Create your own Summer Learning Challenge this year!

All of the activities listed below have been created to help teens learn, create and share. Earn a point towards your Summer Learning Challenge for each activity you complete. 

Staff Picks

Level 1 Decodable Chapter Books: Alba Series

This 12-book series follows the adventures of the feisty and determined Anna. She uses her super-sleuthing and problem-solving skills to battle the mighty superbugs who threaten to destroy her father’s scientific work. 
Staff Picks

Level 1 Decodable Chapter Books: Magic Belt Series

Looking for action and adventure? The Magic Belt series follows Zak’s quest to save his grandfather’s life. He sets out on a magical quest to collect hidden gems that will unlock the cure for grandfather illness. Zak races against time as he hurdles through obstacle after obstacle. 
Staff Picks

Decodable Chapter Books: Talisman Series

The night before his 14th birthday, Zak has a strange dream. A mysterious lady appears before him bearing an important message: "The Dark Master is creating a new talisman, even more powerful than the first. All of mankind is at risk. You must resume your quest and stop him!" she tells him. Together with Mim and a skinny, old mule, Zak sets off to Volcano Island to confront the Dark Master. Will he be able to reach him before it is too late? Will he be able to save humanity?
Staff Picks

Decodable Readers: All About Reading

All About Reading are designed for students in the first stages of reading. New readers feel empowered because they can sound-out unfamiliar words without guessing and steadily build their reading skills. These books are completely “decodable” meaning that they use simple words and only short vowel sounds as the first stepping stones into reading.
Staff Picks

Decodable Readers: High Noon Sound-Out Chapter Books Level 3 & 4

 High Noon Chapter Books are designed for new readers who are ready to dive into chapter books. These stories are completely “decodable” meaning they use simple words and short vowel sounds as the first stepping stones into reading. Levels 3 & 4 build foundational reading skills that will prepare a reader for more challenging concepts in levels 5 & 6. 
Staff Picks

Decodable Readers: High Noon Sound-Out Chapter Books for New Readers

High Noon Chapter Books are designed for new readers who are ready to dive into chapter books. These stories are completely “decodable” meaning they use simple words and short vowel sounds as the first stepping stones into reading. Levels 1 & 2 build foundational reading skills that will prepare a reader for more challenging concepts in levels 3 & 4. 
Blog
Richland Library Main

Kids in Print 2023

Congratulations to the illustrators and writers featured in this year's edition of Kids in Print!

Blog
Richland Library Main

What's your resolution?

No matter what your resolutions are for the new year, we hope that the library can play a part in helping you achieve your goals.

Staff Picks

Great Books for Ages 11, 12, 13 | 2022

Middle school readers are still figuring out the world while trying to figure out themselves.  They may look for books that reflect their experience or give them a window or sliding glass
Blog
Richland Library Main

Peppermint Catapults

Launch yourself into the holiday spirit by learning how to create a peppermint catapult.

Blog
Richland Library Main

A-maize-ing Corn Husk Dolls

A perfect Fall activity to spice up your holiday; the art of corn husk doll making is steeped in tradition and fun for the whole family. 

Blog
Richland Library Edgewood

Dinner Table Talks: Dear Martin

Dinner Table Talks create the opportunity for families to have important conversations centered around books.  This conversation focuses on the New York Times bestselling YA novel, Dear Martin by Nic Stone.  

Blog
Richland Library North Main

Native American Heritage Month

There are 9.7 million Native Americans belonging to 562 federally recognized nations or tribes that live in the US, each with a unique history.

Blog
Richland Library Eastover

Texting via Haikus

Let's explore Kwame Alexander's usage of Haikus to depict text messages in the novel in verse The Crossover.

Blog
Richland Library Main

A Soft Lesson to Learn: Teaching Soft Skills

As employers continue to lament the soft-skills deficiencies they see in new hires, more attention is being paid to making these skills part of the educational curriculum.

Blog
Richland Library Northeast

Garden to Table: Summer Solstice Recipes

Summer has arrived! Join us as we use common produce that can be found in WLTX’s Gandy’s Garden, and in any supermarket or your own garden. We created some easy, flavorful dishes in our Northeast Teaching Kitchen using ingredients that signal summer is here! We hope you have fun making these dishes at home!  

Staff Picks

Get Outdoors: Learn More About Plants

Time to get outside and go on an adventure! Here are a list of books to help you explore your surroundings. Learn more about plants and even go on a foraging trip!
Blog
Richland Library Northeast

¡Que Rico!: Stuffed Honduran Pastelitos

Bring the rich flavors of our community to life in your kitchen! Try our Stuffed Honduran Pastelitos—inspired by a recipe from one of our ¡Que Rico!: Community Cookbook contributors, Karin Cantarero.

Staff Picks

YA and Middle Grade Reads to Celebrate National Foster Care Month

National Foster Care Month has been observed during the Month of May in the United States since 1988 when President Ronald Reagan recognized  May as a month to show appreciation and gratitude to foster parents across the nation. The purpose of National Foster Care Month continues to evolve based on the needs of the time. For example, in 2019, the theme for National Foster Care Month was "Foster Care as a Support to Families, not a Substitute for Parents."
Staff Picks

Art Representing Asian American, Pacific Islanders

Graphic novels and manga, with the aid of movies and anime, have been great ways to bring cultures together.  Here is a list of some of my favorite titles with AAPI characters and artists.  Looking for more? Check out our personalized recommendations here or call us at 799-9084.
Blog
Richland Library Cooper

Being Vietnamese-American

For Asian-American/Pacific Islander Heritage Month, representation matters in our books.

Staff Picks

Where to Start Your Anime Journey

Anime can be an overwhelming medium, especially for someone new. This collection of anime movies are a great starting point to begin your exploration of the medium. Works range from family friendly works by Hayao Miyazaki to the deep and psychological works of the late Satoshi Kon. Whichever you choose, you're bound to find a new world in anime.
Staff Picks

Movies for Workers' Day

The first day of May has been celebrated as International Workers' Day since 1889 when labor activists were demonstrating and organizing for the eight-hour-day.  The following list is made up of dramatic features, documentaries, and educational series on the labor movement, unionizing, leftist political activism, economic inequality, and working conditions. Mostly focused on American culture and history, it nontheless includes films set around the globe, helping to illustrate the shared struggles of workers everywhere. 
Staff Picks

For Fans of Shadow and Bone

Binge watched your way through Netflix's new number one show Shadow and Bone yet? You can of course pick up Grishaverse creator Leigh Bardugo's Shadow and Bone trilogy or Six of Crows duology to finish the tale.
Staff Picks

Herbal Medicine fiction

As we cultivate our gardens and spruce up the place, why not entertain yourself with some herbal medicinal reads? Fiction, of course! Let's take a break from the dust, dirt, and heat. Time to grab a glass of ice cold lemonade, tea, or infused water and add just a hint of herbal fun to the mix.   
Staff Picks

Are There Limits to Human Creativity? (Philosophical fiction)

A list of 30 top philosophical reads--included with these selections are various formats (eAudio, eBook, Blu-Ray or DVD, & Standard or Large print).  Enjoy your journey with these philosophical fiction novels that will make you think and analyze the conditions and nature of humans, and maybe gain a different perspective. Some of these titles have been made into motion pictures or turned into TV shows. Feel free to decide if there are limits to human creativity...
Staff Picks

Biographies and Novels that Explore the Arab American Experience

Let’s take the time to celebrate the history, contributions, and culture of the diverse population of Arab Americans. Arab Americans have roots in 22 countries located in the Middle East and North African regions and within all those countries, there are various languages, religions, traditions that are now part of the American story. Explore their stories though verse, memories, and more.     
Blog
Richland Library Sandhills

Five Trailblazing Women of Richland County

Let's look at five amazing women leaders who not only have made a positive impact all across Richland County, but have broken down barriers while they were at it. 

Staff Picks

Good Folk Tales and Fairy Tales for Storytelling

In their well-respected book, Storytelling: Art and Technique, Ellin Greene and Augusta Baker tell us: "A good story for telling is one that has something to say and that says it in the best possible way." Check out some of these books to learn more about the traditional art of storytelling and to find folk tales and fairy tales that have something to say and are written in the best possible way!
Staff Picks

Teen Books to Make You Laugh

Looking for laughs in your reading selection? Try some of these humorous teen titles from an alien-hunting cheerleader (Flying by Carrie Jones) to a convention center mismatched with a percussion competition, fandom con, & taxidermy championship (The Pros of Cons by Alison Cherry) that'll have you chuckling and smiling throughout.  
Staff Picks

#BroaderBookshelf 2021 - Antihero's and Villains as the protagonist

Do you believe there's always an "other" side to each story?  Well here they are. Read some titles that talk about the perspective of the villain or an antihero. Some are tricksters and some are downright murderers. All are darkly enjoyable.   Learn more about the Broader Bookshelf challenge and see more lists here.
Blog
Richland Library Southeast

Mini-Retreat: Play Birdsong Hero

Wish you could identify birds by their songs? Try this simple game and turn "someday" into "today" for your bird watching bucket-list daydreams. 

Staff Picks

Women's History Month: Realistic Teen Fiction

Women are strong, creative, hardworking, innovative, inspiring, and so much more. The women that go down in history and those that impact lives and communities around us were young teen girls at one point. Explore what it's like living as a young lady, the highs and lows as well as the joys and difficulties, in these contemporary teen fiction books.
Staff Picks

Page-Turning Nonfiction for Teens

Who doesn’t love a great true story?  These nonfiction titles will transport you to different time and place, leaving you racing toward the end of the book to see how it all turns out while devouring every detail.  Scale a mountain (No Summit Out of Sight), survive the wild (Marooned in the Arctic), win the game (Attucks!; Games of Deception), or dig into history’s gruesome side (The Borden Murders; Flesh & Blood So Cheap; The Family Romanov) in these fast-paced reads.