Skip to content

Banished [electronic Resource]

Surviving My Years In The Westboro Baptist Church

By Lauren Drain


-Now a New York Times bestseller-
You've likely heard of the Westboro Baptist Church. Perhaps you've seen their pickets on the news, the members holding signs with messages that are too offensive to copy here, protesting at events such as the funerals of soldiers, the 9-year old victim of the recent Tucson shooting, and Elizabeth Edwards, all in front of their grieving families. The WBC is fervently anti-gay, anti-Semitic, and anti- practically everything and everyone. And they aren't going anywhere: in March, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled in favor of the WBC's right to picket funerals. 

Since no organized religion will claim affiliation with the WBC, it's perhaps more accurate to think of them as a cult. Lauren Drain was thrust into that cult at the age of 15, and then spat back out again seven years later. BANISHED is the first look inside the organization, as well as a fascinating story of adaptation and perseverance.

Lauren spent her early years enjoying a normal life with her family in Florida. But when her formerly liberal and secular father set out to produce a documentary about the WBC, his detached interest gradually evolved into fascination, and he moved the entire family to Kansas to join the church and live on their compound. Over the next seven years, Lauren fully assimilated their extreme beliefs, and became a member of the church and an active and vocal picketer. But as she matured and began to challenge some of the church's tenets, she was unceremoniously cast out from the church and permanently cut off from her family and from everyone else she knew and loved. BANISHED is the story of Lauren's fight to find herself amidst dramatic changes in a world of extremists and a life in exile.

Format

Ebook

Publish Date

2013

ISBN

9781455512430


Format: Ebook
Author: Drain, Lauren
Summary: Lauren Drain's childhood seemed average American, but when her liberal-minded father set out to film a documentary about the audacious and cultish hate group, the Westboro Baptist Church, he found himself seduced. At 14, Lauren was moved with her family to Kansas to live in the Westboro compound. There, Lauren found a new community offering both a warm welcome and a complex set of rules and regulations, including curbs on her teenage freedom and punishments meted out unjustly. The WBC's modus operandi is its aggressive and vitriolic campaigns against anyone and everyone it deems immoral or sinful--the U.S. military, the Catholic Church, homosexuals, and more. Over the next seven years, Lauren would try to assimilate their extreme beliefs. She traveled the country as an active and vocal picketer, spouting the church's message of hate at public events, with shockingly offensive signs promoting their agenda. But as she matured and began to question and bristle against some of the church's tenets, she was unceremoniously cast out, and permanently cut off from her family. BANISHED is the story of one young woman's journey into and out of a world of extremists, and of building a positive new life out of the ashes of her old one.--From publisher description.
Title: Banished [electronic resource] : surviving my years in the Westboro Baptist Church / Lauren Drain with Lisa Pulitzer.
Publisher Date: New York : Grand Central Pub., 2013.
Subject: Drain, Lauren. Westboro Baptist Church (Topeka, Kan.) -- Biography. Westboro Baptist Church (Topeka, Kan. -- History. Baptists -- United States -- Biography Demonstrations -- Religious aspects -- Christianity. United States -- Church history
Website: http://myrcpl.lib.overdrive.com/ContentDetails.htm?ID=85433641-20BC-445F-BBEB-6DC7A8DBEE13 Click here to check out and download.
Isbn: 9781455512430 (electronic bk.) 1455512435 (electronic bk.) 9781455518470 (electronic bk.) 1455518476 (electronic bk.)
Current Holds: 0
System Items Available: 0
System Items Total: 0
Call Number: BX6495.D725 A3 2013eb
Oclc: 843125517
Upc:
Bib Id: 440247

Format: Ebook
Author: Drain, Lauren.
Summary: "In the tradition of Escape and Stolen innocence, the first look behind the curtains of the Westboro Baptist Church, by a young woman cast out from its clutches"--Provided by the publisher.
Summary: Lauren Drain's childhood seemed average American, but when her liberal-minded father set out to film a documentary about the audacious and cultish hate group, the Westboro Baptist Church, he found himself seduced. At 14, Lauren was moved with her family to Kansas to live in the Westboro compound. There, Lauren found a new community offering both a warm welcome and a complex set of rules and regulations, including curbs on her teenage freedom and punishments meted out unjustly. The WBC's modus operandi is its aggressive and vitriolic campaigns against anyone and everyone it deems immoral or sinful--the U.S. military, the Catholic Church, homosexuals, and more. Over the next seven years, Lauren would try to assimilate their extreme beliefs. She traveled the country as an active and vocal picketer, spouting the church's message of hate at public events, with shockingly offensive signs promoting their agenda. But as she matured and began to question and bristle against some of the church's tenets, she was unceremoniously cast out, and permanently cut off from her family. BANISHED is the story of one young woman's journey into and out of a world of extremists, and of building a positive new life out of the ashes of her old one.--From publisher description.
Title: Banished [electronic resource] : surviving my years in the Westboro Baptist Church / Lauren Drain with Lisa Pulitzer.
Edition: 1st ed.
Publisher, Date: New York : Grand Central Pub., 2013.
Description: 1 online resource (295 p.) : ill.
Subjects: Drain, Lauren.
Subjects: Westboro Baptist Church (Topeka, Kan.) -- Biography.
Subjects: Westboro Baptist Church (Topeka, Kan. -- History.
Subjects: Baptists -- United States -- Biography
Subjects: Demonstrations -- Religious aspects -- Christianity.
Subjects: United States -- Church history
Genre: Electronic books.
Other Author: Pulitzer, Lisa
Other Title: Banished : a memoir : surviving my years in the Westboro Baptist Church
Notes: "A memoir"--Jacket.
Notes: Description based on print version record.
Web Site: http://myrcpl.lib.overdrive.com/ContentDetails.htm?ID=85433641-20BC-445F-BBEB-6DC7A8DBEE13 Click here to check out and download.
Web Site: http://myrcpl.lib.overdrive.com/ContentDetails.htm?ID=85433641-20BC-445F-BBEB-6DC7A8DBEE13 Click here to check out and download.
ISBN: 9781455512430 (electronic bk.)
ISBN: 1455512435 (electronic bk.)
ISBN: 9781455518470 (electronic bk.)
ISBN: 1455518476 (electronic bk.)
Requests: 0
Available Copies: 0
Total Copies: 0
Medium: [electronic resource] :
Call Number: BX6495.D725 A3 2013eb