Skip to content
Goatilocks and the Three Bears, by Erica S. Perl

New Arrivals for Children July 29, 2014

Check out these (and more) new arrivals at Richland Library!


Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: Goatilocks gobbles more than porridge in this fractured fairy tale that puts a hilarious twist on a favorite story. Once upon a time, there was a kid named Goatilocks. She li more...
Amazon Says: Goatilocks gobbles more than porridge in this fractured fairy tale that puts a hilarious twist on a favorite story. Once upon a time, there was a kid named Goatilocks. She lived down the road from a family of bears... Goatilocks can’t resist sampling first Papa Bear’s porridge, then Mama Bear’s porridge, then Baby Bear’s porridge—and his bowl and spoon, too. And it turns out Goatilocks has a taste for chairs and beds as well. Has Goatilocks devoured her way to disaster? What will happen when the Bear family returns home from their walk? This playful adaptation of a favorite fairy tale is full of tummy-rumbling fun. less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Nonfiction
Amazon Says: Dive into the deep blue sea and enter the world of Amazing Giant Sea Creatures. Swim alongside a sperm whale, leap up with a bottlenose dolphin, and escape from a great white more...
Amazon Says: Dive into the deep blue sea and enter the world of Amazing Giant Sea Creatures. Swim alongside a sperm whale, leap up with a bottlenose dolphin, and escape from a great white shark in this interactive book for kids. Life-like illustrations of coral reefs, walruses, jellyfish, and more combine narrative text with charts and tables about what animals eat, how they hide, who their neighbors are and other interesting facts. With close-up photography, fact files, maps, and lift-up flaps and slide-out pages, Amazing Giant Sea Creatures is a first introduction to the wonders of the deep. Supports the Common Core State Standards. less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Beginning Reader
Amazon Says: Charlie is the lovable basset hound of the Pioneer Woman, Ree Drummond, and the star of the #1 New York Times bestselling picture book Charlie the Ranch Dog. Now our favorite more...
Amazon Says: Charlie is the lovable basset hound of the Pioneer Woman, Ree Drummond, and the star of the #1 New York Times bestselling picture book Charlie the Ranch Dog. Now our favorite bacon-loving dog is back in this new I Can Read story! Mama knows something's wrong with Charlie the Ranch Dog when he's not even hungry for bacon! So they're off to see Dr. Jan. Even though Charlie is nervous about his visit to the doctor, he's not half as scared as Hickory, the puppy he befriends in the waiting room. As the older hound, can Charlie put on a brave face for Hickory?With his usual hilarious antics, Charlie overcomes his fears about the doctor . . . as will the kids who read this book! This Level 1 I Can Read is perfect for children learning to sound out words and sentences. less...
Amazon

The Spy Catchers of Maple Hill by Megan Frazer Blakemore
Leah B. Says: Novel
Amazon Says: Hazel Kaplansky is a firm believer in the pursuit of knowledge and truth—and she also happens to love a good mystery. When suspicions swirl that a Russian spy has infiltrate more...
Amazon Says: Hazel Kaplansky is a firm believer in the pursuit of knowledge and truth—and she also happens to love a good mystery. When suspicions swirl that a Russian spy has infiltrated her small town of Maple Hill, Vermont, amidst the fervor of Cold War era McCarthyism, Hazel knows it’s up to her to find a suspect… starting with Mr. Jones, the quietly suspicious grave digger. Plus she’s found a perfect sleuthing partner in Samuel Butler, the new boy in school with a few secrets of his own. But as Hazel and Samuel piece together clues from the past and present, the truth is suddenly not what they expected, and what they find reveals more about themselves and the people of their cozy little town than they could ever have imagined. less...
Amazon

Squish #6: Fear the Amoeba by Jennifer L. Holm
Leah B. Says: Graphic Novel
Amazon Says: He’s ba-ack! From the award-winning creators of Babymouse, it’s the most spine-tingling* Squish yet!   Gulp! A SCARY new movie has everyone talking—and Squish more...
Amazon Says: He’s ba-ack! From the award-winning creators of Babymouse, it’s the most spine-tingling* Squish yet!   Gulp! A SCARY new movie has everyone talking—and Squish is SPOOKED out of his cellular mind! But it’s just a movie, right? Right?! Will Squish be eaten alive by a TERRIFYING movie monster? Will his friends think he’s (gasp!) totally chicken? And can Squish’s comic book hero, Super Amoeba, defeat his CREEPIEST foe yet? Find out the answers to these questions and more in the 6th Squish graphic novel: Fear the Amoeba—saving the world, one cell at a time! BONUS: Look in the back to find out how to draw one of the Squish characters and to get instructions for a SENSATIONAL science experiment you can do at home! SHAZAM! *Amoebas do not actually have spines.   Filled with superheroes, comics within comics, and gross-out science, Squish is perfect for fans of Captain Underpants, My Weird School, and Lunch Lady. From the Trade Paperback edition. less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: It’s graduation day and Ms. Appleby asks her students,  “What is the best thing about Kindergarten?” They all have an answer—and every answer is different. But Ms. Ap more...
Amazon Says: It’s graduation day and Ms. Appleby asks her students,  “What is the best thing about Kindergarten?” They all have an answer—and every answer is different. But Ms. Appleby has a secret answer that will surprise them all! less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Novel
Amazon Says: Percy Jackson meets Indiana Jones in the New York Times bestselling epic adventure Seven Wonders!The Tomb of Shadows is the third book in a seven-book series by master storyte more...
Amazon Says: Percy Jackson meets Indiana Jones in the New York Times bestselling epic adventure Seven Wonders!The Tomb of Shadows is the third book in a seven-book series by master storyteller Peter Lerangis. This sequel to the bestselling Lost in Babylon and The Colossus Rises chronicles the adventures of Jack McKinley and his friends in a life-or-death race to the Mausoleum at Halicarnassus. In the rubble of this Wonder of the Ancient World, they have to face down their own demons and engage in an epic battle with foes long gone. But when promises are broken, blood is spilled—and the Select are left with no choice but to destroy the one thing that might have saved them all.Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson series, praised Seven Wonders Book 1: The Colossus Rises as "a high-octane mix of modern adventure and ancient secrets. Young readers will love this story. I can't wait to see what's next in the Seven Wonders series!" less...
Amazon
Print

Comment about this page...