Skip to content

The Cartographer of No Man's Land

A Novel

By P. S Duffy

From a hardscrabble village in Nova Scotia to the collapsing trenches of France, a debut novel about a family divided by World War I.

In the tradition of Robert Goolrick’s A Reliable Wife and Karl Marlantes’s Matterhorn, P. S. Duffy’s astonishing debut showcases a rare and instinctive talent emerging in midlife. Her novel leaps across the Atlantic, between a father at war and a son coming of age at home without him.

When his beloved brother-in-law goes missing at the front in 1916, Angus defies his pacifist upbringing to join the war and find him. Assured a position as a cartographer in London, he is instead sent directly into the visceral shock of battle. Meanwhile, at home, his son Simon Peter must navigate escalating hostility in a fishing village torn by grief. With the intimacy of The Song of Achilles and the epic scope of The Invisible Bridge, The Cartographer of No Man’s Land offers a soulful portrayal of World War I and the lives that were forever changed by it, both on the battlefield and at home.

Format

Book

Availability

Publish Date

2013

ISBN

9780871403766


Format: Book
Author: Duffy, P. S
Summary: "When his beloved brother-in-law goes missing at the front in 1916, Angus defies his pacifist upbringing to join the war and find him. Assured a position as a cartographer in London, he is instead sent directly into the visceral shock of battle. Meanwhile, at home, his son Simon Peter must navigate escalating hostility in a fishing village torn by grief"--Amazon.com.
Title: The cartographer of no man's land : a novel / P.S. Duffy.
Publisher Date: New York : Liveright Publishing Corporation, a division of W.W. Norton & Company, [2013]
Subject: War and families -- Fiction. World War, 1914-1918 -- Fiction
Isbn: 9780871403766 (hbk.) 0871403765 (hbk.)
Current Holds: 0
System Items Available: 1
System Items Total: 1
Call Number: F Duffy
Oclc: 860924228
Upc:
Bib Id: 455132

Format: Book
Author: Duffy, P. S.
Summary: "When his beloved brother-in-law goes missing at the front in 1916, Angus defies his pacifist upbringing to join the war and find him. Assured a position as a cartographer in London, he is instead sent directly into the visceral shock of battle. Meanwhile, at home, his son Simon Peter must navigate escalating hostility in a fishing village torn by grief"--Amazon.com.
Title: The cartographer of no man's land : a novel / P.S. Duffy.
Edition: First edition.
Publisher, Date: New York : Liveright Publishing Corporation, a division of W.W. Norton & Company, [2013]
Description: 371 pages ; 25 cm.
Subjects: War and families -- Fiction.
Subjects: World War, 1914-1918 -- Fiction
Genre: Historical fiction.
Notes: Includes bibliographical references.
LCCN: 2013011166
ISBN: 9780871403766 (hbk.)
ISBN: 0871403765 (hbk.)
Requests: 0
Available Copies: 1
Total Copies: 1
Call Number: F Duffy