Skip to content

Winter Reads for Teens!

It doesn’t have to be snowing or super cold outside to enjoy fantastic Winter Reads. Our teen collection features great winter and holiday titles that are both frightful and delightful. Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater is a fabulous book. The title alone makes me want to grab a warm blanket. You might also enjoy Phantoms in the Snow by Kathleen Benner Duble.

Whether you enjoy fantasy, dystopian thrillers, or humorous fiction Teen Central at Richland Library has the book for you. Tis the Season for cozying up with a good book!


December by Gabrielle Lord
Amazon Says: On New Year's Eve, Cal is chased down the street by a staggering, sick man with a deadly warning..."They killed your father. They'll kill you. You must survive the next 365 da more...
Amazon Says: On New Year's Eve, Cal is chased down the street by a staggering, sick man with a deadly warning..."They killed your father. They'll kill you. You must survive the next 365 days. Hurled into a life on the run the 15-year-old fugitive is isolated and alone. less...
Amazon

Me, Myself and Ike by K. L. Denman
Amazon Says: After watching a tv program about Otzi, a 5,000-year-old ìIce Manî, Kit's friend Ike becomes convinced that Kit's destiny is to become the next ice man--a source of informat more...
Amazon Says: After watching a tv program about Otzi, a 5,000-year-old ìIce Manî, Kit's friend Ike becomes convinced that Kit's destiny is to become the next ice man--a source of information for future generations. Together they obtain artifacts they think will accurately reflect life in the early twenty-first century and plan their journey to a nearby mountain. Kit gets tattoos similar to Otzi's, writes a manifesto and tries to come to terms with making the ultimate sacrifice. As he grows more and more agitated and isolated, his family and friends suspect that something is terribly wrong, but before they can discover the true severity of the situation, Kit and Ike set off on what could be their last journey. less...
Amazon

Phantoms In The Snow by Kathleen Benner Duble
Amazon Says: In this gripping journey, a fifteen-year-old pacifist must decide what he believes as he faces the reality of World War II. The year is 1944, and fifteen-year-old Noah Garret more...
Amazon Says: In this gripping journey, a fifteen-year-old pacifist must decide what he believes as he faces the reality of World War II. The year is 1944, and fifteen-year-old Noah Garrett's parents have died from smallpox. Without any other family nearby, Noah is sent to live with his uncle, whom he has never met, in Camp Hale, Colorado. There is one small problem with this decision: Noah has been raised a pacifist, and Camp Hale is a U.S. military base for a little-known division of winter warfare soldiers called Phantoms. Can a boy who's never seen snow and doesn't believe in war survive among these soldiers? Noah's struggle to resolve his upbringing with the horrors of World War II into a way of life he can believe in takes him on an incredible and riveting journey from the training camp to the frontlines of battle. Based on historical events, the story of Noah and the Phantoms of the Tenth Mountain Division is one of courage and conviction, brotherhood, and the joy in living. less...
Amazon

Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow by Jessica Day George
Amazon Says: A spirited retelling, perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Donna Jo Napoli. When a great white bear promises untold riches to her family, the Lass agrees to go away with him. more...
Amazon Says: A spirited retelling, perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Donna Jo Napoli. When a great white bear promises untold riches to her family, the Lass agrees to go away with him. But the bear is not what he seems, nor is his castle. To unravel the mystery, the Lass sets out on a windswept journey beyond the edge of the world. Based on the Nordic legend East of the Sun, West of the Moon, with romantic echoes of Beauty and the Beast, this re-imagined story will leave fans of fantasy and fairy tale enchanted by Jessica Day George. A Teen Top Ten "A vivid, well-crafted, poetic fantasy for readers . . . who are ready to move from Gail Carson Levine to more sophisticated fare." -Booklist less...
Amazon

Fracture by Megan Miranda
Amazon Says: Eleven minutes passed before Delaney Maxwell was pulled from the icy waters of a Maine lake by her best friend Decker Phillips. By then her heart had stopped beating. Her brai more...
Amazon Says: Eleven minutes passed before Delaney Maxwell was pulled from the icy waters of a Maine lake by her best friend Decker Phillips. By then her heart had stopped beating. Her brain had stopped working. She was dead. And yet she somehow defied medical precedent to come back seemingly fine -despite the scans that showed significant brain damage. Everyone wants Delaney to be all right, but she knows she's far from normal. Pulled by strange sensations she can't control or explain, Delaney finds herself drawn to the dying. Is her altered brain now predicting death, or causing it?Then Delaney meets Troy Varga, who recently emerged from a coma with similar abilities. At first she's reassured to find someone who understands the strangeness of her new existence, but Delaney soon discovers that Troy's motives aren't quite what she thought. Is their gift a miracle, a freak of nature-or something much more frightening?For fans of best-sellers like Before I Fall and If I Stay, this is a fascinating and heart-rending story about love and friendship and the fine line between life and death. less...
Amazon
Print

Comment about this page...