Skip to content
Courtesy of Thomas Hammond Photography

Visit Richland Library at Saturday's Palmetto Tasty Tomato Festival

It's the time of year to enjoy fresh treats from our gardens! Join Richland Library this Saturday, July 20th, from 4 p.m. to 9 p.m. at the Palmetto Tasty Tomato Festival at City Roots. Come by our tent to check out gardening and tomato books for all ages. We'll also have children's crafts and a reading quilt. Still need to get a library card or sign up for the Friends' Summer Reading Challenge? We'll have everything that you need! We love our community partners and look forward to seeing you at the Tasty Tomato Festival on Saturday. Tomatoes, live music, local eats, books, and more!


Tomatoes by Robin Nelson
Amazon Says: Get a close-up view of the life of a tomato. more...
Amazon Says: Get a close-up view of the life of a tomato. less...
Amazon


Amazon Says: The creator of the acclaimed CLARICE BEAN, THAT'S ME cooks up a droll and ingenious treat for picky eaters and the people who love them. Lola is a fussy eater. A VER more...
Amazon Says: The creator of the acclaimed CLARICE BEAN, THAT'S ME cooks up a droll and ingenious treat for picky eaters and the people who love them. Lola is a fussy eater. A VERY fussy eater. She won't eat her carrots (until big brother Charlie reveals that they are really orange twiglets from Jupiter). She won't eat her mashed potatoes (until Charlie explains they are cloud fluff from the pointiest peak of Mount Fuji). There are many, many things Lola absolutely will not eat, including—and especially—tomatoes. Or will she? Join two endearing siblings for a smorgasbord of fun in Lauren Child's witty story about the triumph of imagination over proclivity. less...
Amazon


Amazon Says: By the year 2050, Earth's population will double. If we continue with current farming practices, vast amounts of wilderness will be lost, millions of birds and billions of ins more...
Amazon Says: By the year 2050, Earth's population will double. If we continue with current farming practices, vast amounts of wilderness will be lost, millions of birds and billions of insects will die, and the public will lose billions of dollars as a consequence of environmental degradation. Clearly, there must be a better way to meet the need for increased food production. Written as part memoir, part instruction, and part contemplation, Tomorrow's Table argues that a judicious blend of two important strands of agriculture--genetic engineering and organic farming--is key to helping feed the world's growing population in an ecologically balanced manner. Pamela Ronald, a geneticist, and her husband, Raoul Adamchak, an organic farmer, take the reader inside their lives for roughly a year, allowing us to look over their shoulders so that we can see what geneticists and organic farmers actually do. The reader sees the problems that farmers face, trying to provide larger yields without resorting to expensive or environmentally hazardous chemicals, a problem that will loom larger and larger as the century progresses. They learn how organic farmers and geneticists address these problems. This book is for consumers, farmers, and policy decision makers who want to make food choices and policy that will support ecologically responsible farming practices. It is also for anyone who wants accurate information about organic farming, genetic engineering, and their potential impacts on human health and the environment. less...
Amazon


Amazon Says: "What great tomato-growing ideas! I've been 'container gardening' my Big Boys in old abandoned refrigerators in the front yard for years now, but next season, I'll take Mike's more...
Amazon Says: "What great tomato-growing ideas! I've been 'container gardening' my Big Boys in old abandoned refrigerators in the front yard for years now, but next season, I'll take Mike's advice and trellis them up the side of our double-wide!"--Martha Slewart, Martha Slewart's Lying "Did I write this book? So many of the jokes just seem so...familiar."--Garrison Keelover, A Prairie Home Tomato "Aren't these things poisonous to eat?"--Thomas Jefferson, farmer and framer "Forget basketball! I'm retiring again to grow heirloom tomatoes! Now, what kind of shoes am I gonna need . . . ?"--Michael Jardin, tall guy "This is just the kind of 'hidden message' book I expect from you left-leaning, liberal-compost-applying, communal gardening, card-carrying organic types! Well, you don't fool me one bit-- enticing the youth of America to experiment with PINK tomatoes! RED fruits! Arkansas TRAVELER-- or is that Arkansas FELLOW TRAVELERS??? I'm sticking with my red, white, and blue potatoes!"--Rush ToJudgement, The Rush ToJudgement Show less...
Amazon


Amazon Says: The Organic Seed Grower is a comprehensive manual for the serious vegetable grower who is interested in growing high-quality seeds using organic farming practices. It is writt more...
Amazon Says: The Organic Seed Grower is a comprehensive manual for the serious vegetable grower who is interested in growing high-quality seeds using organic farming practices. It is written for both serious home seed savers and diversified small-scale farmers who want to learn the necessary steps involved in successfully producing a commercial seed crop organically. Detailed profiles for each of the major vegetables provide users with practical, in-depth knowledge about growing, harvesting, and processing seed for a wide range of common and specialty vegetable crops, from Asian greens to zucchini. In addition, readers will find extensive and critical information on topics including: • The reproductive biology of crop plants • Annual vs. biennial seed crops • Isolation distances needed to ensure varietal purity • Maintaining adequate population size for genetic integrity • Seed crop climates • Seed-borne diseases • Seed-cleaning basics • Seed storage for farmers • and more . . . This book can serve as a bridge to lead skilled gardeners, who are already saving their own seed, into the idea of growing seed commercially. And for diversified vegetable farmers who are growing a seed crop for sale for the first time, it will provide details on many of the tricks of the trade that are used by professional seed growers. This manual will help the budding seed farmer to become more knowledgeable, efficient, and effective in producing a commercially viable seed crop. With the strong demand for certified organic produce, many regional seed companies are increasingly seeking out dedicated seed growers to ensure a reliable source of organically grown seeds for their farmer and gardener customers. This trend represents a great business opportunity for small-scale commercial growers who wish to raise and sell vegetable seeds as a profitable part of their diversified small-farm operation. Written by well-known plant breeder and organic seed expert John Navazio, The Organic Seed Grower is the most up-to-date and useful guide to best practices in this exciting and important field. less...
Amazon


Amazon Says: Preserved by families, collected by seed savers, passed around among farmers, heirloom tomatoes are now being sought out by more and more home gardeners as an alternative to more...
Amazon Says: Preserved by families, collected by seed savers, passed around among farmers, heirloom tomatoes are now being sought out by more and more home gardeners as an alternative to the bland sameness of commercial hybrids. And happily, these growers are discovering that heirlooms are not only vastly more flavorful, but are just as hardy and easy to cultivate as the hybrids. Dr. Carolyn J. Male, who has raised more than a thousand heirloom tomatoes, here presents 100 consistently top-performing varieties for North American gardeners. There are red tomatoes, yellow tomatoes, green, orange, purple, and even black tomatoes--like Black from Tula, with green shoulders and a dusky rose-black coloring. There are cherry tomatoes, too--try Martino's Roma, a paste with spectacular yield and built-in tolerance of blossom end rot. For every gardener, no matter how experienced, here's everything you need to know to grow and harvest tomatoes with real taste. less...
Amazon


Amazon Says: Henry's Farm is in central Illinois, some of the richest farming land in the world. There, Henry Brockman and his family — five generations of farmers, including sister Terr more...
Amazon Says: Henry's Farm is in central Illinois, some of the richest farming land in the world. There, Henry Brockman and his family — five generations of farmers, including sister Terra — farm in a way that produces healthy, nutritious food without despoiling the land. Terra Brockman tells their story in the form of a yearlong diary/memoir — with recipes — that takes readers through each season of life on the farm. Studded with vignettes, photographs, family stories, and illustrations of the farm's vivid plant life, the book is a one-of-a-kind treasure that will appeal to readers of Michael Pollan, E. B. White, Gretel Ehrlich, and Sandra Steingraber. The book opens a window into what sustainable farming really entails and why it is vital and relevant to everyone who eats. Though rooted in the rolling oak-hickory hills and fertile fields and flood plains of the Mackinaw River Valley, the book ranges widely, incorporating literary, scientific, and culinary reflections occasioned by the week-by-week events of farm life. less...
Amazon


Amazon Says: For all of your gardening questions, The Veggie Gardener's Answer Book has the answers, gathered together in a sturdy little book for handy in-the-garden reference. You'll fin more...
Amazon Says: For all of your gardening questions, The Veggie Gardener's Answer Book has the answers, gathered together in a sturdy little book for handy in-the-garden reference. You'll find helpful information on everything from planning and planting a vegetable garden to improving soil, caring for crops, organically controlling pests and diseases, and harvesting.  less...
Amazon


Tomato: A Fresh-from-the-Vine Cookbook by Lawrence Davis-Hollander
Amazon Says: Featuring delicious recipes for everything from salsas and sauces to soups, salads, pizzas, tarts, main dishes, side dishes, and even a few desserts, this is the collection ev more...
Amazon Says: Featuring delicious recipes for everything from salsas and sauces to soups, salads, pizzas, tarts, main dishes, side dishes, and even a few desserts, this is the collection every tomato lover is craving! You'll love Tomato and Corn Salsa, Catalan Tomato Toasts, Risotto of Heirloom Confit Tomatoes and Roasted Mushrooms, Shrimp Creole, Easy Curried Chicken, West African Stew, Zucchini and Tomatoes with Cream, and Tomato Sorbet. And of course there are delectable versions of all the classic tomato dishes--Fried Green Tomatoes, Bloody Marys, Marinara Sauce, and Eggplant Parmagiana. There is even a whole chapter devoted to preserving tomatoes, with innovative recipes for ketchup, chutneys, jams, canned or dried tomatoes, and more. less...
Amazon

Print

Comment about this page...