New Arrivals for Children July 10, 2013 | Richland Library Skip to content
Amelia Bedelia's First Library Card, by Herman Parish

New Arrivals for Children July 10, 2013

Check out some of the newest additions to Richland Library's children's collection. Drop by any library location for even more options!


Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: Generations of children have fallen in love with Amelia Bedelia, the housekeeper so literal-minded that she puts sponges in her sponge cake and pitches a tent by throwing it i more...
Amazon Says: Generations of children have fallen in love with Amelia Bedelia, the housekeeper so literal-minded that she puts sponges in her sponge cake and pitches a tent by throwing it into the woods. Now fans can find out what Amelia Bedelia was like when she was a little girl just starting school. In the picture book Amelia Bedelia's First Library Card, young Amelia Bedelia and her classmates visit the library. Exploring the shelves of books, volunteering at the front desk, and meeting the librarians is so fun! But Amelia Bedelia’s favorite part is getting her very own library card. Amelia Bedelia’s First Library Card is a love letter to reading, libraries, librarians, and books. Author Herman Parish is a nephew of Peggy Parish, the creator of Amelia Bedelia. less...
Amazon

The Year of the Baby by Andrea Cheng
Leah B. Says: Novel
Amazon Says: Last year, Anna learned how to be a good friend. Now that her family has adopted a baby girl from China, she wants to learn how to be a good sister. But the new year proves ch more...
Amazon Says: Last year, Anna learned how to be a good friend. Now that her family has adopted a baby girl from China, she wants to learn how to be a good sister. But the new year proves challenging when the doctor warns that the baby isn’t thriving. Can Anna and her best friends, Laura and Camille, create a science project that saves the day? In this heartwarming sequel to The Year of the Book, readers will be just as moved by Anna's devotion to her new sister as they will be inspired by her loving family and lasting friendships. less...
Amazon

Peace by Wendy Anderson Halperin
Leah B. Says: Nonfiction
Amazon Says: This lavish and lyrical picture book based on the Tao Te Ching ponders the eternal question: How can we bring peace to the world? Radiating tenderness and reflecting more...
Amazon Says: This lavish and lyrical picture book based on the Tao Te Ching ponders the eternal question: How can we bring peace to the world? Radiating tenderness and reflecting the influence of eastern philosophies, a compilation of exquisite illustrations and wisely chosen words reveals the heart of where peace truly must originate: within ourselves. The beautifully intricate artwork, with tiny, precisely rendered details of life across the globe, complements the spare and powerful text that includes quotations from famous peacemakers. And with each reading, you’ll find something else to notice—such as the visual storylines that subtly play out across the pages. Poetic and soothing, Peace is a masterful exploration of the true path to world peace and serves as a perfect springboard to discussions about bullying, conflict resolution, and right actions. less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Nonfiction
Amazon Says: Inspire a child to start sewing with this how-to book We Love To Sew by Annabel Wrigley of the popular Little Pincushion Studio. Featuring a collection of 28 imaginative proje more...
Amazon Says: Inspire a child to start sewing with this how-to book We Love To Sew by Annabel Wrigley of the popular Little Pincushion Studio. Featuring a collection of 28 imaginative projects specifically designed for girls 8 & up, your aspiring seamstress will quickly learn a variety of sewing skills and exude a fantastic “do-it-yourself” confidence. Each project showcases a fresh, modern style and is fully explained with step-by-step instructions, engaging photographs, and helpful tips. From simple rings and barrettes to more challenging bags and softies, these brilliant projects are the perfect way to introduce the wonderful world of sewing!• A learn-to-sew book created especially for girls like you• You can make awesome things to use, wear, and give like pom-pom earrings, bags, t-shirts, softies, and much more• 30 projects to make yourself or with your friends less...
Amazon

123 Zoo by Puck
Leah B. Says: Board Book
Amazon Says: From counting penguins and lions to giraffes and bears, this board book introduces toddlers to the familiar sights of a zoo while making basic numbers fun to learn. Parents an more...
Amazon Says: From counting penguins and lions to giraffes and bears, this board book introduces toddlers to the familiar sights of a zoo while making basic numbers fun to learn. Parents and children can count to 10 using iconic zoo animals depicted with vivid colors and a bold design. Perfectly sized for small hands, this durable board book also includes a “Let’s Talk” section with conversation starters to help parents begin a fun discussion with their kids. less...
Amazon

Doll Bones by Holly Black
Leah B. Says: Novel
Amazon Says: Discover the Newbery Honor winner Doll Bones, from Holly Black, the cocreator of the Spiderwick Chronicles. A Kirkus Reviews Best Book. A School Library Journal Best Book. A B more...
Amazon Says: Discover the Newbery Honor winner Doll Bones, from Holly Black, the cocreator of the Spiderwick Chronicles. A Kirkus Reviews Best Book. A School Library Journal Best Book. A Booklist Editor’s Choice Books for Youth. A Publishers Weekly Best Children’s Book. A NYPL “100 Titles for Reading and Sharing.” A 2013 Goodreads Choice award nominee. A People Magazine “Best New Kids Book.” Six starred reviews! Winner of a 2014 Newbery Honor Medal. Zach, Poppy, and Alice have been friends forever. And for almost as long, they’ve been playing one continuous, ever-changing game of pirates and thieves, mermaids and warriors. Ruling over all is the Great Queen, a bone-china doll cursing those who displease her. But they are in middle school now. Zach’s father pushes him to give up make-believe, and Zach quits the game. Their friendship might be over, until Poppy declares she’s been having dreams about the Queen—and the ghost of a girl who will not rest until the bone-china doll is buried in her empty grave. Zach and Alice and Poppy set off on one last adventure to lay the Queen’s ghost to rest. But nothing goes according to plan, and as their adventure turns into an epic journey, creepy things begin to happen. Is the doll just a doll or something more sinister? And if there really is a ghost, will it let them go now that it has them in its clutches? Doll Bones is a winner of the Newbery Honor, is the recipient of six starred reviews, was on four Best Book lists, and was called "perfect" by The New York Times. less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: Ernest's crocodile does not bite! It's very well trained. But when Ernest brings the crocodile to the school's pet show, his rival Cindy Lou gets very rude. Cindy Lou is sur more...
Amazon Says: Ernest's crocodile does not bite! It's very well trained. But when Ernest brings the crocodile to the school's pet show, his rival Cindy Lou gets very rude. Cindy Lou is sure her poodle Fifi will win best in show. She doesn't think Ernest's croc should be allowed to compete. But Ernest and his friend have some tricks prepared. They're going to prove that when a crocodile's not busy biting, it can really put on a show! less...
Amazon

The Watermelon Seed by Greg Pizzoli
Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is real more...
Amazon Says: With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? This crocodile has a wild imagination that kids will love. With bold color and beautiful sense of design, Greg Pizzoli's picture book debut takes this familiar childhood worry and gives us a true gem in the vein of I Want My Hat Back and Not a Box. less...
Amazon
Print

Comment about this page...