Need a little romance? Try these 2014 RITA Award winners. | Richland Library Skip to content
Photo courtesy of dan/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Need a little romance? Try these 2014 RITA Award winners.

Romance Writers of America (RWA), the trade association for aspiring and published romance fiction authors, recently announced the winners for the 2014 RITA® Awards. The RITA, named after RWA's first president, Rita Clay Estrada, recognizes excellence in published romance fiction. So, if you need a little romance in your life, try these award winning love stories.

2014 RITA Winners:

  • Best First Book: The Sweet Spot, by Laura Drake
  • Contemporary Romance: Crazy Thing Called Love, by Molly O'Keefe
  • Historical Romance: No Good Duke Goes Unpunished, by Sarah MacLean
  • Inspirational Romance: Five Days in Skye by Carla Laureano*
  • Paranormal Romance: The Firebird, by Susanna Kearsley
  • Romantic Suspense: Off the Edge, by Carolyn Crane
  • * denotes title not yet in Richland Library collection, but it is being ordered.


    The Sweet Spot by Laura Drake
    Amazon Says: 2014 RITA Winner for Best First Book A Love as Big as Texas . . . Charla Rae Denny was the perfect wife with a perfect life, content to keep the home fi more...
    Amazon Says: 2014 RITA Winner for Best First Book A Love as Big as Texas . . . Charla Rae Denny was the perfect wife with a perfect life, content to keep the home fires burning while her husband, JB, competed as a champion bull rider. Then their son died in a tragic accident-and everything fell apart. Divorced and saddled with a hill of bills and a failing ranch, Charla must now cowboy up to put her life back together. James "JB" Denny doesn't stay where he isn't welcome. So when Charla shut him out of her grieving heart-and their home-a year ago, he took comfort where he could find it. Now after seeing beautiful Charla again, he wants it all back. She can't work the ranch alone, and deep in his heart he knows he can be the man she needs. But after so much history and heartbreak, can JB convince Charla to take a risk and give their love a second chance? less...
    Amazon

    Crazy Thing Called Love by Molly O'Keefe
    Amazon Says: NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR In this poignant and deeply sensual new contemporary romance—perfect for readers of Susan Elizabeth Phillips and Ra more...
    Amazon Says: NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR In this poignant and deeply sensual new contemporary romance—perfect for readers of Susan Elizabeth Phillips and Rachel Gibson—Molly O’Keefe proves that lost loves don’t have to stay lost forever.   Dallas TV morning show host Madelyn Cornish is poised, perfect, and unflappable, from her glossy smile to her sleek professionalism. No one knows that her iron will guards a shattered heart and memories of a man she’s determined to lock out. Until that man shows up at a morning meeting like a bad dream: Billy Wilkins, sexy hockey superstar in a tailspin—still skating, still fighting, and still her ex-husband.   Now the producers want this poster child for bad behavior to undergo an on-air makeover, and Billy, who has nothing to lose, agrees to the project. It’s his only chance to get near Maddy again, and to fight for the right things this time around. He believes in the fire in Maddy’s whiskey eyes and the passion that ignites the air between them. This bad-boy heartbreaker wants a last shot to be redeemed by the only thing that matters: Maddy’s love.   “Irresistible and satisfying . . . addictive and sexy romance at its best.”—New York Times bestselling author Susan Mallery   “Molly O’Keefe is a unique, not-to-be-missed voice in romantic fiction.”—New York Times bestselling author Susan Andersen less...
    Amazon

    Amazon Says: A rogue ruined . . .He is the Killer Duke, accused of murdering Mara Lowe on the eve of her wedding. With no memory of that fateful night, Temple has reigned over the darkest more...
    Amazon Says: A rogue ruined . . .He is the Killer Duke, accused of murdering Mara Lowe on the eve of her wedding. With no memory of that fateful night, Temple has reigned over the darkest of London’s corners for twelve years, wealthy and powerful, but beyond redemption. Until one night, Mara resurfaces, offering the one thing he’s dreamed of . . . absolution.A lady returned . . .Mara planned never to return to the world from which she’d run, but when her brother falls deep into debt at Temple’s exclusive casino, she has no choice but to offer Temple a trade that ends in her returning to society and proving to the world what only she knows...that he is no killer.A scandal revealed . . .It’s a fine trade, until Temple realizes that the lady—and her past—are more than they seem. It will take every bit of his strength to resist the pull of this mysterious, maddening woman who seems willing to risk everything for honor . . . and to keep from putting himself on the line for love. less...
    Amazon
    Print