Skip to content
Who Says Women Can't Be Doctors? by Tanya Lee Stone

New Arrivals for Children March 12, 2013

Check out this week's featured new arrivals, below. Whether you're interested in a grand adventure or an informative read, there is something new in Richland Library's collection for you!


Leah B. Says: Biography
Amazon Says: In the 1830s, when a brave and curious girl named Elizabeth Blackwell was growing up, women were supposed to be wives and mothers. Some women could be teachers or seamstresses more...
Amazon Says: In the 1830s, when a brave and curious girl named Elizabeth Blackwell was growing up, women were supposed to be wives and mothers. Some women could be teachers or seamstresses, but career options were few. Certainly no women were doctors. But Elizabeth refused to accept the common beliefs that women weren’t smart enough to be doctors, or that they were too weak for such hard work. And she would not take no for an answer. Although she faced much opposition, she worked hard and finally—when she graduated from medical school and went on to have a brilliant career—proved her detractors wrong. This inspiring story of the first female doctor shows how one strong-willed woman opened the doors for all the female doctors to come. An NPR Best Book of 2013 less...
Amazon


Penny and Her Marble by Kevin Henkes
Leah B. Says: Beginning Reader
Amazon Says: In the third easy-to-read book about Penny the mouse, written by Caldecott Medalist and bestselling author Kevin Henkes, Penny finds a beautiful marble on her neighbor's lawn more...
Amazon Says: In the third easy-to-read book about Penny the mouse, written by Caldecott Medalist and bestselling author Kevin Henkes, Penny finds a beautiful marble on her neighbor's lawn and must decide whether or not to keep it. With age-appropriate vocabulary, compelling characters, and a memorable storyline, Penny and her Marble is just right for beginning readers and was named a 2014 Geisel Honor book by the American Library Association. This annual award, given to the most distinguished books for beginning readers, is named for the world-renowned children's author Theodor Geisel, also known as Dr. Seuss. Kevin Henkes is known for his mouse characters, including Lilly, Owen, Chrysanthemum, Wemberly, and now Penny! In Penny and her Marble, the third book in the Penny series, Penny finds a marble on Mrs. Goodwin's yard and takes it home. But does the marble really belong to Penny? Kevin Henkes is a master at creating beautifully illustrated books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge. less...
Amazon


Leah B. Says: Novel
Amazon Says: The thrilling conclusion to the NEW YORK TIMES bestselling Quest for the Spark trilogy! The Nacht is growing stronger, and it's a race against time for Tom Elm and friends to more...
Amazon Says: The thrilling conclusion to the NEW YORK TIMES bestselling Quest for the Spark trilogy! The Nacht is growing stronger, and it's a race against time for Tom Elm and friends to find the final piece of the Spark before the entire Valley--and possibly the world--are plunged into eternal darkness. In this installment, the Queen of the Sky is brought down in the Pawa Mountains and our intrepid band of heroes is separated. What secrets can be found deep inside the mountains' caverns? Will the great mountain cat, Roque Ja, be ally or enemy? And will one of their very own betray them to evil? less...
Amazon


The Bully Book: A Novel by Eric Kahn Gale
Leah B. Says: Novel
Amazon Says: What is The Bully Book? Part mystery, part tragedy, part comedy. Originally self-published as an ebook by a member of Team Starkid, The Bully Book is now available in hardcove more...
Amazon Says: What is The Bully Book? Part mystery, part tragedy, part comedy. Originally self-published as an ebook by a member of Team Starkid, The Bully Book is now available in hardcover, paperback, and ebook editions. The paperback includes a Q&A with the author.Eric Haskins, the new sixth-grade bully target, is searching for answers. And unlike many of us who experienced something awful growing up, he finds them. Though they may not be what he expected.When the author was eleven, he was bullied. This book is loosely based on incidents that happened to him in sixth grade.The Bully Book is a Top Ten Indie Next List pick of 2013, and Publishers Weekly called The Bully Book a "gripping debut novel." less...
Amazon


Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: Magnificently capturing the colorful world of Islam for the youngest readers, this breathtaking and informative picture book celebrates Islam's beauty and traditions. From a r more...
Amazon Says: Magnificently capturing the colorful world of Islam for the youngest readers, this breathtaking and informative picture book celebrates Islam's beauty and traditions. From a red prayer rug to a blue hijab, everyday colors are given special meaning as young readers learn about clothing, food, and other important elements of Islamic culture, with a young Muslim girl as a guide. Sure to inspire questions and observations about world religions and cultures, Golden Domes and Silver Lanterns is equally at home in a classroom reading circle as it is being read to a child on a parent's lap. less...
Amazon


My First Day by Steve Jenkins
Leah B. Says: Nonfiction
Amazon Says: The first day of life is different for every animal. Human newborns don’t do much at all, but some animals hit the ground running. The Caldecott Honor–winning team Steve J more...
Amazon Says: The first day of life is different for every animal. Human newborns don’t do much at all, but some animals hit the ground running. The Caldecott Honor–winning team Steve Jenkins and Robin Page apply their considerable talents to revealing how twenty two different species, from the emperor penguin to the Siberian tiger, adapt to that traumatic first few hours of life, with or without parental help. Jenkins’s vividly colorful cut-paper illustrations are eye-poppingly three-dimensional and as exquisite as ever. While the text is short and sweet, an illustrated guide provides descriptions of the twenty two animals in the back. Fantastic! less...
Amazon


Leah B. Says: Graphic Novel
Amazon Says: Are we there yet? There’s so much to see at the bottom of the world! Join a young explorer and his best friend, Mouse, on a sea journey to Antarctica, where they mak more...
Amazon Says: Are we there yet? There’s so much to see at the bottom of the world! Join a young explorer and his best friend, Mouse, on a sea journey to Antarctica, where they make new friends with penguins and a whale — and have all kinds of fun. Young readers won’t stop grinning as they’re swept away by the strange and magical world created by Frank Viva, the bestselling author of Along a Long Road, and they’ll want to start the book again as soon as they reach the end! less...
Amazon


Hop, Hop, Jump! by Lauren Thompson
Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: Get moving and have some fun with this invigorating picture book romp from bestselling author Lauren Thompson. Bestselling Little Quack author Lauren Thompson and acc more...
Amazon Says: Get moving and have some fun with this invigorating picture book romp from bestselling author Lauren Thompson. Bestselling Little Quack author Lauren Thompson and acclaimed illustrator Jarrett Krosoczka have teamed up to show just how much fun moving around can be. Wiggling, waggling, stomping, and clomping—there are so many different ways to do it! Go ahead—try them all.      Each page has a big, bold toddler face, minimal rhyming text, and a corresponding label for the body part that’s moving, making this bright, rhythmic book perfect for the youngest movers and shakers. less...
Amazon


Leah B. Says: Board Book
Amazon Says: Rookie Toddler board books are bursting with the enthusiasm of a toddler exploring the world for the first time. Engaging text and adorable artwork and photos introduce toddle more...
Amazon Says: Rookie Toddler board books are bursting with the enthusiasm of a toddler exploring the world for the first time. Engaging text and adorable artwork and photos introduce toddlers to familiar first experiences in these playful die-cut board books. Key Features: Die-cut tabs make the books easy for toddlers to hold and turn pages Simple engaging text to read aloud to toddlers Big bold artwork, photos, or photo illustrations make each book visually appealing Nonfiction titles — all based on a curriculum developed by early childhood experts less...
Amazon


Leah B. Says: Nonfiction
Amazon Says: As the first President of the United States of America and the Commander in Chief who led a rebel army to victory in the Revolutionary War, George Washington was a legendary l more...
Amazon Says: As the first President of the United States of America and the Commander in Chief who led a rebel army to victory in the Revolutionary War, George Washington was a legendary leader of men. He had high expectations of his soldiers, employees, and associates. At his Virginia plantation, Mount Vernon, his expectations of his workers were no different: “I expect such labor as they ought to render,” he wrote. Except there was a big difference. The workers who kept Mount Vernon operating were enslaved. And although Washington called them “my people,” by law they were his property. The Founders birthed a document celebrating “Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness” as unalienable rights at the same time people were being bought and sold. But the people of Mount Vernon were so much more, and they each have compelling stories to tell. In the pages of Master George’s People, Marfé Ferguson Delano gives us fascinating portraits of cooks, overseers, valets, farm hands, and more—essential people nearly lost in the shadows of the past—interwoven with an extraordinary examination of the conscience of the Father of Our Country. less...
Amazon


Leah B. Says: Novel
Amazon Says: Barnaby Brocket is an ordinary 8-year-old boy in most ways, but he was born different in one important way: he floats. Unlike everyone else, Barnaby does not obey the law of g more...
Amazon Says: Barnaby Brocket is an ordinary 8-year-old boy in most ways, but he was born different in one important way: he floats. Unlike everyone else, Barnaby does not obey the law of gravity. His parents, who have a horror of being noticed, want desperately for Barnaby to be normal, but he can't help who he is. And when the unthinkable happens, Barnaby finds himself on a journey that takes him all over the world. From Brazil to New York, Canada to Ireland, and even to space, the floating boy meets all sorts of different people—and discovers who he really is along the way. This whimsical novel will delight middle graders, and make readers of all ages question the meaning of normal.  less...
Amazon


Emeraldalicious by Victoria Kann
Leah B. Says: Picture Book
Amazon Says: When Pinkalicious and Peter decide to visit their favorite park, they find that it's no longer their favorite place—the park is now filled with stinky trash! Pinkalicious ha more...
Amazon Says: When Pinkalicious and Peter decide to visit their favorite park, they find that it's no longer their favorite place—the park is now filled with stinky trash! Pinkalicious has an idea and makes an extra-special wand out of a stick and some flowers. Now whenever Pinkalicious makes a wish, adds a little love, and recites a pinkatastic rhyme, something amazing happens: Everything turns greenerrific!Join Pinkalicious as she turns an ordinary place into an Emeraldalicious world! Kids will love this colorful picture book with a message about doing our part to keep our world clean and beautiful.Supports the Common Core Learning Standards less...
Amazon

Print

Comment about this page...