Skip to content

Deep Winter

A Novel

By Samuel W Gailey

For fans of Alice Sebold and Scott Smith, a dark, gripping debut novel of literary suspense that The New York Times and critics describe as "beautifully written, suspenseful and fast-paced."

In the small town of Wyalusing, a woman is found brutally murdered one winter night. Next to the body is Danny Bedford, a misunderstood man who suffered a tragic brain injury that left him with limited mental capabilities. Despite his simple life, his intimidating size has caused his neighbors to ostracize him out of fear of what he may do. So when the local bully-turned-deputy discovers Danny with the body, it's obvious that Danny's physical strength has finally become deadly. But in the long, freezing night that follows, the murder is only the first in a series of crimes that viciously upset the town order--an unstoppable chain of violence that appears to make Danny's guilt undeniable. With the threat of an approaching blizzard, the local sheriff and a state trooper work through the predawn hours to restore some semblance of order to Wyalusing. As they investigate one unspeakable incident after another, they discover an intricate web of lies revealing that not everything is quite what it seems.

With echoes of Scott Smith's A Simple Plan and Tana French's In the Woods, Samuel W. Gailey's Deep Winter is a richly atmospheric and ingeniously plotted debut, surprising to the final page. It's impossible to escape this bone-chilling story of deception, where the truth is uncertain and something sinister lurks just below the surface. . .

Format

Book

Availability

Publish Date

2014

ISBN

9780399165962


Format: Book
Author: Gailey, Samuel W
Summary: "A literary thriller and rural noir set in a small Pennsylvania town. It opens with a brutal murder and follows several characters in their pursuit of the killer"-- Provided by publisher.
Title: Deep winter : a novel / Samuel W. Gailey.
Publisher Date: New York : Blue Rider Press, a member of Penguin Group (USA), [2014]
Subject: Murder -- Investigation -- Pennsylvania -- Fiction. FICTION / Thrillers.
Isbn: 9780399165962 (hbk.) 0399165967 (hbk.)
Current Holds: 0
System Items Available: 2
System Items Total: 2
Call Number: F Gailey
Oclc: 858081000
Upc:
Bib Id: 497865

Format: Book
Author: Gailey, Samuel W.
Summary: "In this compelling rural noir, a devastating murder in an isolated small town sets off an unstoppable chain of events made more complicated-and more dangerous-by the town's dark secrets"-- Provided by publisher.
Summary: "A literary thriller and rural noir set in a small Pennsylvania town. It opens with a brutal murder and follows several characters in their pursuit of the killer"-- Provided by publisher.
Title: Deep winter : a novel / Samuel W. Gailey.
Publisher, Date: New York : Blue Rider Press, a member of Penguin Group (USA), [2014]
Description: 290 pages ; 24 cm
Subjects: Murder -- Investigation -- Pennsylvania -- Fiction.
Subjects: FICTION / Thrillers.
Genre: Suspense fiction.
Genre: Noir fiction.
LCCN: 2013036456
ISBN: 9780399165962 (hbk.)
ISBN: 0399165967 (hbk.)
Requests: 0
Available Copies: 2
Total Copies: 2
Call Number: F Gailey