Skip to content
The Tragedy Paper, by Elizabeth LaBan

New Books for Teens January 22, 2013

Check out some of the library's recent arrivals for teens, below.

Exciting additions include Gayle Forman's newest release Just One Day and debut author Elizabeth LaBan's The Tragedy Paper.

Drop in at your favorite Richland Library location to browse a wider selection of titles.


The Tragedy Paper by Elizabeth Laban
Amazon Says: Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Looking for Alaska, Jennifer Weiner, #1 New York Times bestselling author, calls Elizabeth LaBan’s The Tragedy Paper “a beguil more...
Amazon Says: Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Looking for Alaska, Jennifer Weiner, #1 New York Times bestselling author, calls Elizabeth LaBan’s The Tragedy Paper “a beguiling and beautifully written tale of first love and heartbreak.”  It follows the story of Tim Macbeth, a seventeen-year-old albino and a recent transfer to the prestigious Irving School, where the motto is “Enter here to be and find a friend.” A friend is the last thing Tim expects or wants—he just hopes to get through his senior year unnoticed. Yet, despite his efforts to blend into the background, he finds himself falling for the quintessential “It” girl, Vanessa Sheller, girlfriend of Irving’s most popular boy. To Tim's surprise, Vanessa is into him, too, but she can kiss her social status goodbye if anyone ever finds out. Tim and Vanessa begin a clandestine romance, but looming over them is the Tragedy Paper, Irving’s version of a senior year thesis, assigned by the school’s least forgiving teacher.   Jumping between viewpoints of the love-struck Tim and Duncan, a current senior about to uncover the truth of Tim and Vanessa, The Tragedy Paper is a compelling tale of forbidden love and the lengths people will go to keep their secrets. less...
Amazon

Just One Day by Gayle Forman
Amazon Says: From the New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay Allyson Healey's life is exactly like her suitcase—packed, planned, ordered. Then on the last da more...
Amazon Says: From the New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay Allyson Healey's life is exactly like her suitcase—packed, planned, ordered. Then on the last day of her three-week post-graduation European tour, she meets Willem. A free-spirited, roving actor, Willem is everything she’s not, and when he invites her to abandon her plans and come to Paris with him, Allyson says yes. This uncharacteristic decision leads to a day of risk and romance, liberation and intimacy: 24 hours that will transform Allyson’s life.   A book about love, heartbreak, travel, identity, and the “accidents” of fate, Just One Day shows us how sometimes in order to get found, you first have to get lost. . . and how often the people we are seeking are much closer than we know.   The first in a sweepingly romantic duet of novels. Willem’s story—Just One Year—is coming soon! less...
Amazon

Amazon Says: Perfect for fans of the #1 New York Times bestselling series and the hit ABC Family TV show, this Pretty Little Liars prequel novel reveals Ali's secrets from before she was m more...
Amazon Says: Perfect for fans of the #1 New York Times bestselling series and the hit ABC Family TV show, this Pretty Little Liars prequel novel reveals Ali's secrets from before she was murdered.Rewind a few years to seventh grade: Alison DiLaurentis and her friends are the It girls of Rosewood Day. Boys want to date them. Girls want to be them. But even though they seem to have it all, these girls are hiding some major secrets—especially Ali. She knows better than anyone that if the truth gets out, it will ruin everything.Set in the weeks before Ali's murder, Ali's Pretty Little Lies is the first Pretty Little Liars novel told entirely from Ali's point of view. After all, who better to tell her story than Ali herself, the prettiest little liar of all? less...
Amazon

Amazon Says: Malik has begun his conquest of Mundaria. His powerful new army has spread to the most distant corners of the land and destroys all in its path. The threat to Mundaria is grea more...
Amazon Says: Malik has begun his conquest of Mundaria. His powerful new army has spread to the most distant corners of the land and destroys all in its path. The threat to Mundaria is great, and Matt and his friends know that there is little time before the scourge of darkness consumes their homeland. They search for a secret that could bring Matt and Galen the past that has been hidden from them and help them overcome Malik's darkness. As the final battle approaches, the people of Mundaria unite against Malik, but Matt knows that only he can fulfill the Prophecy of the Elements and determine the fate of their world.This is the fifth and final book in the riveting Reign of the Elements series, an adventure story brought to life by memorable, vibrant characters. Rooted in genuine adolescent thought and emotion, it is a journey of courage, friendship, and danger as a group of teenagers attempt to save their world. less...
Amazon

Amazon Says: Four best friends. Four ways to serve their country. Morris, Rudi, Ivan, and Beck are best friends for life. So when one of the teens is drafted into the Vietnam War, the oth more...
Amazon Says: Four best friends. Four ways to serve their country. Morris, Rudi, Ivan, and Beck are best friends for life. So when one of the teens is drafted into the Vietnam War, the others sign up, too. Although they each serve in a different branch, they are fighting the war together -- and they promise to do all they can to come home together. Rudi is perhaps the most concerned about whether or not he'll be able to keep that promise. After all -- and he'd be the first to admit this -- he's not the most capable guy. He's not smart like Beck, or brave like Ivan. He lacks the strength of Morris's moral convictions. But once Rudi is pulled kicking and screaming into the Marines, he at last finds something he's good at: following orders. Will that be enough to keep him alive? And if he does survive the war, will his best friends even recognize him on the other side? less...
Amazon

Immortal Lycanthropes by Hal Johnson
Amazon Says: "A shameful fact about humanity is that some people can be so ugly that no one will be friends with them. It is shameful that humans can be so cruel, and it is shameful that h more...
Amazon Says: "A shameful fact about humanity is that some people can be so ugly that no one will be friends with them. It is shameful that humans can be so cruel, and it is shameful that humans can be so ugly." So begins the incredible story of Myron Horowitz, a disfigured thirteen-year-old just trying to fit in at his Pennsylvania school. When a fight with a bully leaves him unconscious and naked in the wreckage of the cafeteria, Myron discovers that he is an immortal lycanthrope—a were-mammal who can transform from human to animal. He also discovers that there are others like him, and many of them want Myron dead. “People will turn into animals,” says the razor-witted narrator of this tour-de-force, “and here come ancient secrets and rivers of blood.” less...
Amazon
Print

Comment about this page...