Skip to content
Amelia Bedelia's First Library Card, by Herman Parish

New Arrivals for Children July 10, 2013

Check out some of the newest additions to Richland Library's children's collection. Drop by any library location for even more options!


Doll Bones by Holly Black
Leah B. Says: Novel
Amazon Says: Discover the Newbery Honor winner Doll Bones, from Holly Black, the cocreator of the Spiderwick Chronicles. A Kirkus Reviews Best Book. A School Library Journal Best Book. A B more...
Amazon Says: Discover the Newbery Honor winner Doll Bones, from Holly Black, the cocreator of the Spiderwick Chronicles. A Kirkus Reviews Best Book. A School Library Journal Best Book. A Booklist Editor’s Choice Books for Youth. A Publishers Weekly Best Children’s Book. A NYPL “100 Titles for Reading and Sharing.” A 2013 Goodreads Choice award nominee. A People Magazine “Best New Kids Book.” Six starred reviews! Winner of a 2014 Newbery Honor Medal. Zach, Poppy, and Alice have been friends forever. And for almost as long, they’ve been playing one continuous, ever-changing game of pirates and thieves, mermaids and warriors. Ruling over all is the Great Queen, a bone-china doll cursing those who displease her. But they are in middle school now. Zach’s father pushes him to give up make-believe, and Zach quits the game. Their friendship might be over, until Poppy declares she’s been having dreams about the Queen—and the ghost of a girl who will not rest until the bone-china doll is buried in her empty grave. Zach and Alice and Poppy set off on one last adventure to lay the Queen’s ghost to rest. But nothing goes according to plan, and as their adventure turns into an epic journey, creepy things begin to happen. Is the doll just a doll or something more sinister? And if there really is a ghost, will it let them go now that it has them in its clutches? Doll Bones is a winner of the Newbery Honor, is the recipient of six starred reviews, was on four Best Book lists, and was called "perfect" by The New York Times. less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: Ernest's crocodile does not bite! It's very well trained. But when Ernest brings the crocodile to the school's pet show, his rival Cindy Lou gets very rude. Cindy Lou is sur more...
Amazon Says: Ernest's crocodile does not bite! It's very well trained. But when Ernest brings the crocodile to the school's pet show, his rival Cindy Lou gets very rude. Cindy Lou is sure her poodle Fifi will win best in show. She doesn't think Ernest's croc should be allowed to compete. But Ernest and his friend have some tricks prepared. They're going to prove that when a crocodile's not busy biting, it can really put on a show! less...
Amazon

The Watermelon Seed by Greg Pizzoli
Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is real more...
Amazon Says: With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? This crocodile has a wild imagination that kids will love. With bold color and beautiful sense of design, Greg Pizzoli's picture book debut takes this familiar childhood worry and gives us a true gem in the vein of I Want My Hat Back and Not a Box. less...
Amazon
Print

Comment about this page...