Skip to content
The Yuckiest, Stinkiest, Best Valentine Ever by Brenda A. Ferber

New Arrivals for Children February 5, 2013

Find fun that the whole family can enjoy in this week's featured new arrival The Yuckiest, Stinkiest, Best Valentine Ever by Brenda A. Ferber. This twist on The Gingerbread Man follows Leon on a quest to declare his true feelings for Zoey Maloney, despite warnings from a grumpy Valentine.

Look below for more new arrivals to share, or stop by a Richland Library location near you for an even greater selection.


AmazonLeah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: Even boys will fall in love with this valentine! Leon has a crush. A let-her-cut-in-line-at-the-water-fountain kind of crush. And he's got the perfect valentine. But this val more...
Amazon Says: Even boys will fall in love with this valentine! Leon has a crush. A let-her-cut-in-line-at-the-water-fountain kind of crush. And he's got the perfect valentine. But this valentine has no intention of getting caught up in any romantic conspiracy. "Love is yucky, kid! Valentine's Day is all about CANDY!" the card yells at Leon, before leaping out the window and running away, leaving Leon to chase it across town, collecting interested kids along the way. Here is a hilarious take on the holiday that boys love to hate, the most complex holiday of them all. Saying "I love you" has never been so yucky or so sweet. less...
Amazon


AmazonLeah B. Says: Nonfiction
Amazon Says:  A 2014 YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Finalist They became America’s first black paratroopers. Why was their story never told? Sibert Medalist Tanya Lee Stone r more...
Amazon Says:  A 2014 YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Finalist They became America’s first black paratroopers. Why was their story never told? Sibert Medalist Tanya Lee Stone reveals the history of the Triple Nickles during World War II. World War II is raging, and thousands of American soldiers are fighting overseas against the injustices brought on by Hitler. Back on the home front, the injustice of discrimination against African Americans plays out as much on Main Street as in the military. Enlisted black men are segregated from white soldiers and regularly relegated to service duties. At Fort Benning, Georgia, First Sergeant Walter Morris’s men serve as guards at The Parachute School, while the white soldiers prepare to be paratroopers. Morris knows that for his men to be treated like soldiers, they have to train and act like them, but would the military elite and politicians recognize the potential of these men as well as their passion for serving their country? Tanya Lee Stone examines the role of African Americans in the military through the history of the Triple Nickles, America’s first black paratroopers, who fought in a little-known attack on the American West by the Japanese. The 555th Parachute Infantry Battalion, in the words of Morris, "proved that the color of a man had nothing to do with his ability." From Courage Has No Color What did it take to be a paratrooper in World War II? Specialized training, extreme physical fitness, courage, and — until the 555th Parachute Infantry Battalion (the Triple Nickles) was formed — white skin. It is 1943. Americans are overseas fighting World War II to help keep the world safe from Adolf Hitler’s tyranny, safe from injustice, safe from discrimination. Yet right here at home, people with white skin have rights that people with black skin do not. What is courage? What is strength? Perhaps it is being ready to fight for your nation even when your nation isn’t ready to fight for you. less...
Amazon


Huggy Kissy by Leslie Patricelli
AmazonLeah B. Says: Board Book
Amazon Says: Oh, baby! Leslie Patricelli’s one-haired wonder returns to share the love. When you’re an adorable bald baby, your family finds lots of ways to show you how much t more...
Amazon Says: Oh, baby! Leslie Patricelli’s one-haired wonder returns to share the love. When you’re an adorable bald baby, your family finds lots of ways to show you how much they love you: Mommy lifts you uppy, Daddy kisses you on the tummy, and everyone wants to snuggle. What’s not to love? With comedy and warmth, Leslie Patricelli offers a universal tribute to love and affection in a board book full of instant appeal for little valentines everywhere. less...
Amazon


AmazonLeah B. Says: Biography
Amazon Says: Sometime around 1815, an enslaved young man named Dave was brought to Edgefield, South Carolina, the center of a pottery-producing area known for the alkaline glazes used on t more...
Amazon Says: Sometime around 1815, an enslaved young man named Dave was brought to Edgefield, South Carolina, the center of a pottery-producing area known for the alkaline glazes used on the stoneware. Dave was taught how to turn pots and jars on a pottery wheel by one of his first owners. As Dave’s talent flourished, he created pieces of great beauty and often massive size. He also somehow learned to read and write, in spite of South Carolina’s strongly-held fear of slave literacy. And then Dave did something even more incredible—he began to sign his jars and carve many of them with sayings and poems that reflected his daily life and experiences. He spoke out against slavery not by protesting or revolting, but by daring to write at all. Andrea Cheng has crafted a biography in verse as beautiful as one of Dave’s jars. In simple, powerful words, including some of Dave’s original writings, we learn his extraordinary story of courage, creative inspiration, and triumph. less...
Amazon


AmazonLeah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: Fans of Mo Willems' Elephant and Piggie will enjoy Rabbit and Pig’s clever back-and-forth which shows the funny ways friends bounce ideas and feelings off each other. more...
Amazon Says: Fans of Mo Willems' Elephant and Piggie will enjoy Rabbit and Pig’s clever back-and-forth which shows the funny ways friends bounce ideas and feelings off each other. Rabbit just adores his friend Pig. So he is excited to make a list of all the things he loves about Pig. And who better to help him write the list than Pig himself? But Pig is busy, and keeps sending Rabbit away. But no matter what Pig does, Rabbit is inspired to add another thing to his list. When Pig says, “Rabbit, I'm starting to lose my patience!” Rabbit has #6—“I love Pig because he’s not afraid to show his feelings!” Fortunately, Pig’s dwindling patience is rewarded when Rabbit completes his list—and the two realize exactly why they are such good pals. less...
Amazon


Road Trip by Gary Paulsen
AmazonLeah B. Says: Novel
Amazon Says: Dad and Ben haven't been getting along recently and Dad hopes a road trip to rescue a border collie will help them reconnect. But Ben is on to Dad's plan and invites  Ben's t more...
Amazon Says: Dad and Ben haven't been getting along recently and Dad hopes a road trip to rescue a border collie will help them reconnect. But Ben is on to Dad's plan and invites  Ben's thuggish buddy, Theo. The family dog, Atticus, comes along too and the story is told by Ben and Atticus. When their truck breaks down, they commandeer an old school bus, along with its mechanic, Gus. Next, they pick up Mia, a waitress escaping a tense situation. Only sharp-eyed Atticus realizes that Theo is on the run—and someone is following them.  less...
Amazon


AmazonLeah B. Says: Beginning Reader
Amazon Says: Everyone has heard the phrase "busy as a bee," and in this book young readers get to see exactly what those bees are up to. From pollinating flowers and collecting nectar to b more...
Amazon Says: Everyone has heard the phrase "busy as a bee," and in this book young readers get to see exactly what those bees are up to. From pollinating flowers and collecting nectar to beecommunication, life in the hive, making honey, and the role of the queen, this book covers every aspect of bee life in stunning up-close detail. Unfamiliar words like ÒhiveÓ are introduced throughout the text with subtle highlighting and the beautiful photography and text work together seamlessly to draw readers forward for a successful early reading experience. LEVEL 1: BEGINNING TO READ Consists of short simple sentences, high-interest information, easy vocabulary with a high degree of phonic regularity, and lots of repetition. Guided Reading Levels: F, G less...
Amazon


AmazonLeah B. Says: Novel
Amazon Says: While Lula Bell Bonner tries desperately to fit in by not standing out, her wise and irrepressible Grandma Bernice says: Let your light shine! It's Grandma Bernice who provide more...
Amazon Says: While Lula Bell Bonner tries desperately to fit in by not standing out, her wise and irrepressible Grandma Bernice says: Let your light shine! It's Grandma Bernice who provides the joy that balances Lula Bell’s difficult school life, but when this balance is upended, when Kali Keele turns up the heat on her cruel teasing, and when the talent show –that she should NEVER have signed up for-- is about to happen, how in the world can Lula Bell cope? This funny, heartfelt novel exploring friendship, family, and forgiveness, introduces an unforgettable hero, lost in the wilderness of 5th grade, searching for her own shining light.The author of Lula Bell has donated this book to the Worldreader program less...
Amazon


Drummer Boy of John John by Mark Greenwood
AmazonLeah B. Says: Biography
Amazon Says: A young boy in Trinidad wins the Carnival band competition after he discovers he can create tunes by banging on discarded metal tins and cans. more...
Amazon Says: A young boy in Trinidad wins the Carnival band competition after he discovers he can create tunes by banging on discarded metal tins and cans. less...
Amazon

Print

Comment about this page...