Skip to content
The Wicked Game, by Michelle Zink

New Arrivals for Teens January 22, 2014

Check out some of the newest arrivals for teens, below, or drop by Richland Library for more great options!


This Wicked Game by Michelle Zink
Amazon Says: For fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Holly Black comes a dark mystery set in a secret New Orleans voodoo society. Claire Kincaid would love to be normal. But as a more...
Amazon Says: For fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Holly Black comes a dark mystery set in a secret New Orleans voodoo society. Claire Kincaid would love to be normal. But as a descendant of Marie Laveau, the most powerful voodoo queen in history, that’s just not possible. Even worse, Claire’s lack of interest in the craft makes her an outsider in her community, putting her secret romance with the voodoo Guild leader’s son at odds. But when mysterious strangers start requesting black market items from local voodoo shops, including the one her family owns, Claire decides to investigate. With the help of some unlikely allies and her gorgeous boyfriend, Claire must uncover the dark truths her family has kept hidden from her and unravel a dangerous plot that threatens to destroy every member of the Guild, including her family and the boy she loves. less...
Amazon


Loud Awake and Lost by Adele Griffin
Amazon Says: LOUD. There was an accident. Ember knows at least that much. She was driving. The car was totaled. She suffered back injuries and brain trauma. But she is alive. That's the more...
Amazon Says: LOUD. There was an accident. Ember knows at least that much. She was driving. The car was totaled. She suffered back injuries and brain trauma. But she is alive. That's the only thing left she can cling to. AWAKE. Eight months later, Ember feels broken. The pieces of her former self no longer fit together. She can't even remember the six weeks of her life leading up to the accident. Where was she going? Who was she with? And what happened during those six weeks that her friends and family won't talk about? LOST. One by one, Ember discovers the answers to these questions, like a twisted game of dominos. And little by little, the person she used to be slips further and further away. In the wake of her critically praised young adult psychological thrillers, Tighter and All You Never Wanted, National Book Award finalist Adele Griffin has created another triumph. Loud Awake and Lost is an unflinching story of loss and recovery. less...
Amazon


Friday Never Leaving by Vikki Wakefield
Amazon Says: In this wrenching, exquisite coming-of-age novel, Friday discovers what makes a family—and a home. Friday Brown has never had a home. She and her mother live on the more...
Amazon Says: In this wrenching, exquisite coming-of-age novel, Friday discovers what makes a family—and a home. Friday Brown has never had a home. She and her mother live on the road, running away from the past instead of putting down roots. So when her mom succumbs to cancer, the only thing Friday can do is keep moving. Her journey takes her to an abandoned house where a bunch of street kids are squatting, and an intimidating girl named Arden holds court. Friday gets initiated into the group, but her relationship with Arden is precarious, which puts Friday—and anyone who befriends her—at risk. With the threat of a dangerous confrontation looming, Friday has to decide between returning to her isolated, transient life, or trying to help the people she’s come to care about—if she can still make it out alive. less...
Amazon


The Burning Sky by Sherry Thomas
Amazon Says: Just before the start of Summer Half, in April 1883, a very minor event took place at Eton College, that venerable and illustrious English public school for boys. A sixteen-ye more...
Amazon Says: Just before the start of Summer Half, in April 1883, a very minor event took place at Eton College, that venerable and illustrious English public school for boys. A sixteen-year-old pupil named Archer Fairfax returned from a three-month absence, caused by a fractured femur, to resume his education. Almost every word in the preceding sentence is false. Archer Fairfax had not suffered a broken limb. He had never before set foot in Eton. His name was not Archer Fairfax. And he was not, in fact, even a he. This is the story of a girl who fooled a thousand boys, a boy who fooled an entire country, a partnership that would change the fate of realms, and a power to challenge the greatest tyrant the world had ever known. Expect magic. less...
Amazon


Enders by Lissa Price
Amazon Says: The riveting conclusion to the sci-fi thriller STARTERS! Someone is after Starters like Callie and Michael—teens with chips in their brains. They want to experiment o more...
Amazon Says: The riveting conclusion to the sci-fi thriller STARTERS! Someone is after Starters like Callie and Michael—teens with chips in their brains. They want to experiment on anyone left over from Prime Destinations—Starters who can be controlled and manipulated. With the body bank destroyed, Callie no longer has to rent herself out to creepy Enders. But Enders can still get inside her mind and make her do things she doesn't want to do. Like hurt someone she loves. Having the chip removed could save her life—but it could also silence the voice in her head that might belong to her father. Callie has flashes of her ex-renter Helena's memories, too . . . and the Old Man is back, filling her with fear. Who is real and who is masquerading in a teen body? No one is ever who they appear to be, not even the Old Man. Determined to find out who he really is and grasping at the hope of a normal life for herself and her younger brother, Callie is ready to fight for the truth. Even if it kills her. “Adrenaline-fueled . . .  Fans of Starters will gobble this up.”—Booklist   “Delightfully disturbing.”—Kirkus Reviews less...
Amazon

Print

Comment about this page...