Skip to content

Animals: Zoo Animals-Part 2

Going to the zoo can be such a fun treat, but you don't have to venture far (or spend any money) to dive into the world of zoo animals with these selected titles. You can check out 60 books with your Richland Library card and when you've finished this list, just call your closest Richland Library location and the staff will recommend more titles for your animal lover.


Z Is for Moose by Kelly Bingham
Morgan R. Says: There is a room for everyone.
Amazon Says: Caldecott Medalist Paul O. Zelinsky illustrates Kelly Bingham's outrageously funny, critically acclaimed, and boundary-breaking story about a moose, a zebra, and the alphabet! more...
Amazon Says: Caldecott Medalist Paul O. Zelinsky illustrates Kelly Bingham's outrageously funny, critically acclaimed, and boundary-breaking story about a moose, a zebra, and the alphabet! Zebra wants to put on a show as simple as ABC, but Zebra's friend Moose has other (unexpected and hilarious) ideas!Zebra thinks the alphabet should be simple. A is for Apple. B is for Ball. Easy! But his friend Moose is too excited to wait his turn, and when M isn't for Moose (Mouse gets the honor), the rest of the letters better run for cover. Exuberant and zany storytelling brings to life two friends and one laugh-out-loud comedy of errors that's about friendship, sharing, and compromise. The incomparable Paul O. Zelinsky's artwork is bursting at the seams—literally—with child appeal. Breaking the borders of the page, and creating the art both digitally and traditionally, Zelinsky turns convention on its head. The result is a picture book that is innovative, hilarious, and begging to be read over and over again.Named a Notable Book for Children by the American Library AssociationSupports the Common Core State Standards less...
Amazon

The Purple Kangaroo by Michael Ian Black
Amazon Says: The monkey narrator in this humorous picture book gaurantees that he can READ YOUR MIND. What begins as a simple request to imagine the most spectacular thing in history turns more...
Amazon Says: The monkey narrator in this humorous picture book gaurantees that he can READ YOUR MIND. What begins as a simple request to imagine the most spectacular thing in history turns into the story of a roller-skating, bubble-blowing purple kangaroo searching for his dear friend Ernesto on the moon. So by the time you finish this book, there's no chance you will be thinking of anything BUT the purple kangaroo. less...
Amazon

Leo the Late Bloomer by Robert Kraus
Morgan R. Says: "A watched bloomer doesn't bloom"
Amazon Says: Leo isn't reading, or writing, or drawing, or even speaking, and his father is concerned. But Leo's mother isn't. She knows her son will do all those things, and more, when he more...
Amazon Says: Leo isn't reading, or writing, or drawing, or even speaking, and his father is concerned. But Leo's mother isn't. She knows her son will do all those things, and more, when he's ready. 'Reassuring for other late bloomers, this book is illustrated with beguiling pictures.' -- Saturday Review. less...
Amazon

Mr. Tiger Goes Wild by Peter Brown
Morgan R. Says: Let loose with Mr. Tiger!
Amazon Says: Are you bored with being so proper? Do you want to have more fun? Mr. Tiger knows exactly how you feel. So he decides to go wild. But does he go too far? From Caldecott Honor more...
Amazon Says: Are you bored with being so proper? Do you want to have more fun? Mr. Tiger knows exactly how you feel. So he decides to go wild. But does he go too far? From Caldecott Honor artist Peter Brown comes a story that shows there's a time and place for everything...even going wild. less...
Amazon

Tweak Tweak by Eve Bunting
Amazon Says: Tweak Tweak0 more...
Amazon Says: Tweak Tweak0 less...
Amazon

One Cool Friend by Toni Buzzeo
Morgan R. Says: This Caldecott Honor is sure to be read over and over.
Amazon Says: When well-mannered Elliot reluctantly visits the aquarium with his distractible father, he politely asks whether he can have a penguin--and then removes one from the penguin p more...
Amazon Says: When well-mannered Elliot reluctantly visits the aquarium with his distractible father, he politely asks whether he can have a penguin--and then removes one from the penguin pool to his backpack. The fun of caring for a penguin in a New England Victorian house is followed by a surprise revelation by Elliot's father. less...
Amazon

Cha-Cha Chimps by Julia Durango
Morgan R. Says: Do the hokey pokey, macarena, cha cha and more as you count your way to bed.
Amazon Says: Counting and dancing gohand in hand at Mambo Jamba's, the place where hippos hokey-pokey and meerkats macarena and ten little chimps do the Cha -- Cha -- Cha more...
Amazon Says: Counting and dancing gohand in hand at Mambo Jamba's, the place where hippos hokey-pokey and meerkats macarena and ten little chimps do the Cha -- Cha -- Cha until Mama Chimps says, "Time for bed!" less...
Amazon

Birds by Kevin Henkes
Morgan R. Says: A fascinating display of colors, shapes and sounds by the wonderful author/illustrator Kevin Henkes
Amazon Says: Birds come in all sizes, shapes, and colors. Birds are magic. Birds are everywhere. If you listen very carefully you will hear them, no matter where you live. And if you look more...
Amazon Says: Birds come in all sizes, shapes, and colors. Birds are magic. Birds are everywhere. If you listen very carefully you will hear them, no matter where you live. And if you look very closely you will see them, no matter where you are. And if you can't go outside right this minute, you can always read this book! less...
Amazon

Morgan R. Says: Lift the flaps to put the story in motion in this wordless award-winning masterpiece.
Amazon Says: A 2014 Caldecott Honor Book In this innovative wordless picture book with interactive flaps, Flora and her graceful flamingo friend explore the trials and joys of frie more...
Amazon Says: A 2014 Caldecott Honor Book In this innovative wordless picture book with interactive flaps, Flora and her graceful flamingo friend explore the trials and joys of friendship through an elaborate synchronized dance. With a twist, a turn, and even a flop, these unlikely friends learn at last how to dance together in perfect harmony. Full of humor and heart, this stunning performance (and splashy ending!) will have readers clapping for more! And coming this October! Having mastered ballet in Flora and the Flamingo, Flora takes to the ice and forms an unexpected friendship in Flora and the Penguin. less...
Amazon

The Surprise by Sylvia Van Ommen
Morgan R. Says: A resourceful sheep decides to suprise a friend in this charming wordless tale.
Amazon Says: Sheep carefully charts the growth of his wool coat. When it's long enough, he rides his moped to buy some red dye and dyes his wool and shaves it off. Sheep puts on a sweate more...
Amazon Says: Sheep carefully charts the growth of his wool coat. When it's long enough, he rides his moped to buy some red dye and dyes his wool and shaves it off. Sheep puts on a sweater and takes the wool to Poodle, who spins it into yarn. Back at home, Sheep knits a beautiful red sweater as a surprise present for Giraffe less...
Amazon

Emma Kate by Patricia Polacco
Morgan R. Says: Emma Kate and her imaginary elephant friend leave you with a suprise ending.
Amazon Says: That adorable Emma Kate has an imaginary friend.They walk to school together every morning, and sit together in class.They sleep over at each other’s houses, and do their ho more...
Amazon Says: That adorable Emma Kate has an imaginary friend.They walk to school together every morning, and sit together in class.They sleep over at each other’s houses, and do their homework side by side.They even have their tonsils out and eat gallons of pink ice cream together. But a hilarious twist ending will have readers realizing there’s more to this imaginary friend than meets the eye! Another of Polacco’s immensely popular younger books, Emma Kate is a wonderfully original story of pretend play and real friendship. less...
Amazon

Elephants Swim by Linda Capus Riley
Morgan R. Says: Watch as these animals move through the water in their unique ways.
Amazon Says: Elephants swim gracefully underwater and use their trunks like snorkels. Hippos sink to the bottom and go to sleep. Walruses sing as they swim along, and so do whales. Linda C more...
Amazon Says: Elephants swim gracefully underwater and use their trunks like snorkels. Hippos sink to the bottom and go to sleep. Walruses sing as they swim along, and so do whales. Linda Capus Riley has written a lovely - and informative - poem about the ways that sixteen animals behave in water and added notes for those readers who would like to know more about the animals. Steve Jenkins's beautiful and playful cut-paper illustrations capture the diversity of the swimmers. less...
Amazon

The Watermelon Seed by Greg Pizzoli
Morgan R. Says: What will happen when this crocodile swallows a watermelon seed? Read and find out!
Amazon Says: With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is real more...
Amazon Says: With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? This crocodile has a wild imagination that kids will love. With bold color and beautiful sense of design, Greg Pizzoli's picture book debut takes this familiar childhood worry and gives us a true gem in the vein of I Want My Hat Back and Not a Box. less...
Amazon
Print

Comment about this page...