New Arrivals for Children July 16, 2013 | Richland Library Skip to content
The Watermellon Seed, by Greg Pizzoli

New Arrivals for Children July 16, 2013

Check out some of the newest children's titles to hit Richland Library's shelves, below, or drop by any library location for many more great options!


The Watermelon Seed by Greg Pizzoli
Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is real more...
Amazon Says: With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? This crocodile has a wild imagination that kids will love. With bold color and beautiful sense of design, Greg Pizzoli's picture book debut takes this familiar childhood worry and gives us a true gem in the vein of I Want My Hat Back and Not a Box. less...
Amazon

Healthy Kids by Maya Ajmera
Leah B. Says: Nonfiction
Amazon Says: In this new title from The Global Fund for Children, readers learn the different ways kids from around the world can stay healthy. Photographs showcase children from Afghanist more...
Amazon Says: In this new title from The Global Fund for Children, readers learn the different ways kids from around the world can stay healthy. Photographs showcase children from Afghanistan washing their hands, a team of boys from Australia playing sports, a group of girls from Panama wearing their seatbelts. There are many ways kids can practice healthy living, no matter where they live. In a foreword by Melinda French Gates, co-chair and trustee of the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, readers are reminded that not all children are lucky enough to have access to clean water, or to receive vaccines regularly. Back matter includes further information about how to live healthy lives, and how kids can help to improve healthy living around the world so that more kids become healthy kids. With the establishment of programs like First Lady Michelle Obama’s Let’s Move! initiative which emphasizes the significance of focusing on children’s health issues around the world, HEALTHY KIDS is a welcome addition that will help increase awareness of this important issue. less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: “I have lost my new blue socks. Did I put them in my box?” Simple rhymes—including socks, box, fox, and ox!—spin the tale of a small duck who waddles through the count more...
Amazon Says: “I have lost my new blue socks. Did I put them in my box?” Simple rhymes—including socks, box, fox, and ox!—spin the tale of a small duck who waddles through the countryside, forlornly searching for his blue socks. “I’m trying not to be depressed. / Without my socks I feel undressed.” Finally, a sharp-eyed peacock sees a bit of blue peeking out of duck’s lace-up shoes and the mini-mystery is solved! Soft-hued, adorable pen-and-ink and watercolor paintings adorn this winsome story that shares the familiar experience of not really losing something after all. less...
Amazon

Ladybug Girl Plays by Jacky Davis
Leah B. Says: Board Book
Amazon Says: For the youngest Ladybug Girl fans comes a concept board book about all the different kinds of games that kids like to play. With its sturdy format and at 12 pages long, th more...
Amazon Says: For the youngest Ladybug Girl fans comes a concept board book about all the different kinds of games that kids like to play. With its sturdy format and at 12 pages long, this book is perfect for toddlers.   Ladybug Girl and her dog Bingo love to play all different kinds of games, from jump rope, to hide-and-seek, to tea party. When Ladybug Girl uses her imagination, those games become even more fun! less...
Amazon

Mary Wrightly, So Politely by Shirin Yim Bridges
Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: Mary Wrightly is the best-behaved little girl around. She always politely says please and thank you and even “I’m sorry” when something isn’t her fault. But when a sho more...
Amazon Says: Mary Wrightly is the best-behaved little girl around. She always politely says please and thank you and even “I’m sorry” when something isn’t her fault. But when a shopper comes between Mary and the blue elephant toy she wants to buy for her beloved baby brother, will Mary just let the woman walk away with it? Speak up, Mary! Monescillo’s charming illustrations capture the spirit of this gentle look at how asserting oneself is not rude, and even occasionally out-and-out necessary. less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: A 2014 Caldecott Honor Book In this innovative wordless picture book with interactive flaps, Flora and her graceful flamingo friend explore the trials and joys of frie more...
Amazon Says: A 2014 Caldecott Honor Book In this innovative wordless picture book with interactive flaps, Flora and her graceful flamingo friend explore the trials and joys of friendship through an elaborate synchronized dance. With a twist, a turn, and even a flop, these unlikely friends learn at last how to dance together in perfect harmony. Full of humor and heart, this stunning performance (and splashy ending!) will have readers clapping for more! For more feathery fun, pick up Flora and the Penguin, Flora and the Peacocks, Flora and Friends Matching Game or, coming soon, Flora and the Chicks. less...
Amazon

Bats: Biggest! Littlest! by Sandra Markle
Leah B. Says: Nonfiction
Amazon Says: Why is the world of bats so varied? The littlest bat is as light as a penny. The biggest bat can have a wingspan as long as a bathtub. Some bats have little flaps on their nos more...
Amazon Says: Why is the world of bats so varied? The littlest bat is as light as a penny. The biggest bat can have a wingspan as long as a bathtub. Some bats have little flaps on their noses. Others have huge ears. The unique traits of each species help it survive in its special place in nature . . . but how? Using eye-popping photographs of strange bats from around the world, Bats: Biggest! Littlest! feeds young readers’ curiosity and is certain to prompt stimulating discussions for days. less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Novel
Amazon Says: Zombies take Manhattan in Empire State of Slime, book four of John Kloepfer's hilarious and stomach-churning Zombie Chasers tween series, with illustrations by David DeGrand. more...
Amazon Says: Zombies take Manhattan in Empire State of Slime, book four of John Kloepfer's hilarious and stomach-churning Zombie Chasers tween series, with illustrations by David DeGrand. Perfect for fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid and The Strange Case of Origami Yoda, The Zombie Chasers #4: Empire State of Slime is overflowing with uproarious middle school humor, dead-on illustrations, and high-action adventure that will leave readers moaning for the next installment of this sidesplitting series.Six months after Zack Clarke, his sister, Zoe, and pals Rice, Ozzie, and Madison saved the country from brain-gobbling ghouls, life is finally heading back to normal. But while the kids are busy exploring the Big Apple's sites on a class trip to New York City, things go from sublime to slime when millions of people suddenly rezombify!The Zombie Chasers are back on undead duty, but can they escape the crowded city streets and find a new cure, or is Z-Day here to stay? less...
Amazon
Print