Skip to content

New Books for Teens December 11, 2012

New arrivals have made their way to your library’s shelves!

Check out the paranormal spine-chiller Break My Heart 1,000 Times, by Generation Dead author Daniel Waters. If horror isn’t your thing, try Sonia Manzano’s debut novel The Revolution of Evelyn Serrano. This coming-of-age tale follows Evelyn Serrano as she navigates tensions at home and in the community during the summer of 1969.

Look below for more new arrivals, or drop by your closest Richland Library location to browse in person.


Amazon Says: Living in the aftermath of the Event means that seeing the dead is now a part of life, but Veronica wishes that the ghosts would just move on. Instead, the ghosts aren't disap more...
Amazon Says: Living in the aftermath of the Event means that seeing the dead is now a part of life, but Veronica wishes that the ghosts would just move on. Instead, the ghosts aren't disappearing-they're gaining power. When Veronica and her friend, Kirk, decide to investigate why, they stumble upon a more sinister plot than they ever could have imagined. One of Veronica's high school teachers is crippled by the fact that his dead daughter has never returned as a ghost, and he's haunted by the possibility that she's waiting to reappear within a fresh body. Veronica seems like the perfect host. And even if he's wrong, what's the harm in creating one more ghost? From critically acclaimed Generation Dead author Daniel Waters, comes a delectably creepy and suspenseful thriller. Break My Heart 1,000 Times will leave readers with the chills. Or is that a ghost reading over the page? less...
Amazon


Amazon Says: One of America’s most influential Hispanics -- 'Maria' on Sesame Street -- presents a powerful novel set in New York's El Barrio in 1969 There are two secrets Evelyn Serra more...
Amazon Says: One of America’s most influential Hispanics -- 'Maria' on Sesame Street -- presents a powerful novel set in New York's El Barrio in 1969 There are two secrets Evelyn Serrano is keeping from her Mami and Papo? her true feelings about growing up in her Spanish Harlem neighborhood, and her attitude about Abuela, her sassy grandmother who's come from Puerto Rico to live with them. Then, like an urgent ticking clock, events erupt that change everything. The Young Lords, a Puerto Rican activist group, dump garbage in the street and set it on fire, igniting a powerful protest. When Abuela steps in to take charge, Evelyn is thrust into the action. Tempers flare, loyalties are tested. Through it all, Evelyn learns important truths about her Latino heritage and the history makers who shaped a nation. Infused with actual news accounts from the time period, Sonia Manzano has crafted a gripping work of fiction based on her own life growing up during a fiery, unforgettable time in America, when young Latinos took control of their destinies. less...
Amazon


Amazon Says: When Claire’s best friend Richy went missing, he disappeared without a trace. But when Emily Dickinson’s dress goes missing from the Amherst museum, she knows exactly wher more...
Amazon Says: When Claire’s best friend Richy went missing, he disappeared without a trace. But when Emily Dickinson’s dress goes missing from the Amherst museum, she knows exactly where it is: in her closet.As Claire and her student teacher, Tate, attempt to figure out what do to about the dress, they begin to uncover the truth behind Richy's disappearing act. Following a trail of clues across state lines, Claire and Tate attempt to find the person that Claire knows in her gut is responsible for his disappearance. less...
Amazon


Teen Cuisine: New Vegetarian by Matthew Locricchio
Amazon Says: 2013 International Association of Culinary Professionals Award Winner, Children, Youth and Family category Teens will celebrate all the great features in this exquisite cookb more...
Amazon Says: 2013 International Association of Culinary Professionals Award Winner, Children, Youth and Family category Teens will celebrate all the great features in this exquisite cookbook that speaks directly to today’s most popular eating trends. Features: • 50 mouthwatering, original step-by-step recipes for all times of day arranged into sections such as “Smart Starts,” “Pasta and Polenta Perfects,” “Big Plates,” and “Just Desserts” • Special sushi section • “On Your Mark Get Set Cook!” popular recipe format with step-by-step drawings and photographs • Chef’s tips, safety section, cooking terms, and ingredient definitions • Kitchen essentials and equipment • Organic, local, nutritious ingredients for healthy eating. less...
Amazon


Amazon Says: A reimagining of Sleeping Beauty from a master storyteller Gorse is the thirteenth and youngest in a family of fairies tied to the evil king's land and made to do his bidding more...
Amazon Says: A reimagining of Sleeping Beauty from a master storyteller Gorse is the thirteenth and youngest in a family of fairies tied to the evil king's land and made to do his bidding. Because of an oath made to the king's great-great-ever-so-many-times-great-grandfather, if they try to leave or disobey the royals, they will burst into a thousand stars. When accident-prone Gorse falls ill just as the family is bid to bless the new princess, a fairytale starts to unfold. Sick as she is, Gorse races to the castle with the last piece of magic the family has left--a piece of the Thread of Life. But that is when accident, mayhem, and magic combine to drive Gorse's story into the unthinkable, threatening the baby, the kingdom, and all. With her trademark depth, grace, and humor, Jane Yolen tells readers the "true" story of the fairy who cursed Sleeping Beauty. less...
Amazon


Ten by Gretchen McNeil
Amazon Says: From Possess author Gretchen McNeil comes this teen horror novel inspired by Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None. Perfect for fans of Christopher Pike’s Chain Lette more...
Amazon Says: From Possess author Gretchen McNeil comes this teen horror novel inspired by Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None. Perfect for fans of Christopher Pike’s Chain Letter and Lois Duncan’s I Know What You Did Last Summer, Ten will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the very last page!It was supposed to be the weekend of their lives—an exclusive house party on Henry Island. Best friends Meg and Minnie are looking forward to two days of boys, booze, and fun-filled luxury. But what starts out as fun turns twisted after the discovery of a DVD with a sinister message: Vengeance is mine. And things only get worse from there.With a storm raging outside, the teens are cut off from the outside world . . . so when a mysterious killer begins picking them off one by one, there’s no escape. As the deaths become more violent and the teens turn on one another, can Meg find the killer before more people die? Or is the killer closer to her than she could ever imagine? less...
Amazon

Print

Comment about this page...