, and the family's black maid, Mary Luther. For as long as Jubie can remember, Mary has been there cooking, cleaning, compensating for her father's rages and her mother's benign neglect, and loving Jubie unconditionally. Bright and curious, Jubie takes note of the anti-integration signs they pass and of the racial tension that builds as they journey further south. But she could never have predicted the shocking turn their trip will take. Now, in the wake of tragedy, Jubie must confront her parents failings and limitations, decide where her own convictions lie, and make the tumultuous leap to independence. Infused with the intensity of a changing time, here is a story of hope, heartbreak, and the love and courage that can transform us from child to adult, wounded to indomitable. less...
Amazon

A Lesson Before Dying by Ernest J. Gaines
Crystal J. Says: A Lesson Before Dying by Ernest Gaines
Amazon Says: A Lesson Before Dying, is set in a small Cajun community in the late 1940s.  Jefferson, a young black man, is an unwitting party to a liquor store shoot out in which three me more...
Amazon Says: A Lesson Before Dying, is set in a small Cajun community in the late 1940s.  Jefferson, a young black man, is an unwitting party to a liquor store shoot out in which three men are killed; the only survivor, he is convicted of murder and sentenced to death.  Grant Wiggins, who left his hometown for the university, has returned to the plantation school to teach.  As he struggles with his decision whether to stay or escape to another state, his aunt and Jefferson's godmother persuade him to visit Jefferson in his cell and impart his learning and his pride to Jefferson before his death.  In the end, the two men forge a bond as they both come to understand the simple heroism of resisting—and defying—the expected. Ernest J. Gaines brings to this novel the same rich sense of place, the same deep understanding of the human psyche, and the same compassion for a people and their struggle that have unformed his previous, highly praised works of fiction. less...
Amazon

Crystal J. Says: The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd
Amazon Says: Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees, a heartwarming coming of age tale set in 1960s South Carolina, a multi-million copy New York Times bestseller, now an award- more...
Amazon Says: Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees, a heartwarming coming of age tale set in 1960s South Carolina, a multi-million copy New York Times bestseller, now an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys Fans of  Kathryn Stockett’s The Help and Beth Hoffman’s Saving CeeCee Honeycutt will love Sue Monk Kidd’s Southern coming of age tale. The Secret Life of Bees was a New York Times bestseller for more than 125 weeks, a Good Morning America “Read This” Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys. Set in South Carolina in 1964, The Secret Life of Bees tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed. When Lily's fierce-hearted black "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina—a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love—a story that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come. less...
Amazon

Crystal J. Says: Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston
Amazon Says: “A deeply soulful novel that comprehends love and cruelty, and separates the big people from the small of heart, without ever losing sympathy for those unfortunates who don more...
Amazon Says: “A deeply soulful novel that comprehends love and cruelty, and separates the big people from the small of heart, without ever losing sympathy for those unfortunates who don’t know how to live properly.” —Zadie SmithOne of the most important and enduring books of the twentieth century, Their Eyes Were Watching God brings to life a Southern love story with the wit and pathos found only in the writing of Zora Neale Hurston. Out of print for almost thirty years—due largely to initial audiences’ rejection of its strong black female protagonist—Hurston’s classic has since its 1978 reissue become perhaps the most widely read and highly acclaimed novel in the canon of African-American literature. less...
Amazon
Print

Comment about this page...