Skip to content
The Originals, by Cat Patrick

New Arrivals for Teens June 25, 2013

Check out what's new in the teen collection, below, or drop by any Richland Library location for even more options!

And don't miss out on the July opening of the Teen Center at Richland Library Main!


The Originals by Cat Patrick
Amazon Says: A riveting new story from Cat Patrick, author of Forgotten and Revived. 17-year-olds Lizzie, Ella, and Betsey Best grew up as identical triplets... until they discovered a s more...
Amazon Says: A riveting new story from Cat Patrick, author of Forgotten and Revived. 17-year-olds Lizzie, Ella, and Betsey Best grew up as identical triplets... until they discovered a shocking family secret. They're actually closer than sisters, they're clones. Hiding from a government agency that would expose them, the Best family appears to consist of a single mother with one daughter named Elizabeth. Lizzie, Ella, and Betsey take turns going to school, attending social engagements, and a group mindset has always been a de facto part of life... Then Lizzie meets Sean Kelly, a guy who seems to see into her very soul. As their relationship develops, Lizzie realizes that she's not a carbon copy of her sisters; she's an individual with unique dreams and desires, and digging deeper into her background, Lizzie begins to dismantle the delicate balance of an unusual family that only science could have created. less...
Amazon

Yellowcake by Margo Lanagan
Amazon Says: Yellowcake brings together ten short stories from the extraordinarily talented Margo Lanagan--each of them fiercely original and quietly heartbreaking. The stories ran more...
Amazon Says: Yellowcake brings together ten short stories from the extraordinarily talented Margo Lanagan--each of them fiercely original and quietly heartbreaking. The stories range from fantasy and fairy tale to horror and stark reality, and yet what pervades is the sense of humanity.  The people of Lanagan's worlds face trials, temptations, and degradations. They swoon and suffer and even kill for love. In a dangerous world, they seek the solace and strength that comes from family and belonging.  These are stories to be savored slowly and pondered deeply because they cut to the very heart of who we are. “Haunting, gorgeous, and sometimes painful, Lanagan’s stories are unlike anything else in fantasy literature.” --Publishers Weekly, starred review "Lanagan unravels familiar myths and fairy tales, weaving them into unique, sharply resonant forms in this characteristically stunning collection." --Kirkus, starred review less...
Amazon

The Last Academy by Anne Applegate
Amazon Says: What is this prep school preparing them for? Camden Fisher arrives at boarding school haunted by a falling-out with her best friend back home. But the manicured grounds of Le more...
Amazon Says: What is this prep school preparing them for? Camden Fisher arrives at boarding school haunted by a falling-out with her best friend back home. But the manicured grounds of Lethe Academy are like nothing Cam has ever known. There are gorgeous, preppy boys wielding tennis rackets, and circles of girls with secrets to spare. Only . . . something is not quite right. One of Cam's new friends mysteriously disappears, but the teachers don't seem too concerned. Cam wakes up to strangers in her room, who then melt into the night. She is suddenly plagued by odd memories, and senses there might be something dark and terrible brewing. But what? The answer will leave Cam--and readers--stunned and breathless, in this thrilling debut novel. less...
Amazon

Amazon Says: The climactic conclusion of Printz Award winner Melina Marchetta’s epic fantasy trilogy! Separated from the girl he loves and has sworn to protect, Froi and his comp more...
Amazon Says: The climactic conclusion of Printz Award winner Melina Marchetta’s epic fantasy trilogy! Separated from the girl he loves and has sworn to protect, Froi and his companions travel through Charyn searching for Quintana and building an army that will secure her unborn child’s right to rule. While in the valley between two kingdoms, Quintana of Charyn and Isaboe of Lumatere come face-to-face in a showdown that will result in heartbreak for one and power for the other. The complex tangle of bloodlines, politics, and love introduced in Finnikin of the Rock and Froi of the Exiles coalesce into an engrossing climax in this final volume. less...
Amazon

Truth or Dare by Jacqueline Green
Amazon Says: When a simple round of truth or dare spins out of control, three girls find it's no longer a party game -- it's do or die. It all started on a whim: The game was a way more...
Amazon Says: When a simple round of truth or dare spins out of control, three girls find it's no longer a party game -- it's do or die. It all started on a whim: The game was a way for Tenley Reed to reclaim her popularity, a chance for perfect Caitlin "Angel" Thomas to prove she's more than her Harvard application. Loner Sydney Morgan wasn't even there; she was hiding behind her camera, as usual. But when all three start receiving mysterious dares long after the party has ended, they're forced to play along -- or risk exposing their darkest secrets. How far will Tenley, Caitlin, and Sydney go to keep the truth from surfacing? And who's behind this twisted game? Set against the backdrop of Echo Bay, an isolated beach town haunted by misfortune, Truth or Dare is a highly charged debut that will keep readers in suspense from beginning to end. less...
Amazon

Amazon Says: For fans of Louise Rennison, Sarah Mlynowski, and Stephanie Perkins comes a laugh-out-loud, bittersweet debut full of wit, wisdom, heart, and a hilarious, unforgettable her more...
Amazon Says: For fans of Louise Rennison, Sarah Mlynowski, and Stephanie Perkins comes a laugh-out-loud, bittersweet debut full of wit, wisdom, heart, and a hilarious, unforgettable heroine. It's kind of crazy how you can pay so much attention to yourself and still not see a thing. Izzy is a hypochondriac with enormous boobs that won't stop growing, a mother with a rare disease who's hiding something, a best friend who appears to have undergone a personality transplant, and a date with an out-of-her-league athlete who just spilled Gatorade all over her. Yes, Izzy Skymen has a hectic life. But what Izzy doesn't realize is that these are only minor symptoms of life's insanity. When she discovers that the people she trusts most are withholding from her the biggest secrets, things are about to get epic -- or is it epidemic? less...
Amazon

Amazon Says: Ever since Sarah Jones s best friend Jamie died in a freak accident, life has felt sort of...random. Sarah has always followed the rules her father is the school superintenden more...
Amazon Says: Ever since Sarah Jones s best friend Jamie died in a freak accident, life has felt sort of...random. Sarah has always followed the rules her father is the school superintendent, and she s always been a good student, a good pal, a good girlfriend. Now what? Her grades are plummeting, she and her boyfriend are drifting apart, and if she doesn t get her act together, her parents might have to resort to taking her beloved dog Ruby away from her. In a last ditch effort to pull it together, Sarah ends up working for Roy, a local eccentric who owns a Christmas tree farm, and who might also be trying to understand the rules, patterns, and connections in life. Will life ever make sense again? less...
Amazon

Cinders & Sapphires by Leila Rasheed
Amazon Says: One house, two worlds... Rose Cliffe has never met a young lady like her new mistress. Clever, rich, and beautiful, Ada Averley treats Rose as an equal. And Rose could use a more...
Amazon Says: One house, two worlds... Rose Cliffe has never met a young lady like her new mistress. Clever, rich, and beautiful, Ada Averley treats Rose as an equal. And Rose could use a friend. Especially now that she, at barely sixteen, has risen to the position of ladies’ maid. Rose knows she should be grateful to have a place at a house like Somerton. Still, she can’t help but wonder what her life might have been had she been born a lady, like Ada. For the first time in a decade, the Averleys have returned to Somerton, their majestic ancestral estate. But terrible scandal has followed Ada’s beloved father all the way from India. Now Ada finds herself torn between her own happiness and her family’s honor. Only she has the power to restore the Averley name—but it would mean giving up her one true love . . . someone she could never persuade her father to accept. Sumptuous and enticing, the first novel in the At Somerton series introduces two worlds, utterly different yet entangled, where ruthless ambition, forbidden attraction, and unspoken dreams are hidden behind dutiful smiles and glittering jewels. All those secrets are waiting . . . at Somerton.  “A thoroughly satisfying romp for Downton Abbey fans…Breathless readers will look forward to the next sudsy chapter in this planned series.” --Kirkus Reviews “Readers who always wondered how the heroines of Jane Austen’s novels would have fared in a world careening towards modernity need not look any further.” --VOYA less...
Amazon
Print

Comment about this page...