Skip to content

Bingo's Run

A Novel

By James Levine, 1963-

For fans of Dave Eggers, Teju Cole, and James McBride, comes this extraordinary novel of morality and the redemptive powers of art that offers a glimpse into an African underworld rarely described in fiction. 

Meet Bingo, the greatest drug runner in the slums of Kibera, Nairobi, and maybe the world. A teenage grifter, often mistaken for a younger boy, he faithfully serves Wolf, the drug lord of Kibera. Bingo spends his days throwing rocks at Krazi Hari, the prophet of Kibera’s garbage mound, “lipping” safari tourists of their cash, and hanging out with his best friend, Slo-George, a taciturn fellow whose girth is a mystery to Bingo in a place where there is never enough food. Bingo earns his keep by running “white” to a host of clients, including Thomas Hunsa, a reclusive artist whose paintings, rooted in African tradition, move him. But when Bingo witnesses a drug-related murder and Wolf sends him to an orphanage for “protection,” Bingo’s life changes and he learns that life itself is the “run.”
 
A modern trickster tale that draws on African folklore, Bingo’s Run is a wildly original, often very funny, and always moving story of a boy alone in a corrupt and dangerous world who must depend on his wits and inner resources to survive.

ONE OF LIBRARY JOURNAL’S OUTSTANDING NEW VOICES TO CONSIDER
 
“Bingo’s voice guides us; by turns he is aggressive, confident, smart, cynical, but also naive. Bingo tosses his observations at us with great urgency, almost percussively, in a staccato manner that recalls gunshots. And though he’s blunt, he’s also a sensitive observer. . . . Levine is creating a sense of an entire world, raffish and fast. . . . The larger story Levine is telling . . . is the story of a person’s mind, and of the good, bad, and indifferent forces that make him what he is—and that story is told with compassion and intelligence.”The Boston Globe

“James A. Levine is a deeply gifted writer who reaches into the dirt, sweat, and diesel of modern-day Nairobi and introduces us to a young innocent whose adventures are unforgettable. Bingo’s runs between joy and death, laughter and sorrow, survival and redemption, will make you feel like cheering.”—James McBride, author of The Good Lord Bird and The Color of Water
 
Bingo’s Run is one of those rare books that infuse a potentially difficult subject with intimacy, tenderness, and humor. Social commentary, gritty comedy, and pure cinematic adrenaline meet in an utterly compelling novel with a voice all its own.”—Tash Aw, author of Five Star Billionaire
 
Bingo’s Run manages to read like timely news and high adventure at the same time. Levine’s main character, Bingo, is an underage drug runner, hardened orphan, and hustler extraordinaire. He’s also funny and wise well beyond his years. The rousing story of Bingo’s evolution is matched only by Levine’s portrait of modern-day Nairobi, both child and city depicted with real flair and affection.”—Victor LaValle, author of The Devil in Silver
 
“Bingo is a fascinating and inimitably likable character. Levine, a Mayo clinic professor of medicine and well-known child advocate, excels at telling his adventurous, comic, and realistically gritty story with humor but not with pathos, successfully addressing the harsh and sometimes tragic story of a child at risk.”Library Journal


From the Hardcover edition.

Format

Book

More Formats

Ebook

Bingo's Run : a novel

Availability

Publish Date

2014

ISBN

9781400068838


Format: Book
Author: Levine, James, 1963-
Summary: A tale set against the backdrop of Kenya's poverty-stricken slums and luxury resorts follows the experiences of a young drug runner who makes deliveries to a reclusive artist before his witness of murder leads to his adoption by a woman who tests his sense of morality.
Title: Bingo's run : a novel / James A. Levine.
Publisher Date: New York : Spiegel & Grau, [2014]
Subject: Young men -- Conduct of life -- Fiction. Drug traffic -- Kenya -- Fiction. Art appreciation -- Fiction. Kibera (Kenya) -- Fiction.
Isbn: 9781400068838 1400068835
Current Holds: 0
System Items Available: 1
System Items Total: 1
Call Number: F Levine
Oclc: 829937114
Upc:
Bib Id: 495017

Format: Book
Author: Levine, James, 1963-
Summary: A tale set against the backdrop of Kenya's poverty-stricken slums and luxury resorts follows the experiences of a young drug runner who makes deliveries to a reclusive artist before his witness of murder leads to his adoption by a woman who tests his sense of morality.
Title: Bingo's run : a novel / James A. Levine.
Edition: First edition.
Publisher, Date: New York : Spiegel & Grau, [2014]
Description: 287 pages ; 22 cm
Subjects: Young men -- Conduct of life -- Fiction.
Subjects: Drug traffic -- Kenya -- Fiction.
Subjects: Art appreciation -- Fiction.
Subjects: Kibera (Kenya) -- Fiction.
LCCN: 2013002647
ISBN: 9781400068838
ISBN: 1400068835
Requests: 0
Available Copies: 1
Total Copies: 1
Call Number: F Levine