Skip to content

Dandy Gilver and a Bothersome Number of Corpses

By Catriona McPherson, 1965-

"Agatha Christie meets Upstairs Downstairs . . . [For] fans of Phryne Fisher and Maisie Dobbs." —Publishers Weekly

A mystery writer perfect for fans of Upstairs Downstairs, Downton Abbey, and Gosford Park,  Catriona McPherson has charmed readers everywhere with her fun and clever series set in 1920s Scotland. In this new adventure, witty, aristocratic sleuth Dandy Gilver travels to an all-girls school in the small seaside town of Portpatrick to investigate the disappearance of a childhood friend who taught there. Soon, Dandy discovers that her missing chum is not the only thing that's off in Portpatrick. Other teachers have been disappearing at an alarming rate. The BBC has optioned the Dandy Gilver series for television, and mystery fans will love Dandy Gilver and a Bothersome Number of Corpses, the newest excursion with Scotland's most charming sleuth.

Format

Book

Availability

1 available at Southeast
  • M McPherson, Mystery

Publish Date

2013

ISBN

9781250028907


Format: Book
Author: McPherson, Catriona, 1965-
Summary: "A mystery writer perfect for fans of Upstairs Downstairs, Downton Abbey, and Gosford Park, Catriona McPherson has charmed readers everywhere with her fun and clever series set in 1920s Scotland. In this new adventure, witty, aristocratic sleuth Dandy Gilver travels to an all-girls school in the small seaside town of Portpatrick to investigate the disappearance of a childhood friend who taught there. Soon, Dandy discovers that her missing chum is not the only thing that's off in Portpatrick. Other teachers have been disappearing at an alarming rate. The BBC has optioned the Dandy Gilver series for television, and mystery fans will love this newest excursion with Scotland's most charming sleuth"-- Provided by publisher.
Title: Dandy Gilver and a bothersome number of corpses / Catriona McPherson.
Publisher Date: New York : Minotaur Books, 2013.
Subject: Aristocracy (Social class) -- Fiction Women private investigators -- Fiction Missing persons -- Fiction FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Historical. FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths. Scotland -- Social life and customs -- 20th century -- Fiction.
Isbn: 9781250028907 (hardcover)
Current Holds: 0
System Items Available: 2
System Items Total: 2
Call Number: M McPherson
Oclc:
Upc:
Bib Id: 457918

Format: Book
Author: McPherson, Catriona, 1965-
Summary: ""Agatha Christie meets Upstairs Downstairs. [For] fans of Phryne Fisher and Maisie Dobbs." --Publishers Weekly A mystery writer perfect for fans of Upstairs Downstairs, Downton Abbey, and Gosford Park, Catriona McPherson has charmed readers everywhere with her fun and clever series set in 1920s Scotland. In this new adventure, witty, aristocratic sleuth Dandy Gilver travels to an all-girls school in the small seaside town of Portpatrick to investigate the disappearance of a childhood friend who taught there. Soon, Dandy discovers that her missing chum is not the only thing that's off in Portpatrick. Other teachers have been disappearing at an alarming rate. The BBC has optioned the Dandy Gilver series for television, and mystery fans will love this newest excursion with Scotland's most charming sleuth"-- Provided by publisher.
Summary: "A mystery writer perfect for fans of Upstairs Downstairs, Downton Abbey, and Gosford Park, Catriona McPherson has charmed readers everywhere with her fun and clever series set in 1920s Scotland. In this new adventure, witty, aristocratic sleuth Dandy Gilver travels to an all-girls school in the small seaside town of Portpatrick to investigate the disappearance of a childhood friend who taught there. Soon, Dandy discovers that her missing chum is not the only thing that's off in Portpatrick. Other teachers have been disappearing at an alarming rate. The BBC has optioned the Dandy Gilver series for television, and mystery fans will love this newest excursion with Scotland's most charming sleuth"-- Provided by publisher.
Title: Dandy Gilver and a bothersome number of corpses / Catriona McPherson.
Edition: First U.S. edition.
Publisher, Date: New York : Minotaur Books, 2013.
Description: 304 pages ; 22 cm
Subjects: Aristocracy (Social class) -- Fiction
Subjects: Women private investigators -- Fiction
Subjects: Missing persons -- Fiction
Subjects: FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Historical.
Subjects: FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths.
Subjects: Scotland -- Social life and customs -- 20th century -- Fiction.
Notes: "A Thomas Dunne book."
LCCN: 2013024714
ISBN: 9781250028907 (hardcover)
Requests: 0
Available Copies: 2
Total Copies: 2
Call Number: M McPherson