Skip to content

The Hundred-year House

By Rebecca Makkai

The acclaimed author of The Borrower returns with a dazzlingly original, mordantly witty novel about the secrets of an old-money family and their turn-of-the-century estate, Laurelfield.

“Rebecca Makkai is a writer to watch, as sneakily ambitious as she is unpretentious."
Richard Russo

Meet the Devohrs: Zee, a Marxist literary scholar who detests her parents’ wealth but nevertheless finds herself living in their carriage house; Gracie, her mother, who claims she can tell your lot in life by looking at your teeth; and Bruce, her step-father, stockpiling supplies for the Y2K apocalypse and perpetually late for his tee time. Then there’s Violet Devohr, Zee’s great-grandmother, who they say took her own life somewhere in the vast house, and whose massive oil portrait still hangs in the dining room.

Violet’s portrait was known to terrify the artists who resided at the house from the 1920s to the 1950s, when it served as the Laurelfield Arts Colony—and this is exactly the period Zee’s husband, Doug, is interested in. An out-of-work academic whose only hope of a future position is securing a book deal, Doug is stalled on his biography of the poet Edwin Parfitt, once in residence at the colony. All he needs to get the book back on track—besides some motivation and self-esteem—is access to the colony records, rotting away in the attic for decades. But when Doug begins to poke around where he shouldn’t, he finds Gracie guards the files with a strange ferocity, raising questions about what she might be hiding. The secrets of the hundred-year house would turn everything Doug and Zee think they know about her family on its head—that is, if they were to ever uncover them.

In this brilliantly conceived, ambitious, and deeply rewarding novel, Rebecca Makkai unfolds a generational saga in reverse, leading the reader back in time on a literary scavenger hunt as we seek to uncover the truth about these strange people and this mysterious house. With intelligence and humor, a daring narrative approach, and a lovingly satirical voice, Rebecca Makkai has crafted an unforgettable novel about family, fate and the incredible surprises life can offer.

For readers of Dodie Smith's I Capture the Castle

Format

Book

More Formats

Ebook

The hundred-year house

Ebook

The Hundred-Year House

Availability

All copies are currently loaned to other customers.
Place a Hold - It's easy, and you choose the pickup location.
Check Amazon - View this title on Amazon.com. If you purchase this title from Amazon a portion of the sale will benefit Richland Library.

Publish Date

2014

ISBN

9780525426684


Format: Book
Author: Makkai, Rebecca
Summary: "A dazzlingly original new novel from the acclaimed author of The Borrower. Now, Makkai returns with an ingenious novel set on an historic estate that once housed an arts colony. Doug, the husband of the estate's heir, desperately needs the colony files to get his stalled academic career back on track. But what he discovers when he finally gets his hands on them is more than he bargained for. Doug may never learn the house's secrets, but the reader will, as Makkai leads us on a thrilling journey into the past of this eccentric family"-- Provided by publisher.
Title: The hundred-year house / Rebecca Makkai.
Publisher Date: New York : Viking, [2014]
Subject: College teachers -- Fiction. Family secrets -- Fiction. Artist colonies -- Fiction. Eccentrics and eccentricities -- Fiction. FICTION / General. FICTION / Literary. FICTION / Historical.
Isbn: 9780525426684 (hardback) 052542668X (hardback)
Current Holds: 0
System Items Available: 0
System Items Total: 3
Call Number: F Makkai
Oclc: 861478903
Upc:
Bib Id: 534632

Format: Book
Author: Makkai, Rebecca.
Summary: "A dazzlingly original new novel from the acclaimed author of The Borrower. Now, Makkai returns with an ingenious novel set on an historic estate that once housed an arts colony. Doug, the husband of the estate's heir, desperately needs the colony files to get his stalled academic career back on track. But what he discovers when he finally gets his hands on them is more than he bargained for. Doug may never learn the house's secrets, but the reader will, as Makkai leads us on a thrilling journey into the past of this eccentric family"-- Provided by publisher.
Title: The hundred-year house / Rebecca Makkai.
Publisher, Date: New York : Viking, [2014]
Description: 338 pages ; 22 cm
Subjects: College teachers -- Fiction.
Subjects: Family secrets -- Fiction.
Subjects: Artist colonies -- Fiction.
Subjects: Eccentrics and eccentricities -- Fiction.
Subjects: FICTION / General.
Subjects: FICTION / Literary.
Subjects: FICTION / Historical.
LCCN: 2013047855
ISBN: 9780525426684 (hardback)
ISBN: 052542668X (hardback)
Requests: 0
Available Copies: 0
Total Copies: 3
Call Number: F Makkai