New Arrivals for Children June 11, 2013 | Richland Library Skip to content
P.S. Be Eleven, by Rita Williams-Garcia

New Arrivals for Children June 11, 2013

Summer reading doesn't have to be all about lists.

Check out some of Richland Library's newest arrivals for children, below, and find your next favorite book!

If you don't see it here, drop by any Richland Library location for more options and some great reading suggestions.


P.S. Be Eleven by Rita Williams-Garcia
Leah B. Says: Novel
Amazon Says: In this Coretta Scott King Award-winning novel and sequel to the New York Times bestseller and Newbery Honor Book One Crazy Summer, the Gaither sisters return to Brooklyn and more...
Amazon Says: In this Coretta Scott King Award-winning novel and sequel to the New York Times bestseller and Newbery Honor Book One Crazy Summer, the Gaither sisters return to Brooklyn and find that changes large and small have come to their home. This extraordinary novel earned five starred reviews, with Publishers Weekly calling it "historical fiction that's as full of heart as it is of heartbreak" and The Horn Book considering it "funny, wise, poignant, and thought-provoking."After spending the summer in Oakland, California, with their mother and the Black Panthers, Delphine, Vonetta, and Fern arrive home with a newfound streak of independence. The sisters aren't the only ones who have changed. Now Pa has a girlfriend. Uncle Darnell returns from Vietnam a different man. But Big Ma still expects Delphine to keep her sisters in line. That's much harder now that Vonetta and Fern refuse to be bossed around. Besides her sisters, Delphine's got plenty of other things to worry about—like starting sixth grade, being the tallest girl in her class, and dreading the upcoming school dance. The one person she confides in is her mother, Cecile. Through letters, Delphine pours her heart out and receives some constant advice: to be eleven while she can.This extraordinary novel will find a home in the hearts of readers who loved Brown Girl Dreaming and As Brave as You. Supports the Common Core State Standards less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Beginning Reader
Amazon Says: Gerald is careful. Piggie is not. Piggie cannot help smiling. Gerald can. Gerald worries so that Piggie does not have to. Gerald and Piggie are best friends. In A Big Guy To more...
Amazon Says: Gerald is careful. Piggie is not. Piggie cannot help smiling. Gerald can. Gerald worries so that Piggie does not have to. Gerald and Piggie are best friends. In A Big Guy Took My Ball! Piggie is devastated when a big guy takes her ball! Gerald is big, too...but is he big enough to help his best friend? less...
Amazon

Again! by Emily Gravett
Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: A little dragon and his favorite book make for a combustible combination in this clever picture book with a surprise ending. It’s nearly Cedric the dragon’s bedtim more...
Amazon Says: A little dragon and his favorite book make for a combustible combination in this clever picture book with a surprise ending. It’s nearly Cedric the dragon’s bedtime, and for Cedric, bedtime means storytime! When his mother reads him his favorite book, he likes the story so much that he wants to hear it again…and again…and again! Cedric’s mom understands that the best stories are ripe for repetition, and she tries very hard to be patient. But sometimes dragons will be dragons—which is why this bedtime tale ends with an incendiary surprise! less...
Amazon

Spot's Opposites by Eric Hill
Leah B. Says: Board Book
Amazon Says: In this humorous board book, each colorful scene shows a different pair of opposites from Spot's world. From hot to cold and up to down, opposites are presented in a simple wa more...
Amazon Says: In this humorous board book, each colorful scene shows a different pair of opposites from Spot's world. From hot to cold and up to down, opposites are presented in a simple way that will help children learn and understand the important concept. less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: “A wonderfully fresh look at a timeless topic,” raves Booklist in a starred review. From the first orange glow on the water in the pond, to the last humans and animals run more...
Amazon Says: “A wonderfully fresh look at a timeless topic,” raves Booklist in a starred review. From the first orange glow on the water in the pond, to the last humans and animals running home from an evening rain shower, here is a day-in-the-life of a city park, and the playground within it. A rhythmic text and sweet, accessible images will immerse parents, toddlers, and young children in the summer season and the community within a park. Seasoned picture book readers may notice Emily Jenkins's classic inspirations for this book: Alvin Tresselt's Caldecott Medal-winning White Snow, Bright Snow, illustrated by Roger Duvoisin, and Charlotte Zolotow's The Park Book, illustrated by H. A. Rey. less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Beginning Reader
Amazon Says: Pete the Cat has a mitt, a ball, and a bat. He's ready to play baseball! Pete's team, the Rocks, is playing the Rolls. But when things don't go Pete's way, will he get upset? more...
Amazon Says: Pete the Cat has a mitt, a ball, and a bat. He's ready to play baseball! Pete's team, the Rocks, is playing the Rolls. But when things don't go Pete's way, will he get upset? Cheer on Pete as he tries his best and brings his signature groovy attitude to the game of baseball. less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Nonfiction
Amazon Says: Q: What sound to porcupines make when they kiss? A: Ouch! Q: What do you get from a cow after an earthquake? A: A milkshake! Q: Why did the golfer wear two pairs of pants? A more...
Amazon Says: Q: What sound to porcupines make when they kiss? A: Ouch! Q: What do you get from a cow after an earthquake? A: A milkshake! Q: Why did the golfer wear two pairs of pants? A: In case he got a hole in one. Packed with even more of the silly jokes that kids love, including knock-knocks, tongue twisters, riddles, traditional question and answer jokes, and more, Just Joking 3 will be presented in National Geographic Kids' colorful, photo-driven style. Laughing animals, funny people, and other colorful photos are paired with each joke, adding an extra laugh on each page. National Geographic Kids' signature square trim size and candy-colored palette make this fun-filled book perfect for tossing into a backpack to share with friends at school or camp. less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Graphic Novel
Amazon Says: When Barry the bird and his goofy pal Polarhog start off, there’s a new adventure around every bend. But when they turn the final corner, the surprise Polarhog has prepared more...
Amazon Says: When Barry the bird and his goofy pal Polarhog start off, there’s a new adventure around every bend. But when they turn the final corner, the surprise Polarhog has prepared brings a tear to Barry’s eye–and yours. less...
Amazon
Print