Skip to content

The Cartographer of No Man's Land

A Novel

By P. S. Duffy

From a hardscrabble village in Nova Scotia to the collapsing trenches of France, a debut novel about a family divided by World War I.


In the tradition of Robert Goolrick’s A Reliable Wife and Karl Marlantes’s Matterhorn, P. S. Duffy’s astonishing debut showcases a rare and instinctive talent emerging in midlife. Her novel leaps across the Atlantic, between a father at war and a son coming of age at home without him.



When his beloved brother-in-law goes missing at the front in 1916, Angus defies his pacifist upbringing to join the war and find him. Assured a position as a cartographer in London, he is instead sent directly into the visceral shock of battle. Meanwhile, at home, his son Simon Peter must navigate escalating hostility in a fishing village torn by grief. With the intimacy of The Song of Achilles and the epic scope of The Invisible Bridge, The Cartographer of No Man’s Land offers a soulful portrayal of World War I and the lives that were forever changed by it, both on the battlefield and at home.

Format

Book

Availability

There are no available copies of this item, would you like to Place a Hold?

Publish Date

2013

ISBN

9780871403766


Format: Book
Author: Duffy, P. S.
Summary: "When his beloved brother-in-law goes missing at the front in 1916, Angus defies his pacifist upbringing to join the war and find him. Assured a position as a cartographer in London, he is instead sent directly into the visceral shock of battle. Meanwhile, at home, his son Simon Peter must navigate escalating hostility in a fishing village torn by grief"--Amazon.com.
Title: The cartographer of no man's land : a novel / P.S. Duffy.
Publisher Date: New York : Liveright Publishing Corporation, a division of W.W. Norton & Company, [2013]
Subject: War and families -- Fiction. World War, 1914-1918 -- Fiction
Isbn: 9780871403766 (hbk.) 0871403765 (hbk.)
Current Holds: 1
System Items Available: 0
System Items Total: 1
Call Number: F Duffy
Oclc: 860924228
Upc:
Bib Id: 455132

Format: Book
Author: Duffy, P. S.
Summary: "When his beloved brother-in-law goes missing at the front in 1916, Angus defies his pacifist upbringing to join the war and find him. Assured a position as a cartographer in London, he is instead sent directly into the visceral shock of battle. Meanwhile, at home, his son Simon Peter must navigate escalating hostility in a fishing village torn by grief"--Amazon.com.
Title: The cartographer of no man's land : a novel / P.S. Duffy.
Edition: First edition.
Publisher, Date: New York : Liveright Publishing Corporation, a division of W.W. Norton & Company, [2013]
Description: 371 pages ; 25 cm.
Subjects: War and families -- Fiction.
Subjects: World War, 1914-1918 -- Fiction
Genre: Historical fiction.
Notes: Includes bibliographical references.
LCCN: 2013011166
ISBN: 9780871403766 (hbk.)
ISBN: 0871403765 (hbk.)
Requests: 1
Available Copies: 0
Total Copies: 1
Call Number: F Duffy