Skip to content

Alias Hook

By Lisa Jensen, 1952-

"Every child knows how the story ends. The wicked pirate captain is flung overboard, caught in the jaws of the monster crocodile who drags him down to a watery grave. But it was not yet my time to die. It's my fate to be trapped here forever, in a nightmare of childhood fancy, with that infernal, eternal boy."

Meet Captain James Benjamin Hook, a witty, educated Restoration-era privateer cursed to play villain to a pack of malicious little boys in a pointless war that never ends. But everything changes when Stella Parrish, a forbidden grown woman, dreams her way to the Neverland in defiance of Pan’s rules. From the glamour of the Fairy Revels, to the secret ceremonies of the First Tribes, to the mysterious underwater temple beneath the Mermaid Lagoon, the magical forces of the Neverland open up for Stella as they never have for Hook. And in the pirate captain himself, she begins to see someone far more complex than the storybook villain.

With Stella’s knowledge of folk and fairy tales, she might be Hook’s last chance for redemption and release if they can break his curse before Pan and his warrior boys hunt her down and drag Hook back to their neverending game. Alias Hook by Lisa Jensen is a beautifully and romantically written adult fairy tale.

Format

Book

Availability

Publish Date

2014

ISBN

9781250042156


Format: Book
Author: Jensen, Lisa, 1952-
Summary: ""Every child knows how the story ends. The wicked pirate captain is flung overboard, caught in the jaws of the monster crocodile who drags him down to a watery grave. But it was not yet my time to die. It's my fate to be trapped here forever, in a nightmare of childhood fancy, with that infernal, eternal boy." Meet Captain James Benjamin Hook, a witty, educated Restoration-era privateer cursed to play villain to a pack of malicious little boys in a pointless war that never ends. But everything changes when Stella Parrish, a forbidden grown woman, dreams her way to the Neverland in defiance of Pan's rules. From the glamour of the Fairy Revels, to the secret ceremonies of the First Tribes, to the mysterious underwater temple beneath the Mermaid Lagoon, the magical forces of the Neverland open up for Stella as they never have for Hook. And in the pirate captain himself, she begins to see someone far more complex than the storybook villain. With Stella's knowledge of folk and fairy tales, she might be Hook's last chance for redemption and release if they can break his curse before Pan and his warrior boys hunt her down and drag Hook back to their neverending game, in this beautifully and romantically written adult fairy tale perfect for fans of Gregory Maguire and Paula Brackston"-- Provided by publisher.
Title: Alias Hook / Lisa Jensen.
Publisher Date: New York : Thomas Dunne Books, St. Martin's Press, 2014.
Subject: Pirates -- Fiction. Imaginary creatures -- Fiction. Fairy tales -- Fiction. FICTION / Fantasy / Historical. FICTION / Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology.
Isbn: 9781250042156 (hardback)
Current Holds: 0
System Items Available: 4
System Items Total: 8
Call Number: F Jensen
Oclc:
Upc:
Bib Id: 534824

Format: Book
Author: Jensen, Lisa, 1952-
Summary: ""Every child knows how the story ends. The wicked pirate captain is flung overboard, caught in the jaws of the monster crocodile who drags him down to a watery grave. But it was not yet my time to die. It's my fate to be trapped here forever, in a nightmare of childhood fancy, with that infernal, eternal boy." Meet Captain James Benjamin Hook, a witty, educated Restoration-era privateer cursed to play villain to a pack of malicious little boys in a pointless war that never ends. But everything changes when Stella Parrish, a forbidden grown woman, dreams her way to the Neverland in defiance of Pan's rules. From the glamour of the Fairy Revels, to the secret ceremonies of the First Tribes, to the mysterious underwater temple beneath the Mermaid Lagoon, the magical forces of the Neverland open up for Stella as they never have for Hook. And in the pirate captain himself, she begins to see someone far more complex than the storybook villain. With Stella's knowledge of folk and fairy tales, she might be Hook's last chance for redemption and release if they can break his curse before Pan and his warrior boys hunt her down and drag Hook back to their neverending game, in this beautifully and romantically written adult fairy tale perfect for fans of Gregory Maguire and Paula Brackston"-- Provided by publisher.
Title: Alias Hook / Lisa Jensen.
Edition: First U.S. edition.
Publisher, Date: New York : Thomas Dunne Books, St. Martin's Press, 2014.
Description: 353 pages : illustration ; 22 cm
Subjects: Pirates -- Fiction.
Subjects: Imaginary creatures -- Fiction.
Subjects: Fairy tales -- Fiction.
Subjects: FICTION / Fantasy / Historical.
Subjects: FICTION / Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology.
Notes: "Originally published in Great Britain by Snowbooks"--Title page verso.
LCCN: 2014008906
ISBN: 9781250042156 (hardback)
Requests: 0
Available Copies: 4
Total Copies: 8
Call Number: F Jensen