New Arrivals for Teens February 25, 2014 | Richland Library Skip to content
Heartbeat, by Elizabeth Scott

New Arrivals for Teens February 25, 2014

Check out these new arrivals for teens, or drop by any Richland Library location for more options.


Amazon Says: Click the link above to see the fully up-to-date second edition of the SAT Prep Black Book for advice on the current version of the SAT, along with over 600 detailed walkth more...
Amazon Says: Click the link above to see the fully up-to-date second edition of the SAT Prep Black Book for advice on the current version of the SAT, along with over 600 detailed walkthroughs of real SAT questions from the College Board! Click the "look inside" feature above to browse the Black Book and get a feel for how it approaches the SAT! The "SAT Prep Black Book" gives you unique, effective SAT strategies from Mike Barrett, an SAT tutor with clients all over the globe who pay him hundreds of dollars an hour for phone tutoring. The Black Book is a must-have, whether you need to make a perfect 2400 to be competitive at an Ivy, score a 450 in each section to claim a sports scholarship, or anything in between. The Black Book works best when used with the authentic SAT questions in the "Blue Book," which is the College Board's Official SAT Study Guide. The Black Book shows you how to beat the SAT, while the Blue Book gives you real SAT questions to practice with. (The SAT Prep Black Book has no affiliation with the College Board.) The Black Book and the Blue Book are all you need to get your best possible SAT score. The Black Book is the ideal SAT book for 3 major reasons: It actually works, making it unique in the SAT prep field. There are no lists of "SAT vocab" to memorize or anything like that. Instead, you'll exploit design flaws in the SAT, using its own "SAT tricks" against it. The Black Book contains 250+ solutions for real SAT questions from the Blue Book, so you know it actually works. (You'll need the 2nd edition of the Blue Book to use these solutions.) The Black Book is a clear, concise roadmap to the SAT. (See the table of contents below). It explains exactly how every SAT question works, and how to beat it in the least time possible. Click the "look inside" feature above to browse the Black Book and get a feel for how it approaches the SAT! SAT Book Table Of Contents (Selected) Be sure to check the "look inside" feature above. Here's a selection from the table of contents: F.A.Q.? Setting (the right) goals How to train for the SAT: mastering the ideas in this book Only work with SAT questions from the College Board! A word on SAT guessing: Don't How to avoid "careless errors" Where to find "missing points" Time management The SAT's big secret SAT Passage-Based Reading The big secret of SAT Reading . . . SAT Sentence Completion 5 reasons memorizing vocabulary isn't the best idea What if we don't know enough words? . . . SAT Math The big secret of SAT Math The 2 critical components of SAT Math success . . . The SAT Essay . . . SAT Writing multiple-choice How to improve on the Writing section . . . Being an SAT machine 8 things you thought you knew about the SAT are wrong The nature of elite scores Advice for non-native English speakers A final piece of advice Click the "look inside" feature above to browse the Black Book and get a feel for how it approaches the SAT! less...
Amazon

Anything to Have You by Paige Harbison
Amazon Says: Nothing should come between best friends, not even boys. ESPECIALLY not boys.  Natalie and Brooke have had each other's backs forever. Natalie is the quiet one, college boun more...
Amazon Says: Nothing should come between best friends, not even boys. ESPECIALLY not boys.  Natalie and Brooke have had each other's backs forever. Natalie is the quiet one, college bound and happy to stay home and watch old movies. Brooke is the movie—the life of every party, the girl everyone wants to be.   Then it happens—one crazy night that Natalie can't remember and Brooke's boyfriend, Aiden, can't forget. Suddenly there's a question mark in Natalie and Brooke's friendship that tests everything they thought they knew about each other and has both girls discovering what true friendship really means. less...
Amazon

The Gospel of Winter by Brendan Kiely
Amazon Says: A fearless debut novel about the restorative power of truth and love after the trauma of abuse. As sixteen-year-old Aidan Donovan’s fractured family disintegrates around hi more...
Amazon Says: A fearless debut novel about the restorative power of truth and love after the trauma of abuse. As sixteen-year-old Aidan Donovan’s fractured family disintegrates around him, he searches for solace in a few bumps of Adderall, his father’s wet bar, and the attentions of his local priest, Father Greg—the only adult who actually listens to him. When Christmas hits, Aidan’s world collapses in a crisis of trust when he recognizes the darkness of Father Greg’s affections. He turns to a crew of new friends to help make sense of his life: Josie, the girl he just might love; Sophie, who’s a little wild; and Mark, the charismatic swim team captain whose own secret agonies converge with Aidan’s. The Gospel of Winter maps the ways love can be used as a weapon against the innocent—but can also, in the right hands, restore hope and even faith. Brendan Kiely’s unflinching and courageous debut novel exposes the damage from the secrets we keep and proves that in truth, there is power. And real love. less...
Amazon

Amazon Says: In this sequel to the dystopian fantasy-adventure ELEMENTAL, which James Dashner called "fantastic," the stakes are life-or-death and nothing is as it appears to be.   Thomas more...
Amazon Says: In this sequel to the dystopian fantasy-adventure ELEMENTAL, which James Dashner called "fantastic," the stakes are life-or-death and nothing is as it appears to be.   Thomas and his friends have rescued the Guardians and commandeered the pirates' ship, but the pirates still hold fast to Roanoke Island. Using his newly discovered element, Thomas hears a radio message calling for refugees to head to Fort Sumter. They sail south, but quickly discover that their elements wane as they leave Roanoke behind. There is something sinister going on in the refugee colony too. From the perilous food-gathering squads, to the constant threat of rat infestation, to dangerous secrets, Thomas and his colonists begin to realize that this promising new world may be even more terrifying than the one they left behind. Fans of The Maze Runner and Ship Breaker will love the fast pace, high stakes, and touches of romance in this thrilling novel by an award-winning author. less...
Amazon
Print