Skip to content
Amelia Bedelia's First Library Card, by Herman Parish

New Arrivals for Children July 10, 2013

Check out some of the newest additions to Richland Library's children's collection. Drop by any library location for even more options!


Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: Generations of children have fallen in love with Amelia Bedelia, the housekeeper so literal-minded that she puts sponges in her sponge cake and pitches a tent by throwing it i more...
Amazon Says: Generations of children have fallen in love with Amelia Bedelia, the housekeeper so literal-minded that she puts sponges in her sponge cake and pitches a tent by throwing it into the woods. Now fans can find out what Amelia Bedelia was like when she was a little girl just starting school. In the picture book Amelia Bedelia's First Library Card, young Amelia Bedelia and her classmates visit the library. Exploring the shelves of books, volunteering at the front desk, and meeting the librarians is so fun! But Amelia Bedelia’s favorite part is getting her very own library card. Amelia Bedelia’s First Library Card is a love letter to reading, libraries, librarians, and books. Author Herman Parish is a nephew of Peggy Parish, the creator of Amelia Bedelia. less...
Amazon

The Year of the Baby by Andrea Cheng
Leah B. Says: Novel
Amazon Says: Last year, Anna learned how to be a good friend. Now that her family has adopted a baby girl from China, she wants to learn how to be a good sister. But the new year proves ch more...
Amazon Says: Last year, Anna learned how to be a good friend. Now that her family has adopted a baby girl from China, she wants to learn how to be a good sister. But the new year proves challenging when the doctor warns that the baby isn’t thriving. Can Anna and her best friends, Laura and Camille, create a science project that saves the day? In this heartwarming sequel to The Year of the Book, readers will be just as moved by Anna's devotion to her new sister as they will be inspired by her loving family and lasting friendships. less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Nonfiction
Amazon Says: This lavish and lyrical picture book based on the Tao Te Ching ponders the eternal question: How can we bring peace to the world? Radiating tenderness and reflecting more...
Amazon Says: This lavish and lyrical picture book based on the Tao Te Ching ponders the eternal question: How can we bring peace to the world? Radiating tenderness and reflecting the influence of eastern philosophies, a compilation of exquisite illustrations and wisely chosen words reveals the heart of where peace truly must originate: within ourselves. The beautifully intricate artwork, with tiny, precisely rendered details of life across the globe, complements the spare and powerful text that includes quotations from famous peacemakers. And with each reading, you’ll find something else to notice—such as the visual storylines that subtly play out across the pages. Poetic and soothing, Peace is a masterful exploration of the true path to world peace and serves as a perfect springboard to discussions about bullying, conflict resolution, and right actions. less...
Amazon

Steam Train, Dream Train by Sherri Duskey Rinker
Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: Def Leppard's unstoppable, anthemic hard rock has earned it sales of more than 65 million albums worldwide and a legion of dedicated fans. This fully authorized visual history more...
Amazon Says: Def Leppard's unstoppable, anthemic hard rock has earned it sales of more than 65 million albums worldwide and a legion of dedicated fans. This fully authorized visual history of the band follows them from the new wave of British heavy metal to their massive Pyromania and Hysteria albums to the sustained power of their records and tours today. Legendary rock photographer Ross Halfin has been shooting Def Leppard since 1978, and his candid and definitive pictures have helped capture and shape the image of the band. Def Leppard includes more than 450 classic and unseen photographs, along with text from Halfin and stories and commentary by the band members and others. The book's publication coincides with the release of an all-new Def Leppard album in the spring and a worldwide tour in the summer. less...
Amazon

123 Zoo by Puck
Leah B. Says: Board Book
Amazon Says: From counting penguins and lions to giraffes and bears, this board book introduces toddlers to the familiar sights of a zoo while making basic numbers fun to learn. Parents an more...
Amazon Says: From counting penguins and lions to giraffes and bears, this board book introduces toddlers to the familiar sights of a zoo while making basic numbers fun to learn. Parents and children can count to 10 using iconic zoo animals depicted with vivid colors and a bold design. Perfectly sized for small hands, this durable board book also includes a “Let’s Talk” section with conversation starters to help parents begin a fun discussion with their kids. less...
Amazon

In Harm's Way by Andrew Clements
Leah B. Says: Novel
Amazon Says: The threat to the Keepers doubles in the fourth Keepers of the School adventure from Andrew Clements, the master of the school story. Benjamin Pratt and his friends J more...
Amazon Says: The threat to the Keepers doubles in the fourth Keepers of the School adventure from Andrew Clements, the master of the school story. Benjamin Pratt and his friends Jill and Robert are determined to save their school from destruction. But just when it seems they’ve finally gotten the upper hand over that awful Janitor Lyman, they’re caught completely off guard by his next move: Lyman has called in reinforcements, and suddenly Benjamin, Jill, and Robert find themselves dodging not one evil janitor, but two. That’s right: Lyman’s got himself a partner. And it quickly becomes clear that Wally, the new guy, is even more corrupt and menacing than Lyman. Luckily, Ben’s team has been growing too. Plus, thank to the latest safeguard, they also have a secret fund of millions of dollars. But all the money in Massachusetts isn’t enough to stop Lyman and Wally, not when they’ve come this far, and not when they are about to put the most harmful part of their plan into play. Could the next safeguard give the Keepers what they need—or has their battle to save the school already been sunk? less...
Amazon

Doll Bones by Holly Black
Leah B. Says: Novel
Amazon Says: Discover the Newbery Honor winner Doll Bones, from Holly Black, the cocreator of the Spiderwick Chronicles. A Kirkus Reviews Best Book. A School Library Journal Best Book. A B more...
Amazon Says: Discover the Newbery Honor winner Doll Bones, from Holly Black, the cocreator of the Spiderwick Chronicles. A Kirkus Reviews Best Book. A School Library Journal Best Book. A Booklist Editor’s Choice Books for Youth. A Publishers Weekly Best Children’s Book. A NYPL “100 Titles for Reading and Sharing.” A 2013 Goodreads Choice award nominee. A People Magazine “Best New Kids Book.” Six starred reviews! Winner of a 2014 Newbery Honor Medal. Zach, Poppy, and Alice have been friends forever. And for almost as long, they’ve been playing one continuous, ever-changing game of pirates and thieves, mermaids and warriors. Ruling over all is the Great Queen, a bone-china doll cursing those who displease her. But they are in middle school now. Zach’s father pushes him to give up make-believe, and Zach quits the game. Their friendship might be over, until Poppy declares she’s been having dreams about the Queen—and the ghost of a girl who will not rest until the bone-china doll is buried in her empty grave. Zach and Alice and Poppy set off on one last adventure to lay the Queen’s ghost to rest. But nothing goes according to plan, and as their adventure turns into an epic journey, creepy things begin to happen. Is the doll just a doll or something more sinister? And if there really is a ghost, will it let them go now that it has them in its clutches? Doll Bones is a winner of the Newbery Honor, is the recipient of six starred reviews, was on four Best Book lists, and was called "perfect" by The New York Times. less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: Ernest's crocodile does not bite! It's very well trained. But when Ernest brings the crocodile to the school's pet show, his rival Cindy Lou gets very rude. Cindy Lou is sur more...
Amazon Says: Ernest's crocodile does not bite! It's very well trained. But when Ernest brings the crocodile to the school's pet show, his rival Cindy Lou gets very rude. Cindy Lou is sure her poodle Fifi will win best in show. She doesn't think Ernest's croc should be allowed to compete. But Ernest and his friend have some tricks prepared. They're going to prove that when a crocodile's not busy biting, it can really put on a show! less...
Amazon

The Watermelon Seed by Greg Pizzoli
Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is real more...
Amazon Says: With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? This crocodile has a wild imagination that kids will love. With bold color and beautiful sense of design, Greg Pizzoli's picture book debut takes this familiar childhood worry and gives us a true gem in the vein of I Want My Hat Back and Not a Box. less...
Amazon
Print

Comment about this page...