Skip to content

Things That Go!

Zoom! Vroom! Chugga, Chugga, Choo Choo! Beep! Beep! Beep!

What’s more fun than playing with trucks, trains, boats and planes? Reading about them! Check out these books on all the things that GO.

Visit your nearest Richland Library location for even more book recommendations from our children’s librarians.


A is for Airplane: An Aviation Alphabet by Mary Ann McCabe Riehle
Amazon Says: Did you know that helicopters can fly forward, backward, and side-to-side? Or that the wingspan of a jumbo jet is almost twice as long as the distance of the Wright Brothers' more...
Amazon Says: Did you know that helicopters can fly forward, backward, and side-to-side? Or that the wingspan of a jumbo jet is almost twice as long as the distance of the Wright Brothers' first flight? Since recorded time, man has looked to the sky and dreamed of ways to fly there. A is for Airplane: An Aviation Alphabet celebrates the roots, inventions, and spirit of the science of flight. Young readers will learn about famous events such as the Spirit of St. Louis's nonstop flight across the Atlantic Ocean and the launch of Columbia STS-1 (the first space shuttle), as well as meet courageous aviators who broke barriers in the air and on Earth like the Tuskegee Airmen and Amelia Earhart. Aircraft of all kinds, including giant airships, wind-dependent gliders, and awe-inspiring F-16s, are depicted in spectacular artwork. The glory of flight is brought to stunning life.As a teacher, parent, and published author Mary Ann McCabe Riehle has encouraged young students and adults to follow their dreams and tell their stories. A is for Aviation is her third children's book. A featured author and speaker at several reading and writing conferences, Mary Ann lives in Dexter, Michigan. David Craig is an avid history buff and his remarkable skill at depicting historical events and people has led to diverse projects including collector's plates and a millennial champagne label. His children's book, First to Fly, the story of the Wright Brothers, won the inaugural James Madison Book Award. David lives in Mississauga, Ontario. less...
Amazon


Amazon Says: Uses the same signature format and style as the series' previous titles. The question "What boat am I?" and a linked written clue invites kids to lift the first portion of the more...
Amazon Says: Uses the same signature format and style as the series' previous titles. The question "What boat am I?" and a linked written clue invites kids to lift the first portion of the folded page to reveal another clue and more of the featured boat, and then a final fold-out shows the entire vessel. Fold-out on the final spread reveal a bright and bustling harbor scene with all the featured boats. Those featured are: sailboat, tugboat, ocean liner, rowboat, ferry, houseboat, and barge. less...
Amazon


Choo Choo Clickety-Clack! by Margaret Mayo
Amazon Says: This is an action-packed journey through the world of vehicles, featuring trains, planes, racing cars, sailing boats and more. more...
Amazon Says: This is an action-packed journey through the world of vehicles, featuring trains, planes, racing cars, sailing boats and more. less...
Amazon


I Love Trains! by Philemon Sturges
Amazon Says: A follow-up to the successful I Love Trucks!, this rhymed picture book introduces the preschool set to trains and the jobs they do. more...
Amazon Says: A follow-up to the successful I Love Trucks!, this rhymed picture book introduces the preschool set to trains and the jobs they do. less...
Amazon


I'm Dirty! by Kate McMullan
Amazon Says: For fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and Steam Train, Dream Train comes the perfect noisy addition to this hilarious read-aloud series from Kate and Jim McMulla more...
Amazon Says: For fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and Steam Train, Dream Train comes the perfect noisy addition to this hilarious read-aloud series from Kate and Jim McMullan, the popular creators of I'm Bad! and I Stink!Clank! Rattle! Bang!Who's making all that noise?Backhoe Loader, reporting for duty.Cleaning up a mess? Easy as pie.Make that a MUD pie.RRRRRM! RRRRRM!Who wants to be clean when it's so much fun being dirty?CLUNK!I just LOVE my job! less...
Amazon


I'm Your Bus by Marilyn Singer
Amazon Says: A fun day-in-the-life of a school bus and his road-hugging buddies Get ready for a rip-roaring, rhyming ride that celebrates all things drivin' with a special spotlight on a more...
Amazon Says: A fun day-in-the-life of a school bus and his road-hugging buddies Get ready for a rip-roaring, rhyming ride that celebrates all things drivin' with a special spotlight on a kid's four-wheeled best buddy--his school bus! When you're a kid, your school bus can be your very best friend. Morning, noon, and nighttime, too, that golden buddy is at your service. Ready to drive you and your friends to and from school. And in-between those golden-bus moments, there are other vehicles who drive around town doing what they do best--sweeping, crunching, watching, creeping! Here is an in-your-face read-aloud that is bound to become a modern classic. less...
Amazon


Life of a Car by Susan Steggall
Amazon Says: Many things happen in the life of a car: it’s built, sold, driven, washed . . . sometimes it even crashes! In this book, preschoolers see all of these events, and in the end more...
Amazon Says: Many things happen in the life of a car: it’s built, sold, driven, washed . . . sometimes it even crashes! In this book, preschoolers see all of these events, and in the end learn that an old car can even be recycled to start anew. Each two-page spread focuses on a certain stage in a car’s existence. Susan Steggall’s brightly colored collage art will attract all automobile lovers and invite them in for a fun look at the life of a car. less...
Amazon


My Car by Byron Barton
Amazon Says: With prose as clean as Sam's the narrator's shiny engine, Byron Barton, the celebrated creator of numerous picture books for very young children, including Trucks, My Bus, and more...
Amazon Says: With prose as clean as Sam's the narrator's shiny engine, Byron Barton, the celebrated creator of numerous picture books for very young children, including Trucks, My Bus, and Building a House, explores transportation, the parts of a car, signs and signals, night and day, community, and occupations. Bright, graphic artwork invites readers to count, name colors and shapes, and follow Sam and his car as they drive through a bustling world from Sam's home in the country to his job in the city. The surprise ending is a gem! "For young children intrigued by cars, this book is simply wonderful."—ALA BooklistSupports the Common Core Standards less...
Amazon


Planes Board Book by Byron Barton
Amazon Says: Children explore the many ways we use airplanes, from seaplanes to crop dusters to planes that write messages in the sky. With simple text and vibrant illustrations, readers w more...
Amazon Says: Children explore the many ways we use airplanes, from seaplanes to crop dusters to planes that write messages in the sky. With simple text and vibrant illustrations, readers will learn about transportation by plane. Byron Barton's Planes "will delight the youngest, and have enough meat for older preschoolers and beginning readers."—Kirkus ReviewsSupports the Common Core State Standards less...
Amazon


Amazon Says: I can pop a wheelie, I can touch the sky, I can pedal backwards, I can really fly! Sally Jean was born to ride. And her bicycle, Flash, is just about her best friend. But one more...
Amazon Says: I can pop a wheelie, I can touch the sky, I can pedal backwards, I can really fly! Sally Jean was born to ride. And her bicycle, Flash, is just about her best friend. But one day something terrible – and wonderful – happens. Sally Jean grows. Suddenly she finds herself too big for Flash. What’s a Bicycle Queen to do? Finally, by collecting old bicycle parts to make a new bike – and giving Flash to a young friend who longs for a bigger bike of his own – she rides again! With exuberant art that’s just the right match for Sally Jean’s new found freedom, this joyous text celebrates growing up, learning new skills, and giving back to the community. Sally Jean, the Bicycle Queen is a 2007 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year. less...
Amazon


Subway by Anastasia Suen
Amazon Says: a rush of air a car is there hop, hop, hop on the subway! Come along for the ride as a little girl and her mother hop on the subway.  From spinning turnstiles and mus more...
Amazon Says: a rush of air a car is there hop, hop, hop on the subway! Come along for the ride as a little girl and her mother hop on the subway.  From spinning turnstiles and musicians performing on the platforms to people hopping off and on and lights flashing past in the tunnels, the sights and sounds of the subway have an energy all their own.  Anastasia Suen's sprightly text and Karen Katz's brightly colored patterns and lively perspectives combine for a pitch perfect celebration of an underground train ride, where the hustle and bustle is only part of the fun. less...
Amazon


Tip Tip Dig Dig by Emma Garcia
Amazon Says: A parade of colorful construction vehicles doing their work means plenty of joyful noise! From the crane that lifts, lifts, lifts to the bulldozer that push-push-pushes, to th more...
Amazon Says: A parade of colorful construction vehicles doing their work means plenty of joyful noise! From the crane that lifts, lifts, lifts to the bulldozer that push-push-pushes, to the steamroller that rolls, rolls, rolls, every machine here makes it own special sound. Kids will love the irresistibly rhythmic text and the adorable, personality-filled vehicles with headlights that look like eyes. And the surprise ending, when the great big mess on page one becomes a wonderful playground, is sure to leave them delighted! less...
Amazon


What Do Wheels Do All Day? by April Jones Prince
Amazon Says: Yeah, what do wheels do all day? Well . . . they push . . . race . . . stroll . . . fly . . . whiz . . . and spin . . . all day long! Simple, direct text, combined with brill more...
Amazon Says: Yeah, what do wheels do all day? Well . . . they push . . . race . . . stroll . . . fly . . . whiz . . . and spin . . . all day long! Simple, direct text, combined with brilliant cut-paper relief illustrations, captures kids’ fascination with “things that go” and opens their minds to the wide variety of wheels and what they do. less...
Amazon


Who Is Driving? by Leo Timmers
Amazon Says: Who is driving . . . the fire engine? Elephant! He is driving to the fire station. From fire trucks to convertibles and snails to elephants, here's a book that's full of tod more...
Amazon Says: Who is driving . . . the fire engine? Elephant! He is driving to the fire station. From fire trucks to convertibles and snails to elephants, here's a book that's full of toddler favorites! Kids must solve the puzzle: which animal is driving which vehicle? With bold illustrations full of funny details, kids will love reading--and playing--this simple guessing game again and again. less...
Amazon

Print

Comment about this page...