Skip to content

The Illusionists

By Rosie Thomas

 

 The intoxicating new novel of magic and intrigue by “a master storyteller” (Cosmopolitan), for fans of The Night Circus and Water for Elephants

 

Over the course of three decades of writing, bestselling novelist Rosie Thomas has earned an untold number of awards and the devotion of millions of loyal readers. Her new novel, The Illusionists, set in London in 1870, is a thrilling step forward—a captivating tale of passion and fantasy set in the theater world.


At the start of The Illusionists, we meet Eliza, a young, beautiful woman of limited means. Eliza is modern before her time. Not for her the stifling if respectable conventionality of marriage, children, domestic drudgery. She longs for more. Through her work as an artist’s model, she meets the magnetic and irascible Devil—a born showman whose dream is to run his own theater company.


Devil’s right-hand man is the improbably-named Carlo Bonomi, an ill-tempered dwarf with an enormous talent for all things magic and illusion. Carlo and Devil clash at every opportunity and it constantly falls upon Eliza to broker an uneasy peace between them. And then there is Jasper Button. Mild-mannered, and a family man at heart, it is his gift as an artist that makes him the unlikely final member of the motley crew.


Thrown together by a twist of fate, their lives are inextricably linked: the fortune of one depends on the fortune of the other. And as Eliza gets sucked into the seductive and dangerous world her strange companions inhabit, she risks not only her heart, but also her life, which is soon thrown into peril.


Format

Book

Availability

All copies are currently loaned to other customers.
Place a Hold - It's easy, and you choose the pickup location.
Check Amazon - View this title on Amazon.com. If you purchase this title from Amazon a portion of the sale will benefit Richland Library.

Publish Date

2014

ISBN

9781468309904


Format: Book
Author: Thomas, Rosie
Summary: London 1870. A terrifying place for a young, beautiful woman of limited means. But Eliza is modern before her time. Not for her the stifling if respectable conventionality of marriage, children, domestic drudgery. She longs for more. Through her work as an artist's model, she meets the magnetic and irascible Devil - a born showman whose dream is to run his own theatre company. Devil's right-hand man is the improbably-named Carlo Bonomi, an ill-tempered dwarf with an enormous talent for all things magic and illusion. Carlo and Devil clash at every opportunity and it constantly falls upon Eliza to broker an uneasy peace between them. And then there is Jasper Button. Mild-mannered, and a family man at heart, it is his gift as an artist which makes him the unlikely final member of the motley crew. Thrown together by a twist of fate, their lives are inextricably linked: the fortune of one depends on the fortune of the other. And as Eliza gets sucked into the seductive and dangerous world her strange companions inhabit, she risks not only her heart, but also her life...
Title: The Illusionists / Rosie Thomas.
Publisher Date: New York : Overlook Press, 2014
Subject: London (England) -- Social life and customs -- 19th century -- Fiction.
Isbn: 9781468309904 1468309900
Current Holds: 0
System Items Available: 0
System Items Total: 4
Call Number: F Thomas
Oclc: 873762484
Upc:
Bib Id: 533418

Format: Book
Author: Thomas, Rosie.
Summary: London 1870. A terrifying place for a young, beautiful woman of limited means. But Eliza is modern before her time. Not for her the stifling if respectable conventionality of marriage, children, domestic drudgery. She longs for more. Through her work as an artist's model, she meets the magnetic and irascible Devil - a born showman whose dream is to run his own theatre company. Devil's right-hand man is the improbably-named Carlo Bonomi, an ill-tempered dwarf with an enormous talent for all things magic and illusion. Carlo and Devil clash at every opportunity and it constantly falls upon Eliza to broker an uneasy peace between them. And then there is Jasper Button. Mild-mannered, and a family man at heart, it is his gift as an artist which makes him the unlikely final member of the motley crew. Thrown together by a twist of fate, their lives are inextricably linked: the fortune of one depends on the fortune of the other. And as Eliza gets sucked into the seductive and dangerous world her strange companions inhabit, she risks not only her heart, but also her life...
Title: The Illusionists / Rosie Thomas.
Publisher, Date: New York : Overlook Press, 2014
Description: 472 pages ; 25 cm
Subjects: London (England) -- Social life and customs -- 19th century -- Fiction.
Genre: Historical fiction.
Notes: First published in Great Britain by HarperCollins Publishers, 2014.
ISBN: 9781468309904
ISBN: 1468309900
Requests: 0
Available Copies: 0
Total Copies: 4
Call Number: F Thomas