Skip to content

For the Benefit of Those Who See

Dispatches From The World Of The Blind

By Rosemary Mahoney

"In this intelligent and humane book, Rosemary Mahoney writes of people who are blind....She reports on their courage and gives voice, time and again, to their miraculous dignity."--Andrew Solomon, author of Far From the Tree

"This joyful, thoughtful book took me on an emotional journey and introduced me to people I'll never forget.  With her wonderfully sharp prose and great sense of humor and humanity, Rosemary Mahoney has written a riveting narrative that combines world-class reporting, science, history, and travel writing.  For The Benefit of Those Who See has changed forever the way I view my senses, and made me aware of how I do and don't experience the world." -- Will Schwalbe, author of The End of Your Life Book Club

"Rosemary Mahoney is one of a handful of nonfiction writers so original and so surprising that I look forward to each new book with an excitement bordering on impatience.  What makes For the Benefit of Those Who See especially absorbing is that it turns on Mahoney's greatest strength: her idiosyncratic and unblinking eye.  As it explores the world of the blind, this provocative and revelatory work teaches us a great deal about what it means to see.  And when I finished this book, I returned to the world feeling that all my senses had been sharpened." -- George Howe Colt, author of The Big House

In the tradition of Oliver Sacks's The Island of the Colorblind, Rosemary Mahoney tells the story of Braille Without Borders, the first school for the blind in Tibet, and of Sabriye Tenberken, the remarkable blind woman who founded the school. Fascinated and impressed by what she learned from the blind children of Tibet, Mahoney was moved to investigate further the cultural history of blindness. As part of her research, she spent three months teaching at Tenberken's international training center for blind adults in Kerala, India, an experience that reveals both the shocking oppression endured by the world's blind, as well as their great resilience, integrity, ingenuity, and strength. By living among the blind, Rosemary Mahoney enables us to see them in fascinating close up, revealing their particular "quality of ease that seems to broadcast a fundamental connection to the world." Having read FOR THE BENEFIT OF THOSE WHO SEE, you will never see the world in quite the same way again.

Format: Book
Author: Mahoney, Rosemary
Summary: Rosemary Mahoney tells the story of Braille Without Borders, the first school for the blind in Tibet, and of Sabriye Tenberken, the remarkable blind woman who founded the school. Fascinated and impressed by what she learned from the blind children of Tibet, Mahoney was moved to investigate further the cultural history of blindness. As part of her research, she spent three months teaching at Tenberken's international training center for blind adults in Kerala, India, an experience that reveals both the shocking oppression endured by the world's blind, as well as their great resilience, integrity, ingenuity, and strength. By living among the blind, Mahoney enables us to see them in fascinating close up, revealing their particular "quality of ease that seems to broadcast a fundamental connection to the world."--From publisher description.
Title: For the benefit of those who see : dispatches from the world of the blind / Rosemary Mahoney.
Publisher Date: New York : Little, Brown and Company, 2014.
Subject: Mahoney, Rosemary. Teachers of the blind. Blind, Workers for the. Blind -- Education -- India. Blind -- Services for -- India.
Isbn: 9780316043427 (hbk.) 0316043427 (hbk.)
Current Holds: 0
System Items Available: 1
System Items Total: 2
Call Number: 371.91109 Mah
Oclc: 843858720
Upc:
Bib Id: 495761

Format: Book
Author: Mahoney, Rosemary.
Summary: Rosemary Mahoney tells the story of Braille Without Borders, the first school for the blind in Tibet, and of Sabriye Tenberken, the remarkable blind woman who founded the school. Fascinated and impressed by what she learned from the blind children of Tibet, Mahoney was moved to investigate further the cultural history of blindness. As part of her research, she spent three months teaching at Tenberken's international training center for blind adults in Kerala, India, an experience that reveals both the shocking oppression endured by the world's blind, as well as their great resilience, integrity, ingenuity, and strength. By living among the blind, Mahoney enables us to see them in fascinating close up, revealing their particular "quality of ease that seems to broadcast a fundamental connection to the world."--From publisher description.
Title: For the benefit of those who see : dispatches from the world of the blind / Rosemary Mahoney.
Edition: First edition.
Publisher, Date: New York : Little, Brown and Company, 2014.
Description: 287 pages ; 22 cm
Subjects: Mahoney, Rosemary.
Subjects: Teachers of the blind.
Subjects: Blind, Workers for the.
Subjects: Blind -- Education -- India.
Subjects: Blind -- Services for -- India.
Notes: Includes bibliographical references (pages 273-275) and index.
Contents: Vision -- Braille without borders -- The blind leading the blind -- The neglected sense -- For the benefit of those who see -- Navigation -- The blind leading the sighted blind -- Perception -- Sight regained -- The definition of real -- Author's note -- Acknowledgments -- Bibliography -- Index.
LCCN: 2013025870
ISBN: 9780316043427 (hbk.)
ISBN: 0316043427 (hbk.)
Requests: 0
Available Copies: 1
Total Copies: 2
Call Number: 371.91109 Mah