Skip to content

The Wednesday Daughters [electronic Resource]

A Novel

By Meg Waite Clayton

In the tradition of Kristin Hannah and Karen Joy Fowler, Meg Waite Clayton, bestselling author of The Wednesday Sisters, returns with an enthralling new novel of mothers, daughters, and the secrets and dreams passed down through generations.
 
It is early evening when Hope Tantry arrives at the small cottage in England’s pastoral Lake District where her mother, Ally, spent the last years of her life. Ally—one of a close-knit group of women who called themselves the Wednesday Sisters—had used the cottage as a writer’s retreat while she worked on her unpublished biography of Beatrix Potter, yet Hope knows little about her mother’s time there. Traveling with Hope are friends Anna Page and Julie, first introduced as little girls in The Wednesday Sisters, now grown women grappling with issues of a different era. They’ve come to help Hope sort through her mother’s personal effects, yet what they find is a tangled family history—one steeped in Lake District lore.
 
Hope finds a stack of Ally’s old notebooks tucked away in a hidden drawer, all written in a mysterious code. As she, Julie, and Anna Page try to decipher Ally’s writings—the reason for their encryption, their possible connection to the Potter manuscript—they are forced to confront their own personal struggles: Hope’s doubts about her marriage, Julie’s grief over losing her twin sister, Anna Page’s fear of commitment in relationships. And as the real reason for Ally’s stay in England comes to light, Hope, Julie, and Anna Page reach a new understanding about the enduring bonds of family, the unwavering strength of love, and the inescapable pull of the past.

Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.
 
“The present and the past intertwine beautifully and inevitably in Meg Waite Clayton’s winning follow-up to The Wednesday Sisters. From the beguiling Lake District setting, to a completely charming (and spot-on) portrayal of Beatrix Potter, to the way the Wednesday daughters strive to unpuzzle both their own choices and their mothers’ legacies, every layer of the novel delivers. The Wednesday Daughters is utterly rich and satisfying.”—Paula McLainNew York Times bestselling author of The Paris Wife
 
“A captivating novel about mothers and daughters, lifelong friendships, love affairs, betrayals, and redemption. Clayton transports us to the English Lake District, an area rich in literary history and romance, where her characters’ secrets unfold in ways both satisfying and surprising.”—J. Courtney SullivanNew York Times bestselling author of Commencement, Maine, and The Engagements
 
“Beautiful storytelling . . . [Meg Waite Clayton] delves deep into the human heart . . . and [will] keep you hanging on until the very last page is turned.”RT Book Reviews

The Wednesday Daughters is a bewitching escape of a novel. The characters became my beloved companions. I wanted it never to end.”—Elin Hilderbrand, author of Beautiful Day
 
“Heartwarming . . . filled with memorable characters.”Bookreporter

Selected as Recommended Summer Reading by Chicago Tribune • Fort Worth Star-Telegram • San Jose Mercury News


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Format

Ebook

More Formats

Ebook

The Wednesday Daughters A Novel

Availability

Publish Date

2013

ISBN

9780345538840


Format: Ebook
Author: Clayton, Meg Waite
Summary: Ally, one of a close-knit group of women who called themselves the Wednesday Sisters, spent her final years in an English cottage working on a biography of Beatrix Potter. Now her daughter, Hope, and other grown daughters of the "Wednesday Sisters" travel to England to sort through Ally's personal effects. The journey leads them into family secrets and forces them to confront their own personal struggles.
Title: The Wednesday daughters [electronic resource] : a novel / Meg Waite Clayton.
Publisher Date: New York : Ballantine Books, [2013]
Subject: Family secrets -- Fiction Female friendship -- Fiction Family Saga Literary Palo Alto (Calif.) -- Fiction. Lake District (England) -- Fiction.
Website: Image http://ebook.3m.com/delivery/img?type=DOCUMENTIMAGE&documentID=bskxoz9&token=nobody
Isbn: 9780345538840 (electronic bk.) 0345538846 (electronic bk.)
Current Holds: 0
System Items Available: 0
System Items Total: 0
Call Number: PS3603.L45 W423 2013eb
Oclc: 854851611
Upc:
Bib Id: 456384

Format: Ebook
Author: Clayton, Meg Waite
Summary: Ally, one of a close-knit group of women who called themselves the Wednesday Sisters, spent her final years in an English cottage working on a biography of Beatrix Potter. Now her daughter, Hope, and other grown daughters of the "Wednesday Sisters" travel to England to sort through Ally's personal effects. The journey leads them into family secrets and forces them to confront their own personal struggles.
Title: The Wednesday daughters [electronic resource] : a novel / Meg Waite Clayton.
Edition: 1st ed.
Publisher, Date: New York : Ballantine Books, [2013]
Description: 1 online resource (291 p.) : ill.
Series: Wednesday ; 2
Series: Clayton, Meg Waite. Wednesday ; 2.
Subjects: Family secrets -- Fiction
Subjects: Female friendship -- Fiction
Subjects: Family Saga
Subjects: Literary
Subjects: Palo Alto (Calif.) -- Fiction.
Subjects: Lake District (England) -- Fiction.
Genre: Domestic fiction.
Genre: Electronic books.
Notes: Includes bibliographical references (page 287).
Notes: Description based on print version record.
Web Site: http://myrcpl.lib.overdrive.com/ContentDetails.htm?ID=728C6C2E-F7A4-44C0-AD0D-B2B327EF2ED5 Click here to check out and download.
Web Site: http://myrcpl.lib.overdrive.com/ContentDetails.htm?ID=728C6C2E-F7A4-44C0-AD0D-B2B327EF2ED5 Click here to check out and download.
Web Site: Image http://images.contentreserve.com/ImageType-100/0111-1/{728C6C2E-F7A4-44C0-AD0D-B2B327EF2ED5}Img100.jpg
Web Site: Image http://ebook.3m.com/delivery/img?type=DOCUMENTIMAGE&documentID=bskxoz9&token=nobody
ISBN: 9780345538840 (electronic bk.)
ISBN: 0345538846 (electronic bk.)
Requests: 0
Available Copies: 0
Total Copies: 0
Medium: [electronic resource] :
Call Number: PS3603.L45 W423 2013eb