Skip to content

Take This Man

A Memoir

By Brando Skyhorse

From PEN/Hemingway award winner Brando Skyhorse comes this stunning, heartfelt memoir in the vein of The Glass Castle or The Tender Bar, the true story of a boy’s turbulent childhood growing up with five stepfathers and the mother who was determined to give her son everything but the truth.

When he was three years old, Brando Kelly Ulloa was abandoned by his Mexican father. His mother, Maria, dreaming of a more exciting life, saw no reason for her son to live his life as a Mexican just because he started out as one. The life of “Brando Skyhorse,” the American Indian son of an incarcerated political activist, was about to begin.

Through a series of letters to Paul Skyhorse Johnson, a stranger in prison for armed robbery, Maria reinvents herself and her young son as American Indians in the colorful Mexican-American neighborhood of Echo Park, California. There Brando and his mother live with his acerbic grandmother and a rotating cast of surrogate fathers. It will be over thirty years before Brando begins to untangle the truth of his own past, when a surprise discovery online leads him to his biological father at last.

From an acclaimed, prize-winning novelist celebrated for his “indelible storytelling” (O, The Oprah Magazine), this extraordinary literary memoir captures a son’s single-minded search for a father wherever he can find one, and is destined to become a classic.

Format

Book

Availability

All copies are currently loaned to other customers.
Place a Hold - It's easy, and you choose the pickup location.
Check Amazon - View this title on Amazon.com. If you purchase this title from Amazon a portion of the sale will benefit Richland Library.

Publish Date

2014

ISBN

9781439170878


Format: Book
Author: Skyhorse, Brando
Summary: "From PEN/Hemingway award winner Brando Skyhorse comes this stunning, heartfelt memoir in the vein of The Glass Castle or The Tender Bar, the true story of a boy's turbulent childhood growing up with five stepfathers and the mother who was determined to give her son everything but the truth. When he was three years old, Brando Kelly Ulloa was abandoned by his Mexican father. His mother, Maria, dreaming of a more exciting life, saw no reason for her son to live his life as a Mexican just because he started out as one. The life of 'Brando Skyhorse,' the American Indian son of an incarcerated political activist, was about to begin. Through a series of letters to Paul Skyhorse Johnson, a stranger in prison for armed robbery, Maria reinvents herself and her young son as American Indians in the colorful Mexican-American neighborhood of Echo Park, California. There Brando and his mother live with his acerbic grandmother and a rotating cast of surrogate fathers. It will be over thirty years before Brando begins to untangle the truth of his own past, when a surprise discovery online leads him to his biological father at last. From an acclaimed, prize-winning novelist celebrated for his 'indelible storytelling' (O, The Oprah Magazine), this extraordinary literary memoir captures a son's single-minded search for a father wherever he can find one, and is destined to become a classic"-- Provided by publisher.
Title: Take this man : a memoir / Brando Skyhorse.
Publisher Date: New York : Simon & Schuster, 2014.
Subject: Skyhorse, Brando -- Childhood and youth. Skyhorse, Brando -- Family. Authors, American -- 21st century -- Biography. Authors, American -- 21st century -- Family relationships. Mothers and sons -- United States. Fathers and sons -- United States. Identity (Psychology) -- United States. Mexican Americans -- California -- Los Angeles -- Biography. Echo Park (Los Angeles, Calif.) -- Biography. Los Angeles (Calif.) -- Biography.
Isbn: 9781439170878 (hardback) 1439170878 (hardback) 9781439170892 (trade paperback) 1439170894 (trade paperback)
Current Holds: 0
System Items Available: 0
System Items Total: 1
Call Number: B Skyhorse
Oclc: 876368008
Upc:
Bib Id: 525709

Format: Book
Author: Skyhorse, Brando.
Summary: "From PEN/Hemingway award winner Brando Skyhorse comes this stunning, heartfelt memoir in the vein of The Glass Castle or The Tender Bar, the true story of a boy's turbulent childhood growing up with five stepfathers and the mother who was determined to give her son everything but the truth. When he was three years old, Brando Kelly Ulloa was abandoned by his Mexican father. His mother, Maria, dreaming of a more exciting life, saw no reason for her son to live his life as a Mexican just because he started out as one. The life of 'Brando Skyhorse,' the American Indian son of an incarcerated political activist, was about to begin. Through a series of letters to Paul Skyhorse Johnson, a stranger in prison for armed robbery, Maria reinvents herself and her young son as American Indians in the colorful Mexican-American neighborhood of Echo Park, California. There Brando and his mother live with his acerbic grandmother and a rotating cast of surrogate fathers. It will be over thirty years before Brando begins to untangle the truth of his own past, when a surprise discovery online leads him to his biological father at last. From an acclaimed, prize-winning novelist celebrated for his 'indelible storytelling' (O, The Oprah Magazine), this extraordinary literary memoir captures a son's single-minded search for a father wherever he can find one, and is destined to become a classic"-- Provided by publisher.
Title: Take this man : a memoir / Brando Skyhorse.
Edition: First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition.
Publisher, Date: New York : Simon & Schuster, 2014.
Description: 258 pages ; 24 cm
Subjects: Skyhorse, Brando -- Childhood and youth.
Subjects: Skyhorse, Brando -- Family.
Subjects: Authors, American -- 21st century -- Biography.
Subjects: Authors, American -- 21st century -- Family relationships.
Subjects: Mothers and sons -- United States.
Subjects: Fathers and sons -- United States.
Subjects: Identity (Psychology) -- United States.
Subjects: Mexican Americans -- California -- Los Angeles -- Biography.
Subjects: Echo Park (Los Angeles, Calif.) -- Biography.
Subjects: Los Angeles (Calif.) -- Biography.
LCCN: 2013047740
ISBN: 9781439170878 (hardback)
ISBN: 1439170878 (hardback)
ISBN: 9781439170892 (trade paperback)
ISBN: 1439170894 (trade paperback)
Requests: 0
Available Copies: 0
Total Copies: 1
Call Number: B Skyhorse