Skip to content

New Books for Teens December 25, 2012

The library may be closed for the holiday, but you can still get your hands on new books! Download Gena Showalter’s eBook Alice in Zombieland from OverDrive or 3M, or try one of the other new titles listed below.

Don’t have an eBook reader, tablet, or computer? Don’t worry! The library’s doors will open on Wednesday, December 26, and you can get your hands on these or other great titles from Richland Library’s collection.


Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter
AmazonLeah B. Says: Available in 3M and OverDrive
Amazon Says: She won't rest until she's sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever. Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and more...
Amazon Says: She won't rest until she's sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever. Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that's all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone. Her father was right. The monsters are real. To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn't careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies. less...
Amazon


AmazonLeah B. Says: Available in OverDrive
Amazon Says: Lush and opulent, romantic and sinister, The Unfailing Light, Volume II in The Katerina Trilogy, reimagines the lives of Russia's aristocracy in a fabulously intoxicating a more...
Amazon Says: Lush and opulent, romantic and sinister, The Unfailing Light, Volume II in The Katerina Trilogy, reimagines the lives of Russia's aristocracy in a fabulously intoxicating and page-turning fantasy. Having had no choice but to use her power has a necromancer to save Russia from dark forces, Katerina Alexandrovna, Duchess of Oldenburg, now wants to forget that she ever used her special powers. She's about to set off to pursue her lifelong dream of attending medical school when she discovers that Russia's arch nemesis--who she thought she'd destroyed--is still alive. So on imperial orders, Katerina remains at her old finishing school. She'll be safe there, because the empress has cast a potent spell to protect it against the vampires and revenants who are bent on toppling the tsar and using Katerina for their own gains. But to Katerina's horror, the spell unleashes a vengeful ghost within the school, a ghost more dangerous than any creature trying to get in. "Katerina's first-person voice is smart and believable, fitting well into this atmospheric romance."--Kirkus Reviews less...
Amazon


Entice by Jessica Shirvington
AmazonLeah B. Says: Available in OverDrive
Amazon Says: The war between Exiles and Angels is on — and she's wanted by both sides. The hotly anticipated follow-up to Embrace, Entice ramps up the captivating combination of angel m more...
Amazon Says: The war between Exiles and Angels is on — and she's wanted by both sides. The hotly anticipated follow-up to Embrace, Entice ramps up the captivating combination of angel mythology, forbidden romance and intense action. Seventeen-year-old Violet Eden's whole life changed when she discovered she is Grigori – part angel, part human. Her destiny is to protect humans from the vengeance of exiled angels. Knowing who to trust is key, but when Grigori reinforcements arrive, it becomes clear everyone is hiding something - even her partner, Lincoln. And now Violet has to learn to live with her feelings for him while they work together to stay alive and stop the exiles from discovering the key to destroy all Grigori. It isn't easy. Especially when the electricity between her and exile Phoenix ignites, and she discovers his hold over her has become more dangerous than ever. The race halfway across the world to find the one artifact that could tilt the balance of power between Angels and Exiles brings them to the cradle of civilization, where Violet's power will be pushed to the extreme. And the ultimate betrayal exposed. "A delicious romantic triangle." -USA Today "One of the best YA novels we've seen in a while. Get ready for a confident, kick-butt, well-defined heroine." -RT Book Reviews "Strong, compelling and wonderfully flawed, Violet is the kind of heroine that will keep readers enthralled and rooting for her until the final page is turned." -Kirkus Reviews less...
Amazon


AmazonLeah B. Says: Available in 3M
Amazon Says: Destiny Rising is the gripping conclusion to the Hunters arc in the New York Times bestselling series, created by L. J. Smith, which also inspired the hit CW TV show The Vampi more...
Amazon Says: Destiny Rising is the gripping conclusion to the Hunters arc in the New York Times bestselling series, created by L. J. Smith, which also inspired the hit CW TV show The Vampire Diaries.Elena Gilbert has never been an ordinary teenager. In love with the irresistible vampire brothers Stefan and Damon, she has died, been brought back to life, fought evil, and journeyed to hell and back to save Stefan. Now her most dangerous enemy, Klaus, has returned, and Elena realizes she must make a terrible sacrifice to protect her world . . . and fulfill her destiny. less...
Amazon


My Own Revolution by Carolyn Marsden
AmazonLeah B. Says: Available in OverDrive
Amazon Says: In 1960s Czechoslovakia, Patrik participates in and rebels against the communist regime, knowing that anyone could become an enemy in the blink of an eye. Fourteen-yea more...
Amazon Says: In 1960s Czechoslovakia, Patrik participates in and rebels against the communist regime, knowing that anyone could become an enemy in the blink of an eye. Fourteen-year-old Patrik rebels against the communist regime in small ways whenever he gets the chance: spray-painting slogans, listening to contraband Beatles records, even urinating on a statue of Lenin under cover of night. But anti-Party sentiment is risky, and when party interference cuts a little too close to home, Patrik and his family find themselves faced with a decision — and a grave secret — that will change everything. As the moments tick toward too late, Patrik takes his family’s fate in hand, risking everything for a chance at freedom. Examining the psychological toll of living under an authoritarian regime, Carolyn Marsden allows readers to experience both Patrik’s persistent worry and his hope for better things. > less...
Amazon


Hidden: A Firelight Novel by Sophie Jordan
AmazonLeah B. Says: Available in 3M
Amazon Says: Fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Colleen Houck will love this epic tale of forbidden romance and nail-biting action from New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan.In the cl more...
Amazon Says: Fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Colleen Houck will love this epic tale of forbidden romance and nail-biting action from New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan.In the climactic finale to the steamy Firelight series, Jacinda must fight to save her life, her love, and all of her kind.If Jacinda were to follow the wishes of her community, she'd happily settle down with Cassian, the prince of her pride. But she just can't. She's in love with Will, a human boy who comes from a family of hunters. Their relationship breaks the most sacred rule and endangers everyone she cares about. Now Jacinda, Will, and Cassian fight back against the hunters and their shadowy allies who would destroy them all. . . . less...
Amazon


AmazonLeah B. Says: Available in 3M
Amazon Says: Eva and Addie started out the same way as everyone else--two souls woven together in one body, taking turns controlling their movements as they learned how to walk, how to sin more...
Amazon Says: Eva and Addie started out the same way as everyone else--two souls woven together in one body, taking turns controlling their movements as they learned how to walk, how to sing, how to dance. But as they grew, so did the worried whispers. Why aren't they settling? Why isn't one of them fading? The doctors ran tests, the neighbors shied away, and their parents begged for more time. Finally Addie was pronounced healthy and Eva was declared gone. Except, she wasn't...  For the past three years, Eva has clung to the remnants of her life. Only Addie knows she's still there, trapped inside their body. Then one day, they discover there may be a way for Eva to move again. The risks are unimaginable-hybrids are considered a threat to society, so if they are caught, Addie and Eva will be locked away with the others. And yet...for a chance to smile, to twirl, to speak, Eva will do anything. less...
Amazon

AmazonLeah B. Says: Available in OverDrive
Print

Comment about this page...