Skip to content

The Collector of Dying Breaths

A Novel Of Suspense

By M. J. Rose, 1953-

From the internationally bestselling author, a lush and imaginative novel that crisscrosses time as passion and obsessions collide

Florence, Italy—1533:

An orphan named René le Florentin is plucked from poverty to become Catherine de Medici’s perfumer. Traveling with the young duchessina from Italy to France, René brings with him a cache of secret documents from the monastery where he was trained: recipes for exotic fra­grances and potent medicines—and a formula for an alchemic process said to have the poten­tial to reanimate the dead.

In France, René becomes not only the greatest perfumer in the country, but also the most dangerous, creating deadly poisons for his Queen to use against her rivals. But while mixing herbs and essences under the light of flickering candles, René doesn’t begin to imag­ine the tragic and personal consequences for which his lethal potions will be responsible.

Paris, France—The Present:

A renowned mythologist, Jac L’Etoile—trying to recover from personal heartache by throw­ing herself into her work—learns of the sixteenth-century perfumer who may have been working on an elixir that would unlock the secret to immortality. She becomesobsessed with René le Florentin’s work—particularly when she discovers the dying breaths he had collected during his lifetime.

Jac’s efforts put her in the path of her estranged lover, Griffin North, a linguist who has already begun translating René le Flo­rentin’s mysterious formula. Together they confront an eccentric heiress in possession of a world-class art collection, a woman who has her own dark purpose for the elixir . . . for which she believes the ends will justify her deadly means.

This mesmerizing gothic tale zigzags from the violent days of Catherine de Medici’s court to twenty-first-century France. Fiery and lush, set against deep, wild forests and dimly lit cha­teaus, The Collector of Dying Breaths illuminates the true path to immortality: the legacies we leave behind.

Format

Book

Availability

All copies are currently loaned to other customers.
Place a Hold - It's easy, and you choose the pickup location.
Check Amazon - View this title on Amazon.com. If you purchase this title from Amazon a portion of the sale will benefit Richland Library.

Publish Date

2014

ISBN

9781451621532


Format: Book
Author: Rose, M. J., 1953-
Summary: "From one of America's most imaginative storytellers comes a passionate tale of love and treachery, spanning the days of Catherine de Medici's court to the twenty-first century and starring a woman drawn back, time and again, to the past. In 1533, an Italian orphan with an uncanny knack for creating fragrance is plucked from poverty to become Catherine de Medici's perfumer. To repay his debt, over the years Rene; le Florentine is occasionally called upon to put his vast knowledge to a darker purpose: the creation of deadly poisons used to dispatch the Queen's rivals. But it's Rene;'s other passion--a desire to reanimate a human breath, to bring back the lives of the two people whose deaths have devastated him--that incites a dangerous treasure hunt five centuries later. That's when Jac L'Etoile--suffering from a heartache of her own--becomes obsessed with the possibility of unlocking Rene's secret to immortality. Soon Jac's search reconnects her with Griffin North, a man she's loved her entire life. Together they confront an eccentric heiress whose art collection rivals many museums and who is determined to keep her treasures close at hand, not just in this life but in her next. Set in the forest of Fontainebleau, crisscrossing the lines between the past and the present, M.J. Rose has written a mesmerizing tale of passion and obsession. This is a gothic tale perfect for fans of Anne Rice, Deborah Harkness, and Diana Galbadon"-- Provided by publisher.
Title: The collector of dying breaths : a novel of suspense / M. J. Rose.
Publisher Date: New York : Atria Books, 2014.
Subject: FICTION / Historical. FICTION / Romance / Gothic. FICTION / Occult & Supernatural.
Isbn: 9781451621532 (hardback)
Current Holds: 0
System Items Available: 0
System Items Total: 2
Call Number: F Rose
Oclc:
Upc:
Bib Id: 508698

Format: Book
Author: Rose, M. J., 1953-
Summary: "From one of America's most imaginative storytellers comes a passionate tale of love and treachery, spanning the days of Catherine de Medici's court to the twenty-first century and starring a woman drawn back, time and again, to the past. In 1533, an Italian orphan with an uncanny knack for creating fragrance is plucked from poverty to become Catherine de Medici's perfumer. To repay his debt, over the years Rene; le Florentine is occasionally called upon to put his vast knowledge to a darker purpose: the creation of deadly poisons used to dispatch the Queen's rivals. But it's Rene;'s other passion--a desire to reanimate a human breath, to bring back the lives of the two people whose deaths have devastated him--that incites a dangerous treasure hunt five centuries later. That's when Jac L'Etoile--suffering from a heartache of her own--becomes obsessed with the possibility of unlocking Rene's secret to immortality. Soon Jac's search reconnects her with Griffin North, a man she's loved her entire life. Together they confront an eccentric heiress whose art collection rivals many museums and who is determined to keep her treasures close at hand, not just in this life but in her next. Set in the forest of Fontainebleau, crisscrossing the lines between the past and the present, M.J. Rose has written a mesmerizing tale of passion and obsession. This is a gothic tale perfect for fans of Anne Rice, Deborah Harkness, and Diana Galbadon"-- Provided by publisher.
Title: The collector of dying breaths : a novel of suspense / M. J. Rose.
Edition: First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Publisher, Date: New York : Atria Books, 2014.
Description: 368 pages ; 24 cm
Subjects: FICTION / Historical.
Subjects: FICTION / Romance / Gothic.
Subjects: FICTION / Occult & Supernatural.
LCCN: 2013041448
ISBN: 9781451621532 (hardback)
Requests: 0
Available Copies: 0
Total Copies: 2
Call Number: F Rose