Skip to content

Winter Reads for Teens!

It doesn’t have to be snowing or super cold outside to enjoy fantastic Winter Reads. Our teen collection features great winter and holiday titles that are both frightful and delightful. Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater is a fabulous book. The title alone makes me want to grab a warm blanket. You might also enjoy Phantoms in the Snow by Kathleen Benner Duble.

Whether you enjoy fantasy, dystopian thrillers, or humorous fiction Teen Central at Richland Library has the book for you. Tis the Season for cozying up with a good book!


Amazon Says: A whirlwind romance from the New York Times bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist!   “I’ve left some clues for you. If you want th more...
Amazon Says: A whirlwind romance from the New York Times bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist!   “I’ve left some clues for you. If you want them, turn the page. If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”   16-year-old Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on her favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. Dash, in a bad mood during the holidays, happens to be the first guy to pick up the notebook and rise to its challenges. What follows is a whirlwind romance as Dash and Lily trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations all across New York City. But can their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions, or will their scavenger hunt end in a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions? Co-written by Rachel Cohn (GINGERBREAD) and David Levithan, co-author of WILL GRAYSON, WILL GRAYSON with John Green (THE FAULT IN OUR STARS), DASH & LILY'S BOOK OF DARES is a love story that will have readers scouring bookstore shelves, looking and longing for a love (and a red notebook) of their own. From the Hardcover edition. less...
Amazon

Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater
Amazon Says: From a dazzlingly talented young writer, a haunting and original supernatural romance in the vein of TWILIGHT. For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her more...
Amazon Says: From a dazzlingly talented young writer, a haunting and original supernatural romance in the vein of TWILIGHT. For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf--her wolf--is a chilling presence she can't seem to live without. Meanwhile, Sam has lived two lives: In winter, the frozen woods, the protection of the pack, and the silent company of a fearless girl. In summer, a few precious months of being human . . . until the cold makes him shift back again. Now, Grace meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away. It's her wolf. It has to be. But as winter nears, Sam must fight to stay human--or risk losing himself, and Grace, forever. less...
Amazon

Amazon Says: Ariana Osgood has everything an Easton Academy girl could want: straight A's, the perfect boyfriend, and a coveted spot in exclusive Billings House. But on the first night of more...
Amazon Says: Ariana Osgood has everything an Easton Academy girl could want: straight A's, the perfect boyfriend, and a coveted spot in exclusive Billings House. But on the first night of Christmas vacation, a blizzard traps her on campus with irresistible bad-boy Thomas Pearson. Alone. Instead of snuggling with her boyfriend next to a cozy fire in Vermont, she's huddling for warmth with Thomas in Ketlar House. As the snow transforms Easton into a winter wonderland, Ariana finds herself falling for Thomas. But someone is watching their clandestine romance unfold, someone intent on turning their holiday weekend into a nightmare. less...
Amazon

December by Gabrielle Lord
Amazon Says: On New Year's Eve, Cal is chased down the street by a staggering, sick man with a deadly warning..."They killed your father. They'll kill you. You must survive the next 365 da more...
Amazon Says: On New Year's Eve, Cal is chased down the street by a staggering, sick man with a deadly warning..."They killed your father. They'll kill you. You must survive the next 365 days. Hurled into a life on the run the 15-year-old fugitive is isolated and alone. less...
Amazon

The Near Witch by Victoria Schwab
Amazon Says: The Near Witch is only an old story told to frighten children. If the wind calls at night, you must not listen. The wind is lonely, and always looking for company. There a more...
Amazon Says: The Near Witch is only an old story told to frighten children. If the wind calls at night, you must not listen. The wind is lonely, and always looking for company. There are no strangers in the town of Near. These are the truths that Lexi has heard all her life. But when an actual stranger—a boy who seems to fade like smoke—appears outside her home on the moor at night, she knows that at least one of these sayings is no longer true. The next night, the children of Near start disappearing from their beds, and the mysterious boy falls under suspicion. As the hunt for the children intensifies, so does Lexi’s need to know— about the witch that just might be more than a bedtime story, about the wind that seems to speak through the walls at night, and about the history of this nameless boy. Part fairy tale, part love story, Victoria Schwab’s debut novel is entirely original yet achingly familiar: a song you heard long ago, a whisper carried by the wind, and a dream you won’t soon forget. less...
Amazon

Me, Myself and Ike by K. L. Denman
Amazon Says: After watching a tv program about Otzi, a 5,000-year-old ìIce Manî, Kit's friend Ike becomes convinced that Kit's destiny is to become the next ice man--a source of informat more...
Amazon Says: After watching a tv program about Otzi, a 5,000-year-old ìIce Manî, Kit's friend Ike becomes convinced that Kit's destiny is to become the next ice man--a source of information for future generations. Together they obtain artifacts they think will accurately reflect life in the early twenty-first century and plan their journey to a nearby mountain. Kit gets tattoos similar to Otzi's, writes a manifesto and tries to come to terms with making the ultimate sacrifice. As he grows more and more agitated and isolated, his family and friends suspect that something is terribly wrong, but before they can discover the true severity of the situation, Kit and Ike set off on what could be their last journey. less...
Amazon

Phantoms In The Snow by Kathleen Benner Duble
Amazon Says: In this gripping journey, a fifteen-year-old pacifist must decide what he believes as he faces the reality of World War II. The year is 1944, and fifteen-year-old Noah Garret more...
Amazon Says: In this gripping journey, a fifteen-year-old pacifist must decide what he believes as he faces the reality of World War II. The year is 1944, and fifteen-year-old Noah Garrett's parents have died from smallpox. Without any other family nearby, Noah is sent to live with his uncle, whom he has never met, in Camp Hale, Colorado. There is one small problem with this decision: Noah has been raised a pacifist, and Camp Hale is a U.S. military base for a little-known division of winter warfare soldiers called Phantoms. Can a boy who's never seen snow and doesn't believe in war survive among these soldiers? Noah's struggle to resolve his upbringing with the horrors of World War II into a way of life he can believe in takes him on an incredible and riveting journey from the training camp to the frontlines of battle. Based on historical events, the story of Noah and the Phantoms of the Tenth Mountain Division is one of courage and conviction, brotherhood, and the joy in living. less...
Amazon

A Tale of Two Pretties by Lisi Harrison
Amazon Says: Massie Block has long led the Pretty Committee--through boy drama, clique mutinies, and jealous wannabe attacks--while always in ah-dorable outfits. Over the past thirteen nov more...
Amazon Says: Massie Block has long led the Pretty Committee--through boy drama, clique mutinies, and jealous wannabe attacks--while always in ah-dorable outfits. Over the past thirteen novels, avid fans of Massie, Alicia, Dylan, Kristin, and Claire, have made The Clique one of the premier bestselling series in the world. After the myriad of juicy escapades, the Clique is finally ready for their curtain call. The Clique . . . the only thing harder than getting in is saying goodbye. less...
Amazon

And Both Were Young by Madeleine L'Engle
Amazon Says: Flip feels like a prisoner when she first arrives at boarding school in Switzerland; her days are strictly scheduled and she never has a minute to herself. She’s constantly more...
Amazon Says: Flip feels like a prisoner when she first arrives at boarding school in Switzerland; her days are strictly scheduled and she never has a minute to herself. She’s constantly surrounded by girls who never stop talking about clothes and boys, making Flip feel lonely, clumsy, and awkward. Then she finds a true friend in Paul. He understands her in a way that no one at school does, and she breaks the rules to spend time with him. But as the two become closer, Flip learns that Paul has a mystery in his past. To help him discover the truth, she must put herself in serious danger. This new edition of one of Madeleine L’Engle’s earliest works features an introduction by the author’s granddaughter, the writer Léna Roy. less...
Amazon

Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow by Jessica Day George
Amazon Says: A spirited retelling, perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Donna Jo Napoli.When a great white bear promises untold riches to her family, the Lass agrees to go away with him. B more...
Amazon Says: A spirited retelling, perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Donna Jo Napoli.When a great white bear promises untold riches to her family, the Lass agrees to go away with him. But the bear is not what he seems, nor is his castle. To unravel the mystery, the Lass sets out on a windswept journey beyond the edge of the world. Based on the Nordic legend East of the Sun, West of the Moon, with romantic echoes of Beauty and the Beast, this re-imagined story will leave fans of fantasy and fairy tale enchanted by Jessica Day George. A Teen Top Ten “A vivid, well-crafted, poetic fantasy for readers . . . who are ready to move from Gail Carson Levine to more sophisticated fare.” —Booklist less...
Amazon

Fracture by Megan Miranda
Amazon Says: Eleven minutes passed before Delaney Maxwell was pulled from the icy waters of a Maine lake by her best friend Decker Phillips. By then her heart had stopped beating. Her brai more...
Amazon Says: Eleven minutes passed before Delaney Maxwell was pulled from the icy waters of a Maine lake by her best friend Decker Phillips. By then her heart had stopped beating. Her brain had stopped working. She was dead. And yet she somehow defied medical precedent to come back seemingly fine -despite the scans that showed significant brain damage. Everyone wants Delaney to be all right, but she knows she's far from normal. Pulled by strange sensations she can't control or explain, Delaney finds herself drawn to the dying. Is her altered brain now predicting death, or causing it? Then Delaney meets Troy Varga, who recently emerged from a coma with similar abilities. At first she's reassured to find someone who understands the strangeness of her new existence, but Delaney soon discovers that Troy's motives aren't quite what she thought. Is their gift a miracle, a freak of nature-or something much more frightening? For fans of best-sellers like Before I Fall and If I Stay, this is a fascinating and heart-rending story about love and friendship and the fine line between life and death. less...
Amazon
Print

Comment about this page...