Skip to content

The Boys in the Boat

Nine Americans And Their Epic Quest For Gold At The 1936 Berlin Olympics

By Daniel Brown, 1951-

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown’s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington’s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled  by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together—a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys’ own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.


Availability

All copies are currently loaned to other customers.
Place a Hold - It's easy, and you choose the pickup location.
Check Amazon - View this title on Amazon.com. If you purchase this title from Amazon a portion of the sale will benefit Richland Library.

Publish Date

2013

ISBN

9780670025817


Format: Book
Author: Brown, Daniel, 1951-
Title: The boys in the boat : nine Americans and their epic quest for gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics / Daniel James Brown.
Publisher Date: New York, New York : Viking, [2013], ©2013.
Subject: University of Washington -- Rowing -- History. Olympic Games (11th : 1936 : Berlin, Germany) Rowing -- United States -- History. Rowers -- United States -- Biography.
Isbn: 9780670025817 (hardcover)
Current Holds: 11
System Items Available: 0
System Items Total: 5
Call Number: 797.12309 Bro
Oclc: 818953760
Upc:
Bib Id: 435359

Format: Book
Author: Brown, Daniel, 1951-
Title: The boys in the boat : nine Americans and their epic quest for gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics / Daniel James Brown.
Publisher, Date: New York, New York : Viking, [2013], ©2013.
Description: 404 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
Subjects: University of Washington -- Rowing -- History.
Subjects: Olympic Games (11th : 1936 : Berlin, Germany)
Subjects: Rowing -- United States -- History.
Subjects: Rowers -- United States -- Biography.
Notes: Includes index.
LCCN: 2013001560
ISBN: 9780670025817 (hardcover)
Requests: 11
Available Copies: 0
Total Copies: 5
Call Number: 797.12309 Bro