New Arrivals for Teens October 2, 2013 | Richland Library Skip to content
Boxers, by Gene Luen Yang

New Arrivals for Teens October 2, 2013

Check out some of the newest titles to hit the teen shelves at Richland Library. Stop by any library location for more great options!


Saints by Gene Luen Yang
Leah B. Says: Teen Graphic Novel
Amazon Says: Gene Luen Yang is the National Ambassador for Young People's Literature and is a MacArthur Fellow, a recipient of what's popularly known as the MacArthur "Genius" Grant.A New more...
Amazon Says: Gene Luen Yang is the National Ambassador for Young People's Literature and is a MacArthur Fellow, a recipient of what's popularly known as the MacArthur "Genius" Grant.A New York Times bestsellerChina, 1898. An unwanted fourth daughter, Four-Girl isn't even given a proper name by her family. She finds friendship-and a name, Vibiana-in the most unlikely of places: Christianity. But China is a dangerous place for Christians. The Boxer Rebellion is murdering Westerners and Chinese Christians alike. Torn between her nation and her Christian friends, Vibiana will have to decide where her true loyalties lie . . . and whether she is willing to die for her faith. ---- Boxers & Saints is a groundbreaking graphic novel in two volumes. This innovative format presents two parallel tales about young people caught up on opposite sides of a violent rift. Saints tells Vibiana's story, and the companion volume, Boxers, tells the story of Little Bao, a young man who joins the Boxer Rebellion. American Born Chinese author Gene Luen Yang brings his trademark magical realism to the complexities of the Boxer Rebellion, and lays bare the universal foundations of extremism, rebellion, and faith. less...
Amazon

Unthinkable by Nancy Werlin
Amazon Says: This much anticipated sequel to the New York Times Bestseller Impossible – a fantasy full of suspense, mystery, and romance – will appeal to fans of Beautiful Creatures, R more...
Amazon Says: This much anticipated sequel to the New York Times Bestseller Impossible – a fantasy full of suspense, mystery, and romance – will appeal to fans of Beautiful Creatures, Raven Boys, and Wicked Lovely. Fenella was the first Scarborough girl to be cursed, hundreds of years ago, and she has been trapped in the faerie realm ever since, forced to watch generations of daughters try to break this same faerie curse that has enslaved them all. But now Fenella’s descendant, Lucy, has accomplished the impossible and broken the curse, so why is Fenella still trapped in Faerie?   In her desperation, Fenella makes a deal with the faerie queen: If she can accomplish three acts of destruction, she will be free, at last, to die.  What she doesn't realize is that these acts must be aimed at her own family – and if she fails, the consequences will be dire, for all of the Scarborough girls.   How can she possibly choose to hurt her own cherished family – not to mention the new man whom she’s surprised to find herself falling in love with? But if she doesn’t go through with the tasks, how will she manage to save her dear ones? less...
Amazon

Fire & Ash by Jonathan Maberry
Amazon Says: In the gripping conclusion to the action-packed “standard bearer” (Booklist) of zombie series, the threat of death is given new life. Benny Imura and his friends h more...
Amazon Says: In the gripping conclusion to the action-packed “standard bearer” (Booklist) of zombie series, the threat of death is given new life. Benny Imura and his friends have found the jet and Sanctuary—but neither is what they expected. Instead of a refuge, Sanctuary is a hospice, and the soldiers who flew the plane seem to be little more than bureaucrats who have given up hope for humanity’s future. With Chong hovering between life and death, clinging to his humanity by a thread, Benny makes a startling discovery: A scientist may have discovered a cure for the zombie plague. Desperate to save Chong, Benny and his friends mount a search and rescue mission. But they’re not the only ones on the hunt. The reapers are after the cure too, and they want to use it turn all the zombies into superfast shock troops—and wipe humanity off the face of the earth. In this riveting conclusion to the Rot & Ruin series, the battle to end all battles is just beginning. less...
Amazon

Amazon Says: The perfect companion book to the New York Times bestselling I Am Number Four series!I Am Number Four: The Lost Files: Secret Histories is a collection of three action-packed more...
Amazon Says: The perfect companion book to the New York Times bestselling I Am Number Four series!I Am Number Four: The Lost Files: Secret Histories is a collection of three action-packed novellas by bestselling author Pittacus Lore! Originally published as the e-novellas The Search for Sam, The Last Days of Lorien, and The Forgotten Ones, now, for the first time ever, they are together in one print volume.The Search for Sam follows the rogue Mogadorian Adam on his journey of redemption as he finds the key to saving both Sam Goode and his father, Malcolm.The Last Days of Lorien reveals how the fight began with the once-peaceful planet being taken by surprise and attacked.The Forgotten Ones is the riveting continuation of Adam’s story, in which he uncovers an incredible secret that will turn the tide for the Garde.You know the truth about the Mogadorians’ invasion of Earth and the Garde who will do anything to defeat them—yet there is still so much to learn. The stories in Secret Histories will help you get the answers you seek, but they will not help you stop the coming war. Only the Garde can save our planet. less...
Amazon

Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein
Amazon Says: While flying an Allied fighter plane from Paris to England, American ATA pilot and amateur poet, Rose Justice, is captured by the Nazis and sent to Ravensbr ck, the notorious more...
Amazon Says: While flying an Allied fighter plane from Paris to England, American ATA pilot and amateur poet, Rose Justice, is captured by the Nazis and sent to Ravensbr ck, the notorious women's concentration camp. Trapped in horrific circumstances, Rose finds hope in the impossible through the loyalty, bravery and friendship of her fellow prisoners. But will that be enough to endure the fate that's in store for her? Elizabeth Wein, author of the critically-acclaimed and best-selling Code Name Verity, delivers another stunning WWII thriller. The unforgettable story of Rose Justice is forged from heart-wrenching courage, resolve, and the slim, bright chance of survival. Praise for Rose Under Fire * "Wein masterfully sets up a stark contrast between the innocent American teen's view of an untarnished world and the realities of the Holocaust. [A]lthough the story's action follows [Code Name Verity]'s, it has its own, equally incandescent integrity. Rich in detail, from the small kindnesses of fellow prisoners to harrowing scenes of escape and the Nazi Doctors' Trial in Nuremburg, at the core of this novel is the resilience of human nature and the power of friendship and hope." -Kirkus, starred review * "Wein excels at weaving research seamlessly into narrative and has crafted another indelible story about friendship borne out of unimaginable adversity." -Publishers Weekly, starred review less...
Amazon
Print