Skip to content
The Noticer, by Andy Andrews

Bookin' It in Ballentine: The Noticer

One way to define wisdom is the ability to see, into the future, the consequences of your choices in the present. That ability can give you a completely different perspective on what the future might look like.

This quote defines the essence of The Noticer, by Andy Andrews, New York Times Bestselling author of The Traveler’s Gift. Bookin’ It in Ballentine met in April to discuss this book and the remarkable true story behind it.

Orange Beach, Alabama, is a simple town filled with simple people. But like all humans on the planet, the good folks of Orange Beach have their share of problems marriages teetering on the brink of divorce, young adults giving up on life, business people on the verge of bankruptcy, as well as the many other obstacles that life seems to dish out to the masses.

Fortunately, when things look the darkest, a mysterious man named Jones has a miraculous way of showing up. An elderly man with white hair, of indiscriminate age and race, wearing blue jeans, a white T-shirt and leather flip flops carrying a battered old suitcase, Jones is a unique soul. Communicating what he calls “a little perspective,” he explains that he has been given a gift of noticing things that others miss. “Your time on this earth is a gift to be used wisely,” he says. “Don’t squander your words or your thoughts. Consider even the simplest action you take, for your lives matter beyond measure…and they matter forever.”

Jones speaks to that part in everyone that is yearning to understand why things happen and what we can do about it. (Amazon.com)

When asked to rate this book on a scale of 1-5, our group was split down the middle. There were several who thoroughly loved it, and others who felt it lacked character development and became a little repetitive. However, what everyone did agree on was that they enjoyed the message behind the story. The message that “all one needs is a little perspective.” This simple, and yet not so simple, message is thought provoking, inspring and will stick with you long after you have turned the last page. It is a story with a message that speaks to those of all ages, ethnicities, and backgrounds and would make a great addition to any book group list.

Here are a few read-alikes for The Noticer:

The Seventeen Second Miracle, by Jason F. Wright

Words Unspoken, by Elizabeth Musser

One Simple Act: Discovering the Power of Generosity, by Debbie Macomber

Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make a Difference, by Max Lucado

A Day With a Perfect Stranger, by David Gregory

Please be sure to join us on Wednesday, May 28th from 6:30-7:30 for our discussion of The Art Forger by B.A. Shapiro. Copies of the book may be picked up at our Ballentine location at any time. Please contact us at 803-781-5026 with any questions. I look forward to seeing you there!


Amazon Says: A new story of common wisdom from the bestselling author of The Traveler’s Gift. Orange Beach, Alabama is a simple town filled with simple people.  But like all humans on t more...
Amazon Says: A new story of common wisdom from the bestselling author of The Traveler’s Gift. Orange Beach, Alabama is a simple town filled with simple people.  But like all humans on the planet, the good folks of Orange Beach have their share of problems – marriages teetering on the brink of divorce, young adults giving up on life, business people on the verge of bankruptcy, as well as the many other obstacles that life seems to dish out to the masses. Fortunately, when things look the darkest – a mysterious man named Jones has a miraculous way of showing up.  An elderly man with white hair, of indiscriminate age and race, wearing blue jeans, a white T-shirt and leather flip flops carrying a battered old suitcase, Jones is a unique soul.  Communicating what he calls “a little perspective,” Jones explains that he has been given a gift of noticing things that others miss.  “Your time on this earth is a gift to be used wisely,” he says.  “Don’t squander your words or your thoughts. Consider even the simplest action you take, for your lives matter beyond measure…and they matter forever.” Jones speaks to that part in everyone that is yearning to understand why things happen and what we can do about it. Like The Traveler’s Gift, The Noticer is a unique narrative is a blend of fiction, allegory, and inspiration.  Gifted storyteller Andy Andrews helps us see how becoming a “noticer” just might change a person’s life forever. less...
Amazon

Amazon Says: Dorry Chandler is a journalist who has always had a taste for mysteries. Curious about the strange “rock” her son has found, she takes it to Dylan Langford, an expert on a more...
Amazon Says: Dorry Chandler is a journalist who has always had a taste for mysteries. Curious about the strange “rock” her son has found, she takes it to Dylan Langford, an expert on antiquities who works at the Denver Museum of Nature and Science. When the language inscribed on the artifact is translated, a far-reaching mystery begins to unravel. This normal family’s life becomes anything but normal as each piece of evidence sheds additional light on the object’s significance. The Chandlers may have unearthed a fragment of one of the most profound relics in mankind’s history and the key to understanding the extraordinary achievements of esteemed men and women throughout time—Joan of Arc, Thomas Jefferson, George Washington Carver, Oskar Schindler—who seem to have been profoundly affected by the message the object bears. What power resides in this seemingly unimportant piece of bronze? Who passed its secrets on through the centuries? And why has the object appeared now, in this way, in this time and place? Weaving a thread of good and evil through history, The Lost Choice follows the story of an ancient relic and offers a parable of the hidden potential of the human heart. less...
Amazon

Amazon Says: “The Traveler’s Gift effectively combines self-help with fiction . . . sustaining momentum while simultaneously passing on instructions for positive thinking . . . an exem more...
Amazon Says: “The Traveler’s Gift effectively combines self-help with fiction . . . sustaining momentum while simultaneously passing on instructions for positive thinking . . . an exemplary job at providing positive suggestions for overcoming life’s obstacles.” - Publishers Weekly “Andy Andrews will challenge you to reach your fullest potential.” - John C. Maxwell, Founder, The INJOYTM Group “The Traveler’s Gift touched me in a way no other book ever has.” - Barbara Johnson, Humorist and Best-Selling Author Only a few months ago, he was a successful executive. Now he’s a desperate man. But a divine adventure is about to unfold. Join David Ponder on an incredible journey that will help you discover the Seven Decisions for Success. In the tradition of best-selling books by Og Mandino, The Traveler’s Gift is destined to become a classic. less...
Amazon

Amazon Says: “With the skill of a virtuoso, Andy Andrews continues his string of successful writing performances in his latest entertaining masterpiece. The plot, characters, and storyl more...
Amazon Says: “With the skill of a virtuoso, Andy Andrews continues his string of successful writing performances in his latest entertaining masterpiece. The plot, characters, and storyline combine to summon the reader into an unforgettable experience.”Robert Silvers Executive Publisher, The Saturday Evening Post“At the Maui Writers Conference, we have had the best . . . including filmmakers Ron Howard and James L. Brooks, . . . Pulitzer winners Dave Barry and Carl Bernstein, best-selling authors Elmore Leonard, Mitch Albom, Robin Cook, Elizabeth George, and Barbara Kingsolver. Andy Andrews is right at the top of the list.”Shannon Tullius Cofounder & Director, Maui Writers ConferenceIn the classic storytelling style of The Noticer and The Traveler’s Gift, New York Times best-selling author Andy Andrews now delivers an adventure set sharply against the warm waters and white sands of the Gulf of Mexico in WWII America.Saddened and unable to abandon her resentment toward the Nazi war machine that took her husband’s life, the young and attractive Helen Mason is living a bitter, lonely existence. Betrayed and left for dead, German U-boat officer Lt. Josef Landermann washes ashore in a sleepy town along the northern gulf coast, looking to Helen for survival.The Heart Mender is a story of life, loss, and reconciliation, reminding us of the power of forgiveness and the universal healing experience of letting go.Released in a previous edition as Island of Saints less...
Amazon

Amazon Says: How Do You Kill  11 Million People? Or, to be precise, 11,283,000 people. Andy Andrews believes that good answers come only from asking the right questions. Through more...
Amazon Says: How Do You Kill  11 Million People? Or, to be precise, 11,283,000 people. Andy Andrews believes that good answers come only from asking the right questions. Through the powerful, provocative question, "How do you kill eleven million people?"-the number of people killed by the Nazi German regime between 1933 and 1945-he explores a number of other questions relevant to our lives today: Does it matter that millions of ordinary citizens have checked out of participating in the decisions that shape the future of our country?  Which is more dangerous: politicians with ill intent, or the too-trusting population that allows such people to lead them?  How are we supposed to tell the difference between the "good guys" and the "bad guys"? How does the answer to this question affect not only our country but our families, our faith, and our values? What happens to a society in which truth is absent? Andrews issues a wake-up call: become informed, passionate citizens who demand honesty and integrity from our leaders, or suffer the consequences of our own ignorance and apathy. Furthermore, we can no longer measure a leader's worth by the yardsticks provided by the left or the right. Instead, we must use an unchanging standard: the pure, unvarnished truth. less...
Amazon
Andy Andrews - The Story Behind The Noticer (Long)
YouTube Says: Andy Andrews Story that inspired The Noticer. (Long Version)...
5
  • Andy Andrew's Official Website
    Here you can learn more about Andy, listen to his podcasts, buy autographed copies of his books, and even book him to speak at your events.
Print

Comment about this page...