Skip to content

The Collector of Dying Breaths

A Novel Of Suspense

By M. J. Rose, 1953-

"From one of America's most imaginative storytellers comes a passionate tale of love and treachery, spanning the days of Catherine de Medici's court to the twenty-first century and starring a woman drawn back, time and again, to the past. In 1533, an Italian orphan with an uncanny knack for creating fragrance is plucked from poverty to become Catherine de Medici's perfumer. To repay his debt, over the years Rene; le Florentine is occasionally called upon to put his vast knowledge to a darker purpose: the creation of deadly poisons used to dispatch the Queen's rivals. But it's Rene;'s other passion--a desire to reanimate a human breath, to bring back the lives of the two people whose deaths have devastated him--that incites a dangerous treasure hunt five centuries later. That's when Jac L'Etoile--suffering from a heartache of her own--becomes obsessed with the possibility of unlocking Rene's secret to immortality. Soon Jac's search reconnects her with Griffin North, a man she's loved her entire life. Together they confront an eccentric heiress whose art collection rivals many museums and who is determined to keep her treasures close at hand, not just in this life but in her next. Set in the forest of Fontainebleau, crisscrossing the lines between the past and the present, M.J. Rose has written a mesmerizing tale of passion and obsession. This is a gothic tale perfect for fans of Anne Rice, Deborah Harkness, and Diana Galbadon"-- Provided by publisher.

Format

Book

Availability

All copies are currently loaned to other customers.
Place a Hold - It's easy, and you choose the pickup location.
Check Amazon - View this title on Amazon.com. If you purchase this title from Amazon a portion of the sale will benefit Richland Library.

Publish Date

2014

ISBN

9781451621532


Format: Book
Author: Rose, M. J., 1953-
Summary: "From one of America's most imaginative storytellers comes a passionate tale of love and treachery, spanning the days of Catherine de Medici's court to the twenty-first century and starring a woman drawn back, time and again, to the past. In 1533, an Italian orphan with an uncanny knack for creating fragrance is plucked from poverty to become Catherine de Medici's perfumer. To repay his debt, over the years Rene; le Florentine is occasionally called upon to put his vast knowledge to a darker purpose: the creation of deadly poisons used to dispatch the Queen's rivals. But it's Rene;'s other passion--a desire to reanimate a human breath, to bring back the lives of the two people whose deaths have devastated him--that incites a dangerous treasure hunt five centuries later. That's when Jac L'Etoile--suffering from a heartache of her own--becomes obsessed with the possibility of unlocking Rene's secret to immortality. Soon Jac's search reconnects her with Griffin North, a man she's loved her entire life. Together they confront an eccentric heiress whose art collection rivals many museums and who is determined to keep her treasures close at hand, not just in this life but in her next. Set in the forest of Fontainebleau, crisscrossing the lines between the past and the present, M.J. Rose has written a mesmerizing tale of passion and obsession. This is a gothic tale perfect for fans of Anne Rice, Deborah Harkness, and Diana Galbadon"-- Provided by publisher.
Title: The collector of dying breaths : a novel of suspense / M. J. Rose.
Publisher Date: New York : Atria Books, 2014.
Subject: FICTION / Historical. FICTION / Romance / Gothic. FICTION / Occult & Supernatural.
Isbn: 9781451621532 (hardback)
Current Holds: 0
System Items Available: 0
System Items Total: 2
Call Number: F Rose
Oclc:
Upc:
Bib Id: 508698

Format: Book
Author: Rose, M. J., 1953-
Summary: "From one of America's most imaginative storytellers comes a passionate tale of love and treachery, spanning the days of Catherine de Medici's court to the twenty-first century and starring a woman drawn back, time and again, to the past. In 1533, an Italian orphan with an uncanny knack for creating fragrance is plucked from poverty to become Catherine de Medici's perfumer. To repay his debt, over the years Rene; le Florentine is occasionally called upon to put his vast knowledge to a darker purpose: the creation of deadly poisons used to dispatch the Queen's rivals. But it's Rene;'s other passion--a desire to reanimate a human breath, to bring back the lives of the two people whose deaths have devastated him--that incites a dangerous treasure hunt five centuries later. That's when Jac L'Etoile--suffering from a heartache of her own--becomes obsessed with the possibility of unlocking Rene's secret to immortality. Soon Jac's search reconnects her with Griffin North, a man she's loved her entire life. Together they confront an eccentric heiress whose art collection rivals many museums and who is determined to keep her treasures close at hand, not just in this life but in her next. Set in the forest of Fontainebleau, crisscrossing the lines between the past and the present, M.J. Rose has written a mesmerizing tale of passion and obsession. This is a gothic tale perfect for fans of Anne Rice, Deborah Harkness, and Diana Galbadon"-- Provided by publisher.
Title: The collector of dying breaths : a novel of suspense / M. J. Rose.
Edition: First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Publisher, Date: New York : Atria Books, 2014.
Description: 368 pages ; 24 cm
Subjects: FICTION / Historical.
Subjects: FICTION / Romance / Gothic.
Subjects: FICTION / Occult & Supernatural.
LCCN: 2013041448
ISBN: 9781451621532 (hardback)
Requests: 0
Available Copies: 0
Total Copies: 2
Call Number: F Rose