Skip to content
Camp Rex, by Molly Idle.

New Arrivals for Children June 3, 2014

Check out some of what's new for children at Richland Library by looking below, or drop by any Richland Library location for more great options. Don't forget to sign up for the Friends' Summer Learning Challenge while you're there!


The Forbidden Library by Django Wexler
Leah B. Says: Novel
Amazon Says: The Forbidden Library kicks off a brand new classic fantasy series perfect for fans of Coraline, Inkheart, and The Books of Elsewhere Alice always thought fairy tales more...
Amazon Says: The Forbidden Library kicks off a brand new classic fantasy series perfect for fans of Coraline, Inkheart, and The Books of Elsewhere Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That--along with everything else--changed the day she met her first fairy When Alice's father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon--an uncle she's never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it's hard to resist. Especially if you're a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned within. It seems her uncle is more than he says he is. But then so is Alice. less...
Amazon

Little Lola by Julie Saab
Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: Hello, Little Lola! Lola is curious about everything . . . especially school. What is school like? Find out when Lola the cat heads to school herself and gets a paw (or two) i more...
Amazon Says: Hello, Little Lola! Lola is curious about everything . . . especially school. What is school like? Find out when Lola the cat heads to school herself and gets a paw (or two) into just about everything. Lively, funny, irresistible, and mischievous, Lola will appeal to fans of Olivia and Peppa Pig.When an apple hits Lola the cat on the head and wakes her up, she knows it is going to be that kind of day. So when she sees something curious, she decides to follow it . . . right onto a school bus (fun!) and right into school. The kids have never seen a cat at school before, but this classroom is open to everyone and everything, and soon Lola is having the time of her life. This lively introduction to Little Lola the curious cat is a winning choice for back-to-school, as well as for sharing aloud all year long. less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Graphic Novel
Amazon Says: The Glorkian Warrior isn't the brightest bulb in the box, so it's good he's got his trusty talking backpack to advise him as they set out on a perilous journey to deliver a pi more...
Amazon Says: The Glorkian Warrior isn't the brightest bulb in the box, so it's good he's got his trusty talking backpack to advise him as they set out on a perilous journey to deliver a pizza. The pizza's got clams and peanut butter on it, so it's not clear who's going to want it, but deliver it they will. With bright, lively illustrations and classic pratfalls, this graphic novel for kids is 112 pages of super icky gross-out humor and ludicrously bad decisions— in other words, The Glorkian Warrior Delivers a Pizza is a winner. less...
Amazon

Who? by Leo Lionni
Leah B. Says: Board Book
Amazon Says: From squirrels to turtles to prickly porcupines, Leo Lionni's signature illustration style and a toddler-friendly text ask a simple question: Who is the animal on each page? O more...
Amazon Says: From squirrels to turtles to prickly porcupines, Leo Lionni's signature illustration style and a toddler-friendly text ask a simple question: Who is the animal on each page? One of four board books that celebrates the art and imagination of Leo Lionni, this book is a perfect introduction to identifying animals for busy toddlers, as well as a wonderful stepping stone into the world of one of our best-loved children's book creators. less...
Amazon

Camp Rex by Molly Idle
Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: What could be more fun than a camping trip with a good friend? When that friend is T. Rex! It’s important to set a few wilderness safety guidelines first. . . like more...
Amazon Says: What could be more fun than a camping trip with a good friend? When that friend is T. Rex! It’s important to set a few wilderness safety guidelines first. . . like making sure he stays on the trail. And does not disturb the local wildlife. And knows how to build a safe campfire. But sometimes dinosaurs have a different way of doing things, and that’s why it’s best to be prepared . . . for anything! Following in the extremely large and funny footsteps of Tea Rex, Camp Rex is for anyone who loves to roast a marshmallow or two around the campfire . . . or the whole bag at once!  less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Nonfiction
Amazon Says: Foreword authors: John Knoll, Visual Effects Supervisor at Lucasfilm's Industrial Light & Magic. For any fan who wants to explore the inner workings of the spaceships and vehi more...
Amazon Says: Foreword authors: John Knoll, Visual Effects Supervisor at Lucasfilm's Industrial Light & Magic. For any fan who wants to explore the inner workings of the spaceships and vehicles of all six Star Wars™ movies comes this fascinating expanded edition of a fan favorite, now with new cross-section artworks and a wealth of new photos. Star Wars®: Complete Cross-Sections is packed with visual explorations of more than fifty essential Star Wars spacecraft and landcraft, including the TIE bomber, Imperial shuttle, A-wing, B-wing, and more. Full-color cross-section artwork presents in-depth examinations of each craft's weapon systems, engines, hyperdrives, cockpits, and construction secrets, providing a never-before-seen glimpse at the vehicles that drive the Star Wars universe. Star Wars®: Complete Cross-Sections now features new and never-before-seen cross-sections! less...
Amazon

Ice Whale by Jean Craighead George
Leah B. Says: Novel
Amazon Says: From the most celebrated children’s nature writer of our time comes a posthumous new novel in the tradition of her Newbery award-winning Julie of the Wolves In 1848 more...
Amazon Says: From the most celebrated children’s nature writer of our time comes a posthumous new novel in the tradition of her Newbery award-winning Julie of the Wolves In 1848 in Barrow, Alaska, a young Eskimo boy witnesses a rare sight—the birth of a bowhead, or ice whale, that he calls Siku. But when he unwittingly guides Yankee whalers to a pod of bowhead whales, all the whales are killed. For this act, the boy receives a curse of banishment. Through the generations, this curse is handed down. Siku, the ice whale, returns year after year, in reality and dreams, to haunt each descendant. The curse is finally broken when a daughter recognizes and saves the whale, and he in turn saves her. Told in alternating voices, both human and whale, Jean Craighead George’s last novel is an ambitious and touching take on the interconnectedness of humans, animals, and the earth they depend on. less...
Amazon

Extreme Survivors: by Connie Roop
Leah B. Says: Beginning Reader
Amazon Says: From boiling heat to bone-chilling cold, from the driest deserts to the darkest caves, from the tallest mountains to the deepest seas: these animals survive in the most extrem more...
Amazon Says: From boiling heat to bone-chilling cold, from the driest deserts to the darkest caves, from the tallest mountains to the deepest seas: these animals survive in the most extreme environments imaginable. Meet these incredible creatures, including polar bears and penguins that endure freezing temperatures, brine shrimp that swim in salty waters, birds that fly higher than airplanes, and even the ancient microscopic “water bear,” an “extremophile” that could stay alive in outer space!    less...
Amazon

Leah B. Says: Novel
Amazon Says: The dragonets struggle to fulfill the prophecy and -- somehow -- end the war in this thrilling new installment of the bestselling WINGS OF FIRE series! It all comes down to t more...
Amazon Says: The dragonets struggle to fulfill the prophecy and -- somehow -- end the war in this thrilling new installment of the bestselling WINGS OF FIRE series! It all comes down to this: The Dragonets of Destiny must finally bring the epic war to an end, reconcile the seven tribes, and choose the next queen of Pyrrhia... and make it out alive. less...
Amazon
Print

Comment about this page...