Skip to content
Little Santa, by Jon Agee

New Arrivals for Children December 17, 2013

Check out some of the library's newest arrivals in children's books, below, or stop by your favorite library location for more great options!


Little Santa by Jon Agee
Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: Ever wonder what Santa was like as a child? Award-winning author/illustrator Jon Agee brings us the funny, playful answer in this Christmas picture book destined to become a more...
Amazon Says: Ever wonder what Santa was like as a child? Award-winning author/illustrator Jon Agee brings us the funny, playful answer in this Christmas picture book destined to become a classic. Little Santa loves the North Pole. The rest of his family?  Not so much. So, when they decide to move to Florida, Santa is miserable. Lucky for him, a blizzard foils their plans. The only way out of the house is up the chimney. Up goes Santa, to look for help, and along the way, he meets a reindeer and a large group of elves, who are more than eager to join in the rescue!   With the sly humor of Jon Klassen and the read-aloud pleasure of How the Grinch Stole Christmas, this tale of Santa’s beginnings is perfect for every kid’s holiday library. less...
Amazon

The Night Before Christmas by Clement Clarke Moore
Leah B. Says: Nonfiction
Amazon Says: In her fresh imagining of Clement C. Moore's timeless classic, acclaimed watercolorist Holly Hobbie introduces an entirely new character to capture the magic and heighten the more...
Amazon Says: In her fresh imagining of Clement C. Moore's timeless classic, acclaimed watercolorist Holly Hobbie introduces an entirely new character to capture the magic and heighten the wonder of this exciting, mysterious time. Her inimitable illustrations glow with warmth and feeling and will transport you to a place where anything can happen. less...
Amazon

Empire of Bones by N. D. Wilson
Leah B. Says: Novel
Amazon Says: Fans of both Percy Jackson and Indiana Jones will be captivated by the lost civilizations, ancient secrets, and buried treasure found in the third book of the Ashtown Buria more...
Amazon Says: Fans of both Percy Jackson and Indiana Jones will be captivated by the lost civilizations, ancient secrets, and buried treasure found in the third book of the Ashtown Burials series, an action-packed adventure by the author of 100 Cupboards.   Cyrus and Antigone Smith have thwarted Dr. Phoenix’s plans—for the moment. They’ve uncovered a new threat from the transmortals and managed to escape with their lives. Their next adventure will take them deep into the caves below Ashtown, where they will look for help from those imprisoned in one of Ashtown’s oldest tombs.   “An extraordinary new series.”—SLJ, Starred less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Novel
Amazon Says: In Stick Dog Wants a Hot Dog, Tom Watson's hilarious sequel to Stick Dog, Stick Dog returns with the same crew of friends, and they're hungrier than ever. As the dogs embark o more...
Amazon Says: In Stick Dog Wants a Hot Dog, Tom Watson's hilarious sequel to Stick Dog, Stick Dog returns with the same crew of friends, and they're hungrier than ever. As the dogs embark on their quest for hot dogs, they learn they're not the only ones on a mission—a band of raccoons are following close behind, and they're ravenous, too!In this second book, Stick Dog and his four friends, Poo-Poo, Mutt, Stripes, and Karen, must execute a master plan for stealing hot dogs. The closer they get to the hot dog vendor, the more difficult their mission becomes. With the same hilarious antics, the five dogs are met with many challenges along the way, including having to distract the frankfurter guy and Karen getting locked in a human's house. No matter what, these dogs have their eyes—and stomachs—on the prize. less...
Amazon

Is It Christmas Yet? by Jane Chapman
Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: Christmas is coming, and Teddy is so excited! 'Is it Christmas yet?' he asks Big Bear. 'Soon,' Big Bear replies. Big Bear tells him that first, there are presents to wrap, a c more...
Amazon Says: Christmas is coming, and Teddy is so excited! 'Is it Christmas yet?' he asks Big Bear. 'Soon,' Big Bear replies. Big Bear tells him that first, there are presents to wrap, a cake to bake, a tree to decorate and so much more to do! Teddy desperately wants to help Big Bear get ready, but every time he tries, he ends up making a mess and making Big Bear angry! Will they ever be ready to have the perfect Christmas? less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Beginning Reader
Amazon Says: Readers will roar with laughter as Digger the Dinosaur mixes up silly phrases in his second fully illustrated I Can Read title.Today is the big dino party! Digger and Dadasaur more...
Amazon Says: Readers will roar with laughter as Digger the Dinosaur mixes up silly phrases in his second fully illustrated I Can Read title.Today is the big dino party! Digger and Dadasaur take a ride into town to get a cake, but before long, they get lost. Can Momasaur help Digger before it’s too late? Or will Digger and Dadasaur have to go home cakeless?Beginning readers will learn common sight words and simple phonics sounds. Digger the Dinosaur and the Cake Mistake is a My First I Can Read book, which means it’s perfect for shared reading with a child. less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Novel
Amazon Says: When Heidi gets in some Christmastime trouble, it will take more than magic to restore the holiday spirit! Christmas is around the corner, and Heidi is very excited. S more...
Amazon Says: When Heidi gets in some Christmastime trouble, it will take more than magic to restore the holiday spirit! Christmas is around the corner, and Heidi is very excited. She loves Christmas decorations, Christmas cookies, and, best of all, Christmas presents! But when she takes her mom’s special charm bracelet without asking—and then loses it—Heidi fears that her mom will be angry with her. And when she finally finds the bracelet, it has been totally crushed by a snowplow. Heidi tries to fix the broken bracelet with a spell, but that only makes things worse! Will Heidi have the courage to come clean and tell her mom the truth—and will there still be room for Christmas cheer? With easy-to-read language and illustrations on almost every page, the Heidi Heckelbeck chapter books are perfect for beginning readers. less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: Papa Bear, Mama Bear, and Baby Bear weren't expecting any company when they went for a walk on Christmas Eve, but that's exactly what they got! Debut author Maria Modugno team more...
Amazon Says: Papa Bear, Mama Bear, and Baby Bear weren't expecting any company when they went for a walk on Christmas Eve, but that's exactly what they got! Debut author Maria Modugno teams up with award-winning artists Jane and Brooke Dyer to deliver a festive twist on Goldilocks and the Three Bears, with Santa Claus stepping in as the cheerful intruder.Leaving their pudding to cool on the kitchen table, the unsuspecting bears head outdoors for a crisp evening walk. But when they return, they are shocked at what they find! Their pudding . . . eaten! Their chairs . . . broken! Their cozy beds . . . slept in! And it looks like the culprit is still there! Fast asleep in Baby Bear's bed is someone awfully familiar. A fluffy white beard, a red jacket covered in soot, and two black boots sticking out from under the covers. Could it really be . . . ?With sparkling prose and splendid watercolor paintings, this delicious holiday treat glows with warmth and humor that will delight readers page after page. less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Beginning Reader
Amazon Says: Splat the Cat can’t wait for it to snow. All he wants to do is make a snowcat and throw snowballs! When he can’t wait any longer, Splat decides to take matters into his ow more...
Amazon Says: Splat the Cat can’t wait for it to snow. All he wants to do is make a snowcat and throw snowballs! When he can’t wait any longer, Splat decides to take matters into his own paws.Splat the Cat: Blow, Snow, Blow is a Level One I Can Read book, which means it’s perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences. Beginning readers will delight at Splat’s hilarious attempts to make snow. Readers won’t even know they are learning as the have fun with the long o sound.Join Splat the Cat in his excitement for snow in New York Times bestselling author and artist Rob Scotton’s beginning reader. less...
Amazon
Print

Comment about this page...