Ghosts in Your Career? | Richland Library Skip to content

Ghosts in Your Career?

Hearing voices, wracked with fear, unable to move… sounds like a horror film, right? These emotions actually describe the way many job seekers feel every day.

If you have been out of work for a period of time or are facing a potential lay-off, you, too, may be experiencing intense fear, anxiety, and doubt. Often, we are stagnant in our careers or job search because we hear the voices from our past: “You’ll never amount to anything!” “Remember that time you tried and failed?” “You’ll just embarrass yourself again!” “You’re not smart enough to do that!” Entertaining voices and ghosts from the past can erode your confidence and paralyze you with fear, keeping you from embracing new opportunities.

But here’s a little secret… the only way to make the ghosts go away is to not believe in them anymore. We cannot move on if we’re not willing to let go! What are you holding onto that may be holding you back from reaching your career potential?

Here are a few tips for overcoming fear:

  1. Play a new tape! Counter bad messaging by affirming yourself on a regular basis. Leave sticky notes on your mirror that say, “Right now the job I am looking for is looking for me!” or “I am able. I am open.” Building your confidence is key in overcoming the fear!
  2. Worst-case Scenario! Sometimes it’s best to just peel back the bandage and take a look. What we can imagine of the unknown is often much scarier than reality. Many times we find that the worst case is not as bad as we thought and realizing this allows us to move forward.
  3. Slay the Dragon! At some point, you have to say “Enough” and slay the beast. Put your ghosts away and determine to embrace a new day, a new plan, and a new outlook. Ultimately, you are in control of your future.
  4. Use the Buddy System! Don’t try this alone! The Business and Job Center is a great partner in your career search from our one-on-one coaching to the support and networking group to classes and resources, we are here to help!

Ghosts don’t haunt us. That’s not how it works. They’re present among us because we don’t let go of them.” –Sue Grafton


Amazon Says: Wall Street Journal best-selling author Jon Acuff reveals the steps to getting unstuck and back onto the path of being awesome.Over the last 100 years, the road to more...
Amazon Says: Wall Street Journal best-selling author Jon Acuff reveals the steps to getting unstuck and back onto the path of being awesome.Over the last 100 years, the road to success for most everyone has been divided into five stages that mirror the decades of working life:Your 20s are a period of Learning. This is the decade of trying a thousand things, exploring a multitude of interests, and discovering what really motivates you.Your 30s are a period of Editing. This is the decade of sorting out interests, where you discover what you really care about and who you really are.Your 40s are a period of Mastering. This is the decade of narrowing focus, honing skill sets, and becoming an expert in your field.Your 50s are a period of Harvesting. This is the decade of reaping the benefits of good decisions and enjoying the highest income-earning period in a career.Your 60s are a period of Guiding. This is the decade of mentoring, training, and encouraging others on their own road to success.Every successful person has followed these steps regardless of their occupation. But three things have changed the path to success anderased the decades associated with them:Finish lines are dead – Boomers are realizing that a lot of the things they were promised aren’t going to materialize, and they have started second and third careers.Anyone can play – Technology has given access to an unprecedented number of people who are building online empires and changing their lives in ways that would have been impossible years ago.Hope is boss – The days of “success first, significance later,” have ended. A new generation doesn’t want to change the world eventually; they want to change it now through the wells they kickstart in Africa and the TOMS they wear on their feet. The value system has been flipped upside down.The result is that you’ve got an entire generation pushing down to start over, another generation pushing up to start for the first time, and in the middle of this collision, the tools to actually change the world.Experience years now trump chronological age. And while none of the five stages can be skipped, they can be shortened and accelerated.There are only two paths in life: average and awesome. The average path is easy because all you have to do is nothing. The awesome path is more challenging, because things like fear only bother you when you do work that matters. The good news is Start gives readers practical, honest, actionable insights to be more awesome, more often.It’s time to punch fear in the face, escape average, and do work that matters.It’s time to Start. less...
Amazon

Amazon Says: From Debbie Ford, the author whose inspiring words have helped millions of readers, Courage has the power to change your life. A tried-and-tested, process-driven approach to c more...
Amazon Says: From Debbie Ford, the author whose inspiring words have helped millions of readers, Courage has the power to change your life. A tried-and-tested, process-driven approach to conquering our fears, accepting our flaws, and tapping into our potential, Courage will help readers discover the confidence they need to accomplish anything.In this personal and powerful guide to self-actualization, Ford uses the years of wisdom she has accumulated as a spiritual teacher and personal growth coach to deliver an indispensable tool for anyone eager to become their own best self—a perfect fit for readers of Deepak Chopra, Wayne Dyer, and Judith Orloff, for new readers of Debbie Ford, and for longtime fans of her national bestselling books The 21-Day Consciousness Cleanse, The Dark Side of the Light Chasers, The Secret of the Shadow, and more. less...
Amazon

Amazon Says: Do you come to work wound-up and anxious, never quite able to calm down? Do pressing deadlines and a constant sense of urgency make you feel as if you just can't get ahead? D more...
Amazon Says: Do you come to work wound-up and anxious, never quite able to calm down? Do pressing deadlines and a constant sense of urgency make you feel as if you just can't get ahead? Do you feel distracted and unable to focus throughout the day? Before you know it, you're spending sleepless nights worrying about what on-the-job disasters tomorrow will bring. Anxiety in the workplace is serious and can hold you back from achieving the success you deserve, despite how hard you work. Anxious 9 to 5 offers simple and effective techniques to get your workplace anxiety under control once and for all so you can enjoy work and be more productive. First, you'll learn how anxiety develops in the workplace and, more importantly, how to stop it before it gets the best of you. After that, you're in control: customize the book's powerful exercises and self-evaluations to target your own personal workplace anxieties. In no time, you'll move past your obstacles and begin building confidence, focus, and a successful and fulfilling career-one day at a time. Get control over: •Anxiety, stress, and worry at work •The perils of perfectionism •Self-defeating thoughts •Fears of failure and public speaking •Procrastination and discomfort on the job •Difficulty being the boss less...
Amazon

Amazon Says: Offers techniques on how to work through stress and conquer anxiety, utilizing a variety of exercises that involve creative visualization, breathing, aerobics, and managing pr more...
Amazon Says: Offers techniques on how to work through stress and conquer anxiety, utilizing a variety of exercises that involve creative visualization, breathing, aerobics, and managing problems. 50,000 first printing. $50,000 ad/promo. Tour. less...
Amazon
Print